We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Friendliness & Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfort, Friendliness & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for my birthday weekend (Thursday - Sunday night). The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast more than the usual pastry & coffee. We were here to ski Heavenly and were with in walking distance of the resort and shops. Everything moe than met our expectations. The staff was always extremely friendly and helpful, sharing their knowlege of the area. For the money the Holiday Inn Express is a great value. We will stay here again we visit the area,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Happy belated birthday! Your review is music to our ears…We are so happy to hear about your great stay here at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe! Thank you for sharing your review. We are indeed just a short distance from resorts and shops and are glad to know you appreciated that convenience as well as our breakfast and hospitality. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    160
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
103
109
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Holiday Inn Express is very conveniently located 2 blocks from the Gondola. Nice fireplace in the lobby, and good breakfast to get you started for you day of skiing. Employees are very nice and work hard to make your stay nice, especially during the morning "rush" of skiers going to the slopes.

We met the owner as well. The remodeled rooms show the touch and TLC that only a "hands-on" owner provides. The appointments are much nicer than the typical hotel room. The bathroom was large and more ergonomic with higher counter heights.

We'll definitely stay here again.

Jim and Clara

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

One of the more unique Holiday Inn Express' I've stayed at, I was impressed with the high level of the guest rooms, the really nice lobby and breakfast area, and the good location. I'll definitely stay here again if in the area; definitely a good place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I researched a TON of hotels in the South Lake Tahoe/Stateline area before booking with the Holiday Inn Express. I chose the Holiday Inn Express because: 1) the reviews were very good, 2) the location was very good, 3) breakfast was included. Although the main lobby and breakfast area sits close to the main road, the rooms are set back several hundred feet, therefore there is no worry about road noise (this can be a big concern, especially on holiday weekends).
Our room consisted of two double beds, a desk w/chair, an additional wing chair, and a hutch with refridgerator, microwave, and coffee station. The room felt a little tight with 4 people, but is a typical-sized hotel room. The beds were very comfortable, and the family appreciated the different pillow choices. The room offered many outlets to plug in all our electronics, including a plug in the side lamp. Overall the room was clean and comfortable.
The bathroom was very spacious with plenty of counterspace. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion were provided.The showerhead delivered an awesome spray, but was not adjustable, leaving no space to escape the water while soaping up. The bathroom vent was very loud - reminded me of when my neighbor idles his Classic Camaro in the driveway (seriously). I reported this to the front desk.
Overall, the family was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had reservations at a place called " The Landing" and after less than one hour there we left......Went to Holiday Inn Express and they hooked us up for two nights. One night in a very nice room , Where we were very comfortable and able to turn our horrible experience around.....The second night was in a regular room, but still just as homie....Thank you so much to Kim and Indee for being such awesome people.We`ll be back :)

Room Tip: They are all very nice comfortable and homie rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of December, the location was perfect, close to Heavenly, restaurant and shopping. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff did a great job every day. The staff at the front desk was very nice and accommodating too. Although not fancy, we appreciated the complimentary breakfast daily, it was kept clean and replenished, the staff caring for the dining room was kind and efficient. We also took advantage of the hot tub and sauna, the towels were well supplied, and it was clean, felt amazing after a day of skiing. We also utilized the laundry facility, it too was clean and well maintained. We would definitely return when we make our way back to Tahoe, PS Loved the queen beds, the room was plenty big for the 5 of us.

Room Tip: As for a room in the back building off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after Xmas. The facility is reasonably basic with rooms opening on to the carpark, the breakfast room was crowded with an adequate if limited selection. The location is great, with only a short walk to the Heavenly Village, with the skifield gondola and lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are pleased that you had a satisfactory time in South Lake Tahoe. The Holiday Inn Express is located conveniently to Heavenly skiing, shopping and dining. We look forward to a return visit to our hotel. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.