We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, tacky resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, tacky resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling round California. For the money the hotel is excellent and although of motel-style, the bedrooms and bathrooms are of a very high quality. We had absolutely no complaints with the accommodation which was modern, clean and beautifully decorated. There was an outdoor pool which we didn't use as it was in the shade and next to the car park.

A large Continental breakfast was included in the room rate. This was better than a lot of motel breakfasts.

The hotel was just across the road from the Heavenly Gondola cable car, but this was closed when we were there.

We were not impressed at all however with South Lake Tahoe which we found tacky and access to the lake itself was limited and in places a fee was charged.

On travelling around the lake, the only place that impressed us was Tahoe City which is more of an attractive small town than a city. We wished we had stayed there on balance.

  • Liked — High standard of rooms
  • Disliked — Tacky resort
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    162
    39
    7
    9
See reviews for
106
114
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

Our family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 4 nights in August. This is definitely a better than average Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were located away from the road in the trees and looked like they had been recently renovated. They are a good size, with a very nice bathroom but beware the double beds are tiny, which significantly restricted my ability to sleep in my usual Starfish style.

The location is excellent as you are 10 mins walk from the Heavenly Gondola with a good choice of restaurants on your doorstep. The pool isn’t huge but is clean and great to relax by after a day sightseeing. Breakfast was pretty good but as with a lot of these type of hotels there were insufficient tables when the hotel is full. Waiting for 5 mins usually meant a table came free.

A couple of ‘must visits’ when in Tahoe. Take the trip up the Heavenly gondola, a bit pricy but the view from the mid station is absolutely spectacular. When you get to the top there are a variety of trails to stretch your legs. Secondly, drive over to Squaw Valley ski resort, take a trip up the cable car, and don’t forget your swimming costume as there is a fantastic outdoor pool and spa at the top station at 8,200 ft, the pool combined with spectacular views made this a highlight of our 3 week trip to California

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed here four nights and overall it was fine. The hotel is centrally located just a short walk from Stateline and very close to a large supermarket and several good restaurants. Rooms have been recently updated and adhere to the current high standard of most of the other properties in the chain. We got alot of use out of the in-room microwave and fridge. The pool is decent and you have a choice of indoor or outdoor spas. The free breakfast is better than average, with fruit, pastry, french toast, and cinnamon rolls. I would gladly award them an "excellent" rating except for two problems. One is the quality of the beds--very VERY soft mattresses, way too soft for my taste. Some people might like these beds, but I need a firm bed for a good night's sleep. The other issue is the size of the breakfast room. Only eight small tables for a hotel this size? With all the tour groups staying here it was a real challenge every morning just to get to the buffet, let alone find a table. Alot of people ate standing up, or took their breakfast back to their room. This is a problem that could easily be fixed by moving the large registration desk further back, allowing them to double the size of the breakfast area. Other than these two issues I had a great stay here and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to South Tahoe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Soft beds, limited seating in breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

When I entered room 421 I thought, wow, nice big room! But then I went to open the window and there were no screens. This meant I was going to have to leave on the NOISY air conditioner right next to the bed. The next problem was finding a outlet/plug for the iron they thoughtfully provide. My options were to unplug the clock and lamp and iron by dim light from across the room, and try to squeeze the board in near the plug (which wouldn't have worked), or, I could iron in the bathroom. The sink in the bathroom was cracked, but the bathroom was clean. The tissues were the roughest ones I have ever seen! The shower head is very low, so if you are 5'7 like I am, good luck washing your hair! There were two phones in the room and one didn't work. I notified the front desk so hopefully it will be fixed before you arrive.

The bed was big and the pillows have "soft "and "firm" written across them so you have your choice. The room was very clean. The bathroom soaps and such were nice and plenty of towels were provided. The location is excellent. It was pretty quiet considering how close it is to the main street!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — no window screens
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

The term "Express" in the name of this Hotel made me think it was a downgraded version of a regular Holiday Inn but it was quite the opposite. I was very pleased with how clean, modern, and well run this hotel was. There were two helpfull people working the desk who were friendly and quick to get us checked in. The room was very clean and seemed new. Dark woodgrained doors and trim gave the room a little less of a hotel feel. The beds were confortable but did seem a tad short. A little fridge and microwave were pleasent surprises. Biggest shower head I've ever seen... Shower curtain rod curves outward from the tub to create more space.... I appreciate little details like that. Rooms are all set back away from the road so its quiet at night. Nice Pool but the patio around the pool could be a little larger to accomodate more people. Continental breakfast was very nice... good choices plus the added treat of hot cinnamon buns. Theres a TGI Fridays next door and the casinos and gondola (and related shopping area) are all within an easy walk. My biggest complaint would be the parking lot... the spaces are very tight for anything other than sub-compact cars and the speed bump will bottom out your car if you go over 2 MPH. Overall, a great place.

  • Liked — Location to Attractions (Casinos, Resturants, shopping)
  • Disliked — Parking Lot too small. Spaces too tight. Ridiculous speed bump.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Extremely clean & updated room. Double beds with 4 pillows each labeled firm or soft. Room well appointed with a western theme with lovely drapes & spreads. Very large bathroom with double granite sinks & large 4 drawer dresser. Micro/fridge & large screened windows which opened. Most quiet A/C ever. Japenese restaurant across the steet "Naked Fish" has excellent Sushi (& I'm very picky). Would stay here again, A "gem".

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding we attended in the area July 5-8, 2007. After reading the TripAdvisor reviews online we booked here and were not disappointed (especially for the class of hotel this is). The room was clean (we were facing the pool, which coincidentally faces the road) and while other posters had mentioned requesting a quieter room off the road, with the AC on (which we had all the time) you could not hear anything from RT 50.

We had a standard room with a King bed and the bathroom was quite spacious. Simple furniture, including a table/desk plus 2 chairs, microwave and small fridge in room too. In addition to the typical shampoo, conditioner and lotion in the room, they give a little plastic tube of shaving cream, which is actually quite nice for travel (given airline restrictions).

The pool itself was nice, not large, but fine--Tahoe was quite warm when we were there which drew probably a greater than average number of people poolside (about 8 people were there at any given time but they seem to have ample lounge chairs and tables around the pool for folks to enjoy).

The breakfast was nice too. For those who are interested in eating a little "healthier," besides the traditional sugar-based cereals, cinnamon buns, donuts and french toast, they also had yogurt, instant oatmeal packets, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs and whole grain bread. So you can take your pick what works for you. It did get busy during the more "common" times right around 8:30am, or again at 9am, so arrive a little before those times to get a table in the dining room.

The location across from Naked Fish was great (highly recommend that place--will write another post on that). It is also walking distance from the shops at Heavenly, the Heavenly Gondola, and the casinos at Stateline if you are interested in that. All are within 5-10 minute walk away.

The parking lot closest to the hotel fills up at night, but there is a lot the hotel shares with the adjacent Carrow's restaurant which usually has a spot if the rest are full.

Would definitely stay there again for another Tahoe trip!

  • Liked — Location and convenience
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.