We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local's Secret Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Local's Secret Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I shouldn't tell you, but this is a nice beach. Very large, never crowded. They recently redid all the bathrooms.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the best beach we have in Tahoe if you don't have your pets with you. They charge 7 dollars to park but you can come and go all day as long as they aren't too full. They have picnic tables that are huge! Bathrooms with indoor plumbling. No outhouses. The sand is better than the other beaches and the water is not that far of a walk from parking or the picnic tables. There is adequate sun and shade areas. They also have a vendor that sells food and beverages. If you don't want to drive you can bike or hike in. The kids love this beach. We watch the fireworks from it every year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good size and beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The beach is right off of the highway and has a lot of space. It was closed when we went, but we parked on the highway and walked in. The sand is fairly smooth and the beach look great for swimming in the summer. We brought our dog and a lot of other people had theirs too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love all the beaches down that way but pope has the cleanest water, partially because there aren't a lot of people. So if you go DONT litter!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice beach with nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Pope Beach in July 2012. This was our family's first visit to Pope Beach and we really enjoyed it. There was plenty of parking and the beach is a short walk from the parking lot (2 important criteria for us.) There were also many bathrooms along the beach so you were never too far from one (another important factor for our family.) Aside from that, this beach had the same beautiful views of the lake that you would expect from anywhere around the lake. The water is calm and pretty shallow, so children can play safely in the water. There is plenty of sand to make sand castles, etc. This is a great family beach!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.