We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was there October 18th....the great part about going in October is the solitude of the area. We rented bikes from Anderson's Biclycle Rental for $10 / hr and rode about 16 miles total. Some of the areas we rode thru were closed to vehicles, but OK on bike. We spent a few hours taking in the beauty of Pope Beach and DEFINITELY want to return. The water was crystal clear and th the entire area immaculate.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clio, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The beach gooes on for what seems like miles. Not many folks on the beach in early September, the water was warm ( for Tahoe) this was a great spot to put in the SUPs

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“There are better places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pope beach has an entry fee and is kind of narrow area which is very populated. We much prefer the Kiva picnic area further down the road. It's free, the area of trees is much bigger and it's less populated overall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beauty beyond words.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Especially in September and October when the salmon spawn I am bringing my grandson for the first time to see them. It is such a beautiful place to come and get in touch with the inner self...ME!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Beautiful, clean beaches. Crystal clear water. Plenty of picnic tales and restrooms. A great beach to visit in Tahoe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.