We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!! Not every tourist knows about it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
reno nv
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Surprise!! Not every tourist knows about it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Down hwy 89 not crowded can go right to the waters edge Peaceful!!!The website just told me tell travelers what i liked????? How about you can go to the waters edge not crowded and it is peaceful???? I didn't dislike anything therefor i did not put in any dislikes!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, gorgeous views, with shade trees and clean restrooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pope Beach is simply beautiful, just off Rt 89. There is a wider, more populated part of the beach when you first enter and park (lots of parking, $7). If you go further, the beach narrows and gets a bit quieter if you want a more peaceful experience. The views of the lake and mtns. are incredible. The water is very clean, though cold if you're used to ocean temps. There are nice, CLEAN bathroom facilities all along the beach - so great. There are some benches and picnic tables, and lots of spots under the shade of pine trees to stay out of the sun.
There is a spot to rent kayaks and paddle boards, too.
The only negatives, for me, are that the sand is pretty coarse, not fine like we're used to, and it irritated my feet. If you want to go into the water or take a walk, I'd suggest water shoes or flip flops. The beach isn't very wide and by the water it's narrow and slanted, so no long beach walks for me.
That said - it is a gorgeous spot, convenient, with parking, and shade. Go to the end and see the beautiful meadow on the other side of the road - just beautiful. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I don't see what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband had a work training somewhat nearby Tahoe and I had heard from lots of Californians (we're only living here for a year) that I HAVE to do Tahoe. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided we'd start at Pope Beach. My reaction? Eh, nice enough.

The sand on this beach is big and gravelly, not that that's terrible but it hurts a little more to walk on. It's super crowded, and PHEW the traffic of people coming at 3pm (we had gotten there hours earlier) was ridiculous. Cars just sitting, gridlocked, for about a mile.

We did the 'Kayak Tahoe' which was just a bunch of kayaks and paddleboats and paddleboards on the beach…. we were so glad we only did 1 hour. In mid-August the water was bitter cold, which is what I expected from reviews, but why would anyone try paddleboarding here? We saw people fall in and they stood up and said "I'm ready to go back." You can only kayak within 200 yards of the shore so my visions of kayaking on clear blue waters was not even close. We just kind of paddled out a little, the waves brought us back, and we repeated until the hour was over - all the while trying not to get too wet since it was frigid (btw, impossible - keep that in mind. You are sitting in a little seat of water, so you will be shivering). I definitely would not do it again, nor would I recommend it. What's the point of just being in a kayak 200 yards out? Whoop de doo.

Pope Beach itself was crowded with no nearby hiking (I'm talking trails where I don't have to sit in traffic for 45 minutes to go half a mile). I ended up kind of wishing that we had gone to Yosemite instead.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA CRUZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The beach is gorgeous, surrounded by the peaks of Lake Tahoe. Grills, picnic tables, bathrooms. It has all you need for day on the shore. Not enough trash cans. Be prepared for the crowds, especially on the weekend. Location can't be beat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a couple of paddle boards for a couple of hours and took turns - worked great! Picnic tables were in partial shade and we brought along a couple of awnings as well. Parking is close as were the restrooms. Had an excellent picnic and day at the beach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.