We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aeverage fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com IHG
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Aeverage fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. We only stayed there one night and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was very busy though and there was not a lot of space.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Brian N

I'm sorry we did not exceed your expecations during your stay with us at the HIEX in South Lake Tahoe. Our cozy enviornment does make for a lively breakfast area. We do try and make all of our guests feel appreciated. I welcome a personal conversation with any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    134
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
87
94
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a wonderful room and service. Breakfast was great. Normally we are only offered pastries but here there was a large and tasty selection that even my picky eaters ate. Located perfectly near stores and restaurants. Beautiful views. Service Was wonderful. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Rossanna C

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We do our best to provide the best guest experience and i am happy that we could provide you nothing less. Now that summer is approaching we hope that you will come back and see us again soon and enjoy some nice Tahoe weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found this hotel late one evening when our travel plans had to be changed. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean, well decorated with quite a luxurious bathroom with bathing accessories. We only stayed one night, it was quiet and very comfortable. Lots of restaurants close by, including one right next door serving extensive breakfast options. The usual USA self serve breakfast on disposable crockery. However there was a good choice of food including toast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
LyndaA

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We do our best to keep our property up to date, and i am happy that you were able to enjoy that. Thank you for choosing us, and hopefully next time we will be your vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay here as part of our road trip and were very impressed by the size of the room. Check in was friendly and the room was clean and bed very comfortable. The location is excellent and would stay here again and definitely recommend. Only gripe was that on the amenities page of Trip Advisor it said they had a fitness centre which they don't which was disappointing....not sure whose responsibility that is to change.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
CD323

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We are proud of our central location and staff. I appologize for the confusion regarding the fitness center. We do not have an on-site fitness center, but do offer discount passes to the local fitness center. Thank you for choosing us and i hope you'll come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is next door to restaurant with family prices. Across the street are plenty of late night options.
Far enough from center of town to avoid noise. Indoor sauna & hot tub open until 10pm is clean for winter fun after a mountain workout. Stayed for 2 nights in regular room w/refrig & microwave.
5 nights stayed in jacuzzi suite rm with fireplace that can see from bedroom or bathroom. Nice!
Can walk to town or Harrah's if prefer to leave your car & take a stroll. You can also walk to Tahoe Queen in opposite direction. Typical HI breakfast. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in the future & recommend it to friends. Free off street parking

Room Tip: No Room Service available, but I happen to get sick and they came in middle of night to drop off bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
HiHo143

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We are very lucky to be in such a central location. I'm also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our amenites such as the spa and sauna which is wonderful after a day of skiing. As the winter wines down i hope you'll come and join us again for some summer activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're ike me, when I go on a ski trip, I like to take in more of the mountains and outdoors than the 24 hour glare of gambling casinos. It took several trips to South Lake Tahoe to figure out where the best place is to stay. I've stayed in many of the hotels but for proximity, cost and quality the Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay IF you're going to South Lake to snow ski. You don't have to drive up to the base of the mountain if you take the gondola in the center of town and it's not that far to this hotel at all. Maybe 3 to 4 city blocks like those that are in New York City. The hotel serves a continental breakfast that comes with the room that is excellent. For those that like the casino life they are just on the other side of the gondola, so you're close for casinos as well and you can leave your car at the hotel. Late in the evening the county sheriffs are out looking for drunk drivers, which is fine with me, but if you're inclined to over party a bit, (which I'm not), it is another reason to stay out of our car coming home from the casinos. There are a number of other hotel/motels in the area, but the rooms at this hotel are well maintained and perfect for a crash pad coming off the the slopes. ONE MORE THING....don't forget that Lake Take is becoming more of a summer vacation spot as well. There are boat rental places you can find on the net so you can go out and cruise and water ski the crystal clear waters of the prettiest lake in the U.S.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
KD2122
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, and i am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with here at the Holiday Inn Expess in South Lake Tahoe. We do strive to provide our guests with the best experience and as a frequent traveller, its good to hear that we could provide you with nothing less. The weather is starting to warm up so i hope you'll come back an join us for some summer fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It is near to restaurants and stores. It has a Good free breakfast, it's very clean and the service is very good. The pice is 90 to 150 dollars for night. I was there one week ago and My husband and I really enjoy it. The place is pacefull and quiet. It has a free laundry machines and free soap for that. Ask at the reception. Sorry for my English I hope it help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
kjr006
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Our convenient location does allow for our guests to walk to several restaurants and shopping. Our 24-hour (coin-operated) laundry is very helpful for guests on long trips. Detergent and fabric softener is always available at the front desk for $.50 a box. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe, and we hope ot see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn
Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list