We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Lebanon, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay was for four nights in mid-June; we had two rooms. We stayed here some years ago, decided to return and were not disappointed. Check-in was fine; the staff was friendly and helpful. Our second floor rooms were a good size; they were clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. We didn't use the pool because of the cooler temperatures but the indoor hot tub was big and very relaxing.
Location of the hotel is convenient for a walk to Heavenly Gondola and the Stateline casino area. There is a Carrow's Restaurant adjacent to the hotel and an Applebee's within a half block.
The hotel breakfast was very good, offering eggs, bacon or sausage, cereal, fruits, assorted pastries and an automatic pancake maker. Although small, we did not have any problem finding a table in the breakfast area and the staff did a great job of keeping the food items stocked.
Our stay here was great. We would recommend the Holiday Inn Express and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
cbpdcop

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We are very lucky to be in such a central location, and within walking distance to several shops and resaurants. We are also very proud of our housekeeping staff and the great job they do maintaining our rooms. Now that the weather has finally started to warm up we hope you'll come and join us again soon for some summer fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    156
    37
    6
    8
See reviews for
101
107
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Considering the choices in South Lake Tahoe this was an outstanding motel. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The bed was super-comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The motel was quiet at night and felt very safe. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great - close to the lake and restaurants etc. The pool was tasteful and not too small. We would stay here again next time we are in South Lake!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
travelfern

Thank you very much, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We do our best to keep all of our rooms as up to date as possible and our new Serta Plush matresses seem to be a hit with guests. Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere to stay in Lake Tahoe and came across the Holiday Inn by luck. It was getting late and we were getting tired but the lady on the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

We were given a 2 queen bed room on the first floor at the end of the building. The room was very spacious with plenty of room. The beds were really comfortable. There was also a large fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was also very large with 2 sinks. There were also plenty of towels.

The free breakfat was decent enough and the breakfast area was clean and looked after.

This hotel was in a great location as it was within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and even the casinos.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again if ever in Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Mvrag- Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw of our property. I am happy that it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Glad to hear that you were able to relax and take advantage of our great location and proximity to the Heavenly Resort Village and Casinos. We all hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had booked with another hotel and left there during the first night because they lacked the "Quality" the reviews on Trip Advisor espoused. Thank goodness we came to Holiday Inn Express! Even at midnight, the front desk help was kind and courteous. We got a fantastic last minute rate, too! She gave us a beautiful king room that was clean, fresh, and very comfortable. I loved the firm and soft pillows and the Bath and Body Works toiletries. The room was updated and pretty. The location is fantastic! Every worker was friendly and helpful, and we were able to extend our stay by an extra day. Breakfast was served til 10:30, which is great for a late sleeper like myself. After a horrible first hotel experience, my stay at Holiday Inn Express was so appreciated! We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aunt L

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We are proud of our front desk staff and i am glad that we were able to make you feel welcomed. We have recently upgraded our in room amenities ( shampoo, conditioner, etc) and our guests seem to be enjoying the new items. Thank you again and we hope you will choose us again on your next trip to lake tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located within walking distance of all activities and shopping centres. Rooms are good and clean, ample free parking space, very courteous and helpful front desk staff, breakfast is nice, the hotel also has a good and convenient laundrette, checking in and out are no hassles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Mehul S

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. All our staff does their very best to povide a lovely guest experience and its nice to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope you will choose us again on your next trip to South Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the place was very nice. Rooms were spacious (2 Queen beds) - room had microwave and fridge. We got a corner room in the building - so the bathroom was
long and nice.

Breakfast was adequate to go hiking and sightseeing. Location was right
near restaurants and the gondola.

Room Tip: With 4 people, the two queen beds were spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
VAtravellerJR

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! Our two-queen bed rooms are quite spacious and provide plenty of room for a family. Our location does make is very convenient to most local shopping and restaurants. There is also a bi-state park down the street which also offers lovely walking trails with views of the lake! Thank you again and we hope you'll come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for one night. Lake Tahoe is such a beautiful location. The hotel was in walking distance of restaurants and shops. The standard HI breakfast fills the gap first thing in the morning. Free Internet. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Lots of parking.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, take a room on the ground floor instead of carting the luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
DubaiPat

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We feel very lucky to be in such a centreal location, and it does help with families and travelers passing through. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.