We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to beat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hard to beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived with a group of 5 at 3pm, one king, one double and a king with jacuzzi and fire place.My room was not ready until about 4 pm,not a good start after a long drive.Went down to reception at about 5 pm with some questions,the young lady was busy while the other lady was outside the front door sitting on the seat having a smoke .Things did get better from there, a handy location,clean and tidy rooms , all three and a chance to catch up on laundry. The ladies who made up our room everyday were pleasent and well worth the tip we left. Apart from our shakey start i would recommend this inn, but check out prices of all hotels close bye

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    154
    37
    6
    8
See reviews for
100
106
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were welcomed with a friendly smile and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room. The room was clean and had a very nice compact kitchenette. I thought it was a great idea that the pillowcases are embroidered with the firmness of the pillows they contained. No guessing if the pillow is just right! We requested a ground floor room and found that the walkways were lined with slip and snow resistant mats. We were given a map of the grounds so we could easily find the spa and ice and soda machines. Breakfast was included however since we were so close to other restaurants we opted to explore the area instead. This hotel is in a great location with all the amenities. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is particular about a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is situated near ski lift, shops and Lake, rooms are a good size and clean. The staff are good and helpful, and plenty of resturants close to the hotel within walking distance.It is made to look more like a motel type accomidation and parking, but in a good way.The block we stayed in on the second floor had no lift, so if you have heavy suitcases I would reccomend when booking you either get a block that has a lift or go ground floor. The continental break fast was as per standard HIXP and the area although small was clean and tidy. A trip on the Lake is a must plus a walk on the top after stopping off the cable car is well worth while.

Room Tip: Make sure ground floor room or block with lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

In a good location in South Tahoe on the main street in CA but close to the Nevada section. Buildings look fairly new and are well designed and set amidst Pine Trees.
Standard HIE breakfast.
Stayed on Priority Club points as I'm a Platinum member. Received no upgrade or any kind of recognition from the hotel which is both unusual and extremely unwelcome. My rating reflects this.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear AJO_UK,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced at check in. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, lovely hotel and well designed. Rooms spacious and comfortable, reception was modern and breakfast area pleasant. Used the indoor spa which was fine, sauna seemed to take ages to warm up and in the end switched it off. Great laundry facilities for us travelling Brits getting laundry washed and dried for $2. Happily stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel every October since 2005. It is centerally located across from the ski lift and shops. Free wi fi and continental breakfast and the indoor jacuzzi is great - pool has been closed during our stays. Beds are comfortable and rooms have small refridgerators and microwaves. A rental car is a must and your within short drives to anywhere you want to go around lake. Close to casinos and quiet mountain trails. The national park is minutes away and the salmon spawning migration is incredible to watch.

Room Tip: we like to face the mountain (south). rooms not in the front section offer little in way of views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Like being in the forest but near everything. Lovely rooms with fridge and microwave, closet and drawers. Double sinks in bathroom. Roomy and comfortable. Free wi Fi and one of the better included breakfasts. Friendly staff. Indoor jacuzzi, outdoor pool. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Only 60 miles from the Reno Tahoe Airport with shuttle service or auto rental available. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa, and year round Indoor Spa and Sauna Room. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.