We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Tour Today - Come Back Tomorrow!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Action Watersports

Action Watersports
3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 314-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No Tour Today - Come Back Tomorrow!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a boat/house tour of the Thunderbird Lodge. They decided to cancel the tour the day before due to a lack of people signed up for the tour. They called me once and left a message saying "we need to talk to you about your tour". This message was sent two minutes before their closing time. I called them back within an hour, and got their recording, since they were closed. They need to learn how to leave a proper message. Since they did not say that the tour was cancelled, we drove 1 hour to the tour starting point, and there was no boat and no staff. I tried calling again, and I could hear the phone ringing in the closed-up shop. We waited one hour, when a staff member showed up. He called the manager, who offered us a 2-for-1 deal if we came back the next day. They already ruined our schedule for one day, i wasn't taking a chance on another. We declined, and just did the house tour which is offered through the visitor's center for $34.00 per person. At $110.00 per person, this boat/house tour is overpriced and poorly managed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Speed boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We rented a 18ft speed boat it was new. The staff was so nice went over all the safety instructions we were very impressed with the way they handled renting speed boats. We own a boat and knew of the dangers and were glad to see that they went over them anyway. They have discount coupons at the hotels so look before you go it is a good savings. The location from the casinos is only about a mile. They have bathroom facilities and drinks before you board. They also rent para sailing, sailboats, jet skis, we were very pleased.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misleading coupon and staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We reserved our para sailing trip from a coupon we found at a hotel. $10.00 off before 11:00. They told us to be there at 10:30 to do the paperwork. They took our are money at 10:42 but didn't want to honor the coupon. Because the boat must sail by 11:00. However the older lady stated, she felt sorry for us so she would give us $5.00 off instead . She finally agreed to $10 off . Then we get to the boat and we continue to be badgered by the staff. I don't recommend this company. They run a shady business. Why have coupons. We came because of the discount. I wish I would have read other people's reviews regarding this business. Some other travelers had the same problems with their advertised coupons. Lessen learned about reading reviews before our trip. It sure spoils the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC UT
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Windsong Sailboat - FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We took a 2hr sailboat ride on the 65' WINDSONG. We had to drive and park at the Timber Cove Marina. After paying, they shuttled us out to the boat. Great ship; Great crew; Beautiful lake to sail on. They offered one round of soft drinks and a bag of chips, but they also allowed us to bring our own cooler, (which we did - stocked with beer). Maybe 25 passengers; not the best seating around the ship; no bathroom to use. We had a great time and would do it again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff, great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

After trying a couple of places to nire jet skis in South Lake Tahoe we happened upon Action Watersports. From our first enquiry right through to the finish of our hire period the staff were all without exception friendly and helpful. Rather than having to launch your jetski from a crowded jetty as many other places, here the jetskis were right on the beach ready to go. The play area is perhaps a little limited (I'm not sure what other companies offer though), but still plenty of room to have fun and all within sight of the lovely little beach that you launch from. A great experience, other companies could learn a lesson from the way this company is run and the staff.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Action Watersports also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Action Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Action Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.