We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend ski trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Beersheba, Israel
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend ski trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'll start with the parking. Unlike a lot of other places in the area, the parking is free and right outside your room so carrying all the ski gear to your room is easy. The front desk staff are professional and friendly. The room was spacious and clean and the furniture and fittings were all well maintained.The complimentary breakfast is just right and there is coffee available just about 24x7. The hotel is situated just off the road, in the middle of all the shops, convenience stores and eating places you could possibly need and about 10 minutes walk from the Heavenly Gondola. However, if you are in ski boots that walk can be a tad painfull and take a toll on your boots, plan ahead, take shoes and rent a locker or use Ski boot covers.
The hotel itself is old but that just adds to the character of the place, I really liked it. It's quiet, well prices and well located. I will definitley be coming back.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of gear possibly a ground floor room would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thnank you for your kind words and tips for other skiers. The quiet nature of our hotel and convenient location offer many choices for visitors during their stay. We hope you will return to Tahoe and enjoy many of our outdoor activities available year-round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    153
    36
    6
    8
See reviews for
100
104
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Holiday Inn Express last July while we we're n town for my daughters dance competition. The competition was hel in a casino/resort down the street. We choose to stay at the Holiday Inn to be away from the "casino" atmosphere and we were delighted that it was such a nice place. The room was clean, a little dated looking, but I go on vacation to play so we didn't spend much time in the room. We stayed a week and enjoyed a big room, the heated pool and the morning breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of great food and South Tahoe shopping.
For the more athletic, there is a beautiful black topped path that runs down the street. I did a good 6 mile run and it wasn't too hilly. For a challenge, there is a road that leads out of town that wold be great for a hilly run or a mountain bike.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to South lake Tahoe. There are many trails for running, walking or biking during the summer months close to the hotel. We certainly hope you have a opportunitry to return and enjoy more of the outdoor activities and especially the Lake, famed for it's clear water. Great for swiming, paddeling, water skiing or just relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were visiting from Australia and booked 6 months in advance in the hope of a White Christmas and boy we were not disappointed. Great staff, great location, breakfast is a bit of a hustle particularly for a large family, but a bit of patience goes a long way. Our family suite was spacious and comfortable. Easy walk to heavenly village and surrounding shops. We're not skiers, we just wanted to experience a White Christmas, and even so there is still plenty to do and see in and around Sth Lake Tahoe. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We certainly thank Mother Nature for providing all the snow for your Dream Vacation. It has been a great winter season this year and we ae pleased you enjoyed our hotel and all the activities in South Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here from the 21 Dec 2012 to the 28 Dec 2012 with the primary purpose of my visit to Lake Tahoe to Ski.

Firstly I have to say I had a huge room that was well presented and clean. The hotel offers free breakfast and has free tea /coffee in reception (self service) throughout the day.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk (8 minutes if the traffic lights are on red!) to the Gondola for Heavenly or alternatively the Ski Bus to California lodge (this located behind the Gondola).

There is no food other than breakfast offered at this hotel although it is next to a string of cafes and restaurants so dining is not a problem.

Breakfast is a typical American breakfast and incudes 'Donuts' amongst the Pancakes, eggs, ceral and yogurts on offer. The only downside to this hotel is the amount of seating available for breakfast everyday it was an issue finding a table and often people went and paid to eat in the restaurnt next store.But persevere, share a table and maybe make a friend - after all you are on holiday - relax.

Worth a mention - The hotel does not have a bar but there are plenty of bars nearby (within 1 minute) and a liquor store across the road.

I will definitely stay again next time I visit

Room Tip: The rooms above reception (there are only two) are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
GJWTraveller

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe. We are very fortunate to be in such a central location and within walking distance to several great restaurants and taverns. Im sorry that we were at full capacity in our breakfast area during your stay. It does become a popular destination, during the Christmas/ New Years time. Thank you very much for chooing us, and hope to see you again soon!

-Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was always delicious and hot. It is a short walk to the gondola. I was pleased with the location. We were close to restaurants and the village. The room was very nice, big and updated. The staff was very responsive to our needs and very friendly. My only complaint was the lack of internet service in the room but it seems to come with the mountain territory. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
ANGfromFL-

I am glad that you had a fantastic time while staying with us recently and, thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express in beautiful South Lake Tahoe! I understand that there were some problems caused by an overload of internet traffic during your stay and I do apologize for that. We have since increased our bandwidth by over 250% and guests should no longer have connectivity issues. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm not sure if it was the hotel as much as the whole area. It was magical, one of the most beautiful places on earth! The staff was great, the hotel was very clean and cozy! The breakfast was a well done Holiday Inn Express Free breakfast. It's close to anything you could possibly want to do. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
parkranger964

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of service and am so proud that we could provide you with nothing less. We are very fortunate to be in such a central location and within walking distance to several main attractions. Thank you for choosing us and i hope you will come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the Nev state line. The room was on the small size but did have a work table, however, it was not located near an electrical outlet. Therefore, I used battery power on my laptop. The room was clean including the bath, however the bathtub/shower drain was very slow. The bath room had a nice granite countertop. The room also had a mini fridge and microwave.
There is a complimentary breakfast of the standard fare but also included biscuits and gravy, sausage, boiled egg,etc. Overall a good breakfast. The breakfast area is also small. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Once the coffee was out and the staff gladly made more. A nice place to stay, in lieu of the casino hotels.

Room Tip: Has complimentary guest parking on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Travel447-

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express here in South Lake Tahoe. We are very fortunate to be in such a good location. I am very proud of the level of service we offer our guests and am happy you had a good experience. In some of our rooms, the electrical outlets are located on the desk lamp if not on the wall by the desk. Feel free to call to front desk for assistance, as we are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I understand that our breakfast area can get very full at times. I wanted to make sure that you are aware that we do offer to-go trays for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;