We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to swim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you don't mind the water temperature being on the cool side, this is a great place for a plunge. Like all of Tahoe this proves to be another wonderful beach to visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you enjoy history, Pope Beach is a great place to see. The main house, guest houses and servants quarters are really amazing, and it is easy to imagin what life would have been like in those early days of Tahoe. Loved the long narrow, somewhat secluded beach. Could have stayed there all day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Lake Tahoe Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very beautiful Lake Tahoe beach. The parking is close to the water, there are bathrooms, grills, and an occasional tree to give you some shade. The downside is that you have to pay to drive your car in-$7. We ride our bikes in for free though!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great beach! Best in South Lake Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wow, this is a fantastic beach! It costs $7 per car to get in and seems to keep the crowds down. It still gets busy, so go early. The car pass also gets you into Baldwin Beach & Nevada Beach if you want to check out all three in one day.

There are bathrooms, an ice cream truck, and tons of sun! The beach is very clean and the water feels great. I highly recommend this beach over Baldwin & Camp Richardson (too many people).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach in South Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

One of the must do things to do when you are vacationing in the Lake Tahoe area during the summer is to hit one of the beaches. We had beach access from our hotel, but we found that the beach was pretty windy in that location. Pope Beach drew our attention after reading about it in a Lake Tahoe area magazine. This beach turned out to be a great place to spend the day. It is @ one mile long with a 300 foot wide coarse sand strip. Its location along the south-western edge of Lake Tahoe, just out of town, gives it some protection from the wind, the wind blows from behind you and not in your face. Parking is all along the beach area and it is only a short walk to the beach itself. We found the beach very clean and the water extremely clear. The beach area has undergone some renovations, there were several newer restrooms all along the beach, and you are never really far from any of them. The beach has grills for grilling. One great plus is that the beach is lined with pine/spruce trees along the rear which will provide some shade for you during the day and wind protection. We brought our lunch to eat, but we did see a small concession van in the parking lot. It also looked like they had a kayak rental area. Just to let you know though, the water is cold, but it felt good on a hot day. Also the cold water didn't seem to bother the many kids I saw who played in the water for long periods at a time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.