We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

I originally booked an overnight stay at this hotel but on arrival I was so impressed I changed my plans and stayed an extra two nights!
There is a new block of accommodation so if you have the chance, opt for the newer block. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was huge (complete with double washbasins) and an excellent shower.
Breakfast was as per any Holiday Inn Express and the wifi Internet is complimentary!
The hotel has an excellent outdoor pool - well worth a dip!
This hotel is ideally located for South Lake Tahoe - cycling etc and for touring around.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    159
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
101
109
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Drove from Sacramento to South Lake Tahoe on Friday morning. Pleasant drive through the mountains.

Arrived just after midday and as hotel had been full the previous night, rooms wernt ready. We left the luggage in the back of the car in the car park and went to explore.

Returned about 230 and rooms were ready. Found rooms to be really nice, well furnished, air-con worked like a dream (although was a little bit noisy). Breakfast was good in the morning - bagels, donuts etc. Also, coffee was available all day. Found breakfast to be a bonus as included in room rate.

Location was great, 5 mins walk from Heavenly, 10 mins maximum from Casinos and from the Lake, Pool wasnt working Friday afternoon when we arrived - was being repaired - but was working Saturday and was appreciated by my children (as was the hot tub).

Easy, quick and pleasant check out early Sunday morning and staff helped us with directions to Vegas.
Felt hotel was good value and perfectly located. Would return again.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, room 270 on third floor. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, bright, and recently updated, and the pool/spa/sauna was well situated, warm, and clean. Instantly hot water in the roomy bathroom, great tasting water from the faucet, mini fridge was nice and cold, bathroom had nice fixtures and beautiful granite countertop, slate? floor.

Heavenly Gondola, shopping, and restaurants were within short walking distance. My 8 year old daughter befriended English children her age in the pool--Sophia says "Hello" Rebecca and Carl! Loved the diversity of travelers there during our stay.

Only negative, Lake access nearby cost $20 for the day, and we did not know whether it was free to us as hotel guests. Make sure to ask the hotel, otherwise the nice short walk to the Lake will result in disappointment if you don't want to pay to put toes in the water.

  • Liked — Clean, bright, updated room and bath
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at this property for 5 nights whilst on a mountain bike holiday.
Rooms: Clean, great size bathroom, reliable maid service. Noisy air con. super comfy bed and great linen.
We loved the free, fast and reliable in room internet.

Breakfast: Good coffee, hot and cold selections to choose from.

Location: Fantastic! It's on a busy road but situated a little back so noise is limited. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Our family of four stayed here for two nights in August of 2008 and enjoyed our stay. The property is located within a five minute walk to Heavenly and perhaps a ten minute walk to the casinos in Stateline, Nevada.

We stayed here with our two children and they enjoyed the pool and the hot tub as well as the complimentary continental breakfast. The breakfast has the usual items; bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc. Our room was clean and large. It also had a small microwave and fridge which came in handy when we brought pizza back from our first night out.

Our rate was around $130 a night which I didnt think was bad considering our location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Pretty good location about 10 minutes walk from main lift, good rental shop across the road and the ski bus stops there. Typical motel layout, my room was large and clean. Breakfast is very basic: I've never come across so many precooked things you stick in a toaster! Free coffee and tea all day long. Would stay again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a nice, new property with well maintained grounds, clean rooms, comfortable beds and large bathrooms. It is located in a great spot and easy to walk to nearby attractions.

The only complaint we had was an iron that was leaking water and frustrating to use when trying to iron our clothes.

For a weekend stay in Tahoe we thought it was a pretty good value and would recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Well maintained property, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good sized bathroom, good location
  • Disliked — The iron in the room for ironing our clothes was leaking water and frustrating to use.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.