We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clear water, great choice of water sports. Take your own picnic as there is only on place to buy snacks, which is very limited and has slow service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful and fun historic tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lots of history in Lake Tahoe I didn t know about. We rode bikes and did the tour. Well worth it. Beach was beautiful and there is a doc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, NV
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Typical beach at Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sand is course - you can park on the highway and walk in or pay to park. It is along the bike trail so you can even bike in if you want.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lake Tahoe beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After reading several reviews we decided to give Pope Beach a try and we were so glad we did. There are a lot of trees along the beach front so you can enjoy the sun or cool off in the shade. The beach front is a long expanse so it is not too crowded. We were able to sit close to the water so my 3 year granddaughter could be easily supervised while she played in the sand or water. The bathroom facilities were nice and spaced along the beach so they are convenient for everyone. Grills and picnic tables are available as well as beach craft rentals. In the first parking lot segment there is a food trailer that sells drinks and a limited selection of food items.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach with rentals, but no Trash Cans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had so much fun at Pope Beach. Our 7 kids enjoyed renting a two person kayak (2 person kayak, 1 hour $30) and a paddle board ($20 for 2 hours). The water is nice because there are no waves and it is so easy to set off from the shore. The water is pretty clear and the sand is clean, however, there are no trash cans. No wonder previous reviewers have complained about trash. We found a dumpster by the restrooms that was overflowing. There are picnic tables. If you want to avoid the $7 parking, park on the highway and ride a bike or walk down the long driveway to the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.