We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lake Tahoe beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lake Tahoe beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After reading several reviews we decided to give Pope Beach a try and we were so glad we did. There are a lot of trees along the beach front so you can enjoy the sun or cool off in the shade. The beach front is a long expanse so it is not too crowded. We were able to sit close to the water so my 3 year granddaughter could be easily supervised while she played in the sand or water. The bathroom facilities were nice and spaced along the beach so they are convenient for everyone. Grills and picnic tables are available as well as beach craft rentals. In the first parking lot segment there is a food trailer that sells drinks and a limited selection of food items.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach with rentals, but no Trash Cans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had so much fun at Pope Beach. Our 7 kids enjoyed renting a two person kayak (2 person kayak, 1 hour $30) and a paddle board ($20 for 2 hours). The water is nice because there are no waves and it is so easy to set off from the shore. The water is pretty clear and the sand is clean, however, there are no trash cans. No wonder previous reviewers have complained about trash. We found a dumpster by the restrooms that was overflowing. There are picnic tables. If you want to avoid the $7 parking, park on the highway and ride a bike or walk down the long driveway to the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice beach area for picnic and suntanning, easy access, clean beach - not typically crowded, great local historical sites nearby.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've been to Pope Beach many times. It's close to SLT, and a convenient drive. Water is good for swimming and kayaking. Some shade, so get there early (before 11:00) for the best spot. Parking is limited on weekends. Sandy shoreline, clear water. Some of our best days in SLT are spent at Pope Beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Local's Secret Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I shouldn't tell you, but this is a nice beach. Very large, never crowded. They recently redid all the bathrooms.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.