We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
1 review
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a nice, new property with well maintained grounds, clean rooms, comfortable beds and large bathrooms. It is located in a great spot and easy to walk to nearby attractions.

The only complaint we had was an iron that was leaking water and frustrating to use when trying to iron our clothes.

For a weekend stay in Tahoe we thought it was a pretty good value and would recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Well maintained property, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good sized bathroom, good location
  • Disliked — The iron in the room for ironing our clothes was leaking water and frustrating to use.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    161
    38
    7
    9
See reviews for
104
111
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with the room and the location. Surrounded by pine trees and set off the road this place was very quiet in one of the busiest areas of South Tahoe. Pool area was nice and we liked the indoor Jacuzzi. Guest laundry area had 2 washers and 2 dryers. The rooms have a large bathroom area with nice dresser, large closet, and 2 side by side sinks. Very reasonable price for this area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location is perfect.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The hotel is in a nice location and walking distance to most things.
It is a good looking hotel and has good parking. The room is very nice and clean. I would advise tho that if you stay there get a room on the second floor. We were on the first floor and we could hear people walking around upstairs and also knew when they used the toilet or took a shower. It was so loud one night I had to close our bathroom door which didn't help very much. Also the front desk staff is not the most professional. I would stay there again but only on the second floor.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from second floor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Wow. My family loved this place. We booked 2 rooms for 4 adults, 3 seniors, 2 teens, and 1 toddler. We were here for a wedding. The rest of the family stayed at the Marriot Grand Residence. Our room had the kitchen which had everything we needed. Usually the kitchen and dining area is pretty cramped, but this was spacious enough. We also had the suite which sleeps 6. This place had plenty of room. Raleys shopping center was like a 5 minute walk. The casinos was maybe a 15 minute walk. It was in a great location. The checkin process was a breeze. We requested late check out and that was no problem at all. We also loved this place because parking was right outside our door. Alot of our relatives were stopping by to visit because we had alot of room in the living area. At one time, we had 12 teens and 2 kids and 2 adults watching a movie in the living area. We loved this place. I dont regret choosing this place over Marriot Grand. We will certainly come back.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Booked the hotel for 3 nights at the end of our US road trip in November 2007. The Holiday inn Express in South lake Tahoe was our last stop before heading back to the UK.

Checked in with no problems. Front of house staff were plesent and helpful. We were given a room on the ground floor towards the back of the parking lot. It was nice an quite. The hotel was not full while we were there. The room was light and bright. Two Double Beds, Work Table with Free internet, sofa type chair, large TV and Tea and Coffee making equipment. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom with two sinks and a very large shower.

The hotel felt very safe. There is a free breakfast in the morning but it was quite busy. The foodbar was restocked on a regular basis and we didnt want for anything. There is a currows onsite and Applebys within walking distance. There are a large number of other places to eat within driving distance or you could walk up to stateline and eat at one of the casinos.

The hotel also had vending and Ice machines, Washer and Dryer and a hot tub (Indoors). The main pool was closed as it was off season.

The location is ideal for the casinos just accross stateline and for the ski resorts durning the winter and the lake durning the summer. We had a great stay and could not really fault it. The hotel is also fully non smoking.

  • Liked — free Internet, big rooms, free breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

I stayed here for three nights between April 10th and 13th on a Priority Club rewards stay.

The rooms are located in a series of two or three story motel-style buildings set nicely back from the main road.

The room was a little dated but well appointed, with a small kitchenette including microwave, fridge, sink and coffee maker.

The whole property has free WiFi with a decent level of bandwidth. (I was able to watch a soccer match on streaming video, which is beyond the capabilities of the majority of hotel WiFi networks!) The WiFi also includes free access to the MLB Gameday audio service, which is a nice touch.

The complimentary breakfast is served in the reception building and has seating for about 25 people. I ate breakfast at between 7am and 7.30am each morning and had the place almost to myself. I could imagine that it gets busy after 8.30am, closer to when the ski-lifts open. Food selection was limited but adequate.

The outdoor pool and spa were closed for the winter, but there is an indoor spa which I didn't use, but looked OK. I did use the self-service laundry, which was very handy.

Although I didn't walk to the Gondola base, it is certainly possible. I would estimate that it is about 300 yards away.

There are lots of restaurants within a short walk. The closest casinos (Harveys, Harrahs) are about 400 yards away, on the same side of the street at the Holiday Inn.

In summary, a nicely appointed property in a great location. Certainly not luxury accommodation, but the free facilities like breakfast and WiFi were very welcome.

  • Liked — Nice extras; free breakfast, free WiFi
  • Disliked — Room was a little cold without the heater on, which was noisy.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Booked 4 nights stay on the hotel website for a 2 double bed/nonsmoking room at the AAA rate of $109.95/night. Arrived on Monday after Easter about 6pm and checked right in. Clerk gave us a room in the same building as our friends who had arrived the day before. We were in room 322 upstairs.

Rooms are upstairs/downstairs on two floors with doors that open to the outside. There was limited parking in front of the building, but we were always able to get a spot. Close enough to the stairs to easily carry up the luggage (didn't notice an elevator). There's a Carrows restaurant right next to the hotel, so there was always plenty of parking.

Room had two double beds, a large desk/table, chair by the window, microwave/coffee maker/refrigerator and TV. Beds were a little bit too soft for our taste, but reasonably comfortable. Lots of pillows. Door opened to a very large bathroom with two sinks and granite countertop, tub/shower with curved curtain rod. Bathroom area also had a deep 2 drawer chest and a closet. Under the sink was a wooden rack for drying ski boots, etc.

Lighting in the room wasn't spectacular. There are compact fluorescent bulbs in the ceiling that gave some harsh light. Lamps on the nightstand and the desks were much better but didn't light the room that well.

We moved the large desk/table close to the bed at night to give us room to play cards while the kids watched a DVD. NOTE: the TV in the room is an older style and did not have any inputs for hooking up a DVD player or video game. The hotel said they were going to upgrade in the future, but call to check.

Ice machine was in another building just a short walk away. Need a room key to get into the small room with the ice machine; also had two washers/dryers there for laundry. Hot tub was in the same building, didn't use it but looked ok. Dry sauna there as well. Outdoor pool was closed for the winter.

Breakfast was in the lobby area, although other reviewers were correct -- there is a very small breakfast area and it is quite crowded in the morning as everyone loads up before hitting the slopes. Not very good flow of traffic, although everyone was polite. It seemed like as soon as items came out, they disappeared quickly. Quality was ok, not as good as Embassy Suites but adequate. Good cinnamon rolls and coffee; orange and apple juice, bagels and bread for toasting. Scrambled eggs seemed like powdered eggs, bacon and sausage patties were ok. Selections alternated each day, one day had scrambled eggs and bacon, the next was "cheese omelettes" and sausage patties. Also had cold cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and some fruit.

One concern was that a single staffer was restocking all the food and also cleaning up the area. While we were eating, we noticed her emptying the trash, then going back a few minutes later and bringing out more food. Not sure if hands were washed in between and there wasn't any posted health inspection approval there. She was very busy, so we wondered a bit.

Overall, breakfast is better than your typical chain hotel, but I wish Holiday Inn Express put more money into food quality instead of wasting it on a national TV campaign.

Location of the hotel is just a couple blocks from the Nevada border. Way too far to walk (in my opinion) to the Heavenly Gondola. But a quick drive over there. We went to Harrahs/Harveys casinos one night and gambled a bit while the kids did the arcade. One note: beware the Harrahs food court chinese food. We're pretty sure that the eggplant/tofu was the cause of my wife's food poisoning that kept her sidelined in the room all day Thursday.

The Holiday Inn Express was a good base for our trip, nice location near the border and a convenient drive to Heavenly or Sierra at Tahoe resorts. Safeway grocery store just a few blocks south, Powder House ski rental shop just across the street. Personally I think I would have preferred to stay at Embassy Suites, but for half the room price, the HI Express was great.

  • Liked — Free wireless Internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.