We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Wellington, Shropshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good value, very well located, within walking distance of food & shops. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Rooms are away from the road, so very little noise experienced. We stayed here 2 nights, its within walking distance of the Nevada border also. Good car park close to room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are indeed just a short distance from resorts and shops and are glad to know you appreciated that convenience as well as our breakfast and hospitality. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    151
    36
    6
    8
See reviews for
99
103
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good value for money, decent breakfast, conveniently close to things but the whole place is feeling a little dated and needs a revamp.

We only stayed one night ant it suited our budget but even so we didn't enjoy it as much as we might have.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your visit with us. We do apologize if our décor was not more to your liking. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future to fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Clean room, nice bed, mini bar and microwave. Rate was reasonable for a summer weekend night. Hotel is nice location with many pine trees and just a 15-minute walk to Stateline. I had a quiet sleep with no noise. Parking was fine unless you arrive late in the day or night. A few benefits of this hotel was the pool, sauna, jacuzzi, and laundry machines. Overall, it was a great hotel, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: request farthest building back, upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for the appreciating the "woodsy" charm of our property. We do hope you visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel wasn't the best deal in town but was excellent overall and a great value non-the-less. The two bed room we stayed in was huge and clean; also came with a double refrigerator and micro. The hot and cold breakfast was by far the best of any hotel in its class. The staff was knowledgeable about details of what to do and where to go in the area as well.Bathroom was also well equipped and large. Beds were super comfortable. But the clincher for us was the location; close to Heavenly's Gondolas, a beautiful 2 mile trail off Kahle st., that ends in Nevada Beach, a Rayles plaza across the street, and a Carrows restaurant 100 feet away from our room. You wont be disappointed with this hotel. We'll be back here for sure next year.

Room Tip: A couple with us had the single bed room. It was good, but I would choose the double bed room for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Now, that's the kind of review we love to hear! Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you truly deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

the furnishings are dated, but the location is great. the staff was really, really helpful. we had a fireplace suite to use the pullout- hybrid pullout/inflatable couch which deflated several times during the night and was very uncomfortable- other than that the suite was really spacious and the beds seems comfy to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so glad to know you appreciated our staff convenience of our location as well as our facilities while staying. We appreciate your input and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just stayed for one night and was very comfortable. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub although they had run out of towels by the end of the day and took quite some time to get more. There are multiple buildings all rooms have exterior corridor and some rooms you can park in front of. There is also an indoor whirlpool which would be nice in cooler weather. Room is a little small but nice big bath area. Good breakfast choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I am so glad to hear about your right choice based on your experience with our hotel. I shall be happy to share your experience with my team who strives everyday to make the stay most comfortable of each of our guests. Looking forward for your next visit, hopefully soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights on 2nd floor and would recommend! Very clean and quiet location. The room was large and bed was comfortable. I didn't try the breakfast but was invited or reminded by staff. I just had other plans so it didn't work out. I will try next time. The pool looked nice and some folks were quietly having fun. I need to stay longer to use all of the amenities good job!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Your review is music to our ears…We are so happy to hear about your great stay here at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe! Thank you for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.