We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Great Location Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Great Location Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here from the 21 Dec 2012 to the 28 Dec 2012 with the primary purpose of my visit to Lake Tahoe to Ski.

Firstly I have to say I had a huge room that was well presented and clean. The hotel offers free breakfast and has free tea /coffee in reception (self service) throughout the day.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk (8 minutes if the traffic lights are on red!) to the Gondola for Heavenly or alternatively the Ski Bus to California lodge (this located behind the Gondola).

There is no food other than breakfast offered at this hotel although it is next to a string of cafes and restaurants so dining is not a problem.

Breakfast is a typical American breakfast and incudes 'Donuts' amongst the Pancakes, eggs, ceral and yogurts on offer. The only downside to this hotel is the amount of seating available for breakfast everyday it was an issue finding a table and often people went and paid to eat in the restaurnt next store.But persevere, share a table and maybe make a friend - after all you are on holiday - relax.

Worth a mention - The hotel does not have a bar but there are plenty of bars nearby (within 1 minute) and a liquor store across the road.

I will definitely stay again next time I visit

Room Tip: The rooms above reception (there are only two) are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
GJWTraveller

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe. We are very fortunate to be in such a central location and within walking distance to several great restaurants and taverns. Im sorry that we were at full capacity in our breakfast area during your stay. It does become a popular destination, during the Christmas/ New Years time. Thank you very much for chooing us, and hope to see you again soon!

-Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    156
    37
    6
    8
See reviews for
101
107
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was always delicious and hot. It is a short walk to the gondola. I was pleased with the location. We were close to restaurants and the village. The room was very nice, big and updated. The staff was very responsive to our needs and very friendly. My only complaint was the lack of internet service in the room but it seems to come with the mountain territory. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
ANGfromFL-

I am glad that you had a fantastic time while staying with us recently and, thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express in beautiful South Lake Tahoe! I understand that there were some problems caused by an overload of internet traffic during your stay and I do apologize for that. We have since increased our bandwidth by over 250% and guests should no longer have connectivity issues. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm not sure if it was the hotel as much as the whole area. It was magical, one of the most beautiful places on earth! The staff was great, the hotel was very clean and cozy! The breakfast was a well done Holiday Inn Express Free breakfast. It's close to anything you could possibly want to do. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
parkranger964

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of service and am so proud that we could provide you with nothing less. We are very fortunate to be in such a central location and within walking distance to several main attractions. Thank you for choosing us and i hope you will come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the Nev state line. The room was on the small size but did have a work table, however, it was not located near an electrical outlet. Therefore, I used battery power on my laptop. The room was clean including the bath, however the bathtub/shower drain was very slow. The bath room had a nice granite countertop. The room also had a mini fridge and microwave.
There is a complimentary breakfast of the standard fare but also included biscuits and gravy, sausage, boiled egg,etc. Overall a good breakfast. The breakfast area is also small. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Once the coffee was out and the staff gladly made more. A nice place to stay, in lieu of the casino hotels.

Room Tip: Has complimentary guest parking on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Travel447-

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express here in South Lake Tahoe. We are very fortunate to be in such a good location. I am very proud of the level of service we offer our guests and am happy you had a good experience. In some of our rooms, the electrical outlets are located on the desk lamp if not on the wall by the desk. Feel free to call to front desk for assistance, as we are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I understand that our breakfast area can get very full at times. I wanted to make sure that you are aware that we do offer to-go trays for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent lodge to stay in, the brekfast included is really good for the price. The rooms are comfortable I stayed with my friends. Heavenly is real close to the hotel so don´t miss the chance to go for snowboarding! I recomend to go on february to get real snow, however if it is not snowing the park make their own snow up in the mountain. The only bad thing is that there are not many ways to get to the north so you better rent a car. A shopping center is near as well and if you are lucky you may find atttractive discounts in Roxy´s.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Matresschief

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in South Lake Tahoe. We are very lucky to be in such a great location, and proud that our guests can easily access all the wonders of Lake Tahoe. The local transportation has connecting transit that can take you to north lake tahoe and reno if rental cars are not available. I hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this in my room as I take a rest before heading back home tomorrow. Place is cozy, staff is warm and friendly and so easy to register. Took me less than 5 minutes to complete. If this is the way they attend to their guests, then people will just keep coming back. Family enjoys this place as it is central to everything. We definitely recommend this to anyone who seeks for a place that is clean and quiet and with friendly staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Rudy M
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We only aim to provide the highest quality of service. I hope you will come and us again soon and relax in front of the fireplace in our main room on a cold snowy morning!


Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel property is older, the doors are on the exterior of the building, and are broken into 3 or 3 large buildings. The room has the bathroom along the full width of the room in the rear of the hotel room. The TV is smaller, but there are a few wooden cabinets for clothes while the bathroom was remodeled with marble 'type' tabletop. The negatives, I was awoken up by the person in the top room (2nd floor) when they used their bathtub. The breakfast is the typical HIE filler, nothing good. Not even chocolate milk was available in the fridge. There is a very nice diner restaurant in the same parking lot, I had breakfast there and it was very good. This is a good place to stay that is affordable. No weight room, a hot tub room near the laundry was available. This property did not have access to the Lake, it was walled off on the edges of the property.

Room Tip: Top Floor, so none above will wake you up when they shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Mac_Maximum
I'm sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay here in South Lake Tahoe. We are very proud of our newly renovated rooms and are always improving to give a more updated feeling. Also, thank you for the suggestions on the breakfast we are continually looking for new ways to improve the satisfaction of our guests stays. We are centrally located to many great restaurants, and just a quick 5 minute walk to the beach. I welcome a personal conversation for any other questions or concerns. We hope you'll return again soon and thank you again for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.