We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for our family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Baker
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for our family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After doing an internet and tripadvisor search of South Lake Tahoe lodging for our one night stay with 6 people I chose Forest Suites. My husband was very happy with my results. We chose a two bedroom suite. There were two bedrooms and two baths, along with a large living area (sofa bed included), and an adequate kitchen and dining area. The master had a king size bed and it's own tv and adjoining bath. The second bedroom had a queen and a twin. Perfect for 6 people. The location is in the heart of things but set apart enough in the trees as to be very quiet. While enjoying the nice pool and hot tub you could not even hear traffic. Very relaxing. We paid the same amount here for lots of space as we had two nights earlier at a regular hotel. So, bang for your buck is very good! Wine and cheese in the lounge and hot breakfast included in the price of stay. We were given a schedule of complimentary activities for the week and there was something every day. This is not a new facility. Probably could use some touch ups in places. The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is that there was some outdoor painting that I think could be done to spruce up. The staff all seemed very nice and made us feel right at home. All in all, I was very proud of myself for finding this place. It made our two days and one night in Lake Tahoe very enjoyable. Especially if you are traveling as a family, please try them out. I think you'll be pleased with the value and space.

Room Tip: We were in the building to the side (6 I believe.) Being on the same level as the parking prevented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    150
    83
    50
    33
See reviews for
240
116
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently stayed at the forest suites resort. It was well located and sufficiently services.
It is not a luxury hotel and I do NOT recommend the regular rooms as they are in an older part of the resort and are very small and not aesthetically pleasing. However, we upgraded to a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite for only 50$ more per night and it was great.
Spacious, full equipped kitchen, which although we didn't cook.. it was a nice place to store and serve, wine, pellagrino and snacks....
The view is beautiful and location is fantastic. The price of the room also included a full buffet breakfast which was efficiently run and well done.

Room Tip: suites there are both 1 and 2 bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here while attending a wedding. The location of this resort was great, right under the Heavenly Gondola. We walked over to the village both nights and listened to the live music. You are also really close to the casinos so definitely a great location. We booked a 2 room suite and it was quite large, almost like a 2 bedroom apartment. The kitchen was a good size with almost a full size refrigerator and stove. It came equipped with a few plates, glasses, etc., but no dishwasher. The room was clean but pretty outdated with your typical mountain decor. The bed in our room was quite hard but we still seemed to sleep ok. The "master" bedroom had an en suite bathroom but the second bathroom (which was ours) was a more common one not attached to the room. The shower in this bathroom was so tiny that you barely fit!

Breakfast was included and it was decent but crowded. They served cereal, muffins, bagels, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, and sausage as well as juice and coffee. Nothing special but a nice addition.

The grounds were very pretty and they had lots of activities going on. The pool and spa looked nice but we did not use them.

The building we were in only had one elevator and it was terrible! Super small with a 4 passenger limit. It was more like Disney's Tower of Terror than an actual elevator and didn't work half the time. My husband wouldn't even ride in it!

We would probably stay here again because it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This facility was in a PERFECT location. You could walk to everything. Having the mall right across the street with various eating places was great. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. The rooms were very large and offered a full kitchen and a bathroom for each room. The decor was very dated and a slight smell of old age lingered. However, the staff was amazing, the room size was perfect and the location made up for the age of the facility. Also we enjoyed the ability to workout at the gym across the street during our stay at no extra charge. It was also nice the have a full breakfast available in the morning. The facility also offered extra entertainment nightly but we did not have a chance to experience them. If you have a large group or looking for a little privacy this is a perfect facility for your stay. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: You can walk to the beach, gondola, and casinos from this location. Shopping was across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We thought we try it out. For the price that we paid (Travelzoo discount), it was fine. We stayed at a 2-bedroom suite complete with kitchen facilities. The resort is located near the Heavenly gondolas and close to many shops within walking distance including a grocery store. This resort has a lot of things going for it and its staff is friendly.

But the building is dated and it is showing its age with a lot of wear and tear – from the hallway carpeting and room furnishings. Our room could also use a fresh coat of paint. The continental breakfast is fine with both hot and cold selections but the food was a little bland and the Starbucks coffee tasted diluted.

Everything here was just average. It serves its purpose but there is no “Wow” factor. I wouldn’t mind paying more for upgraded amenities. Considering next door is the Marriott Vacation Club Timber Lodge, one does have a choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a WONDERFUL stay during the week after Father's Day! Great big 2 bedroom suite (our own condo!) which was perfect for the 4 of us. Yes, the carpet is a little worn, there were some questionable stains on the comforter and the pots and pans all smelled like garlic, but for the location, the price, and the experience it was close to perfect. The staff were all really nice and although they don't move as quickly as a 5 star resort, they still get you what you need when you request it. We didn't take advantage of the happy hour and only got coffee and muffins at the breakfast every morning, but they are awesome options to have. We will definitely be back and would recommend this value resort to any family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a family reunion with 30 people, including a dozen kids. We got 7 rooms of various sizes. I was in the 2 bedroom suite, which has a full kitchen and two full bathrooms, at our group rate. Awesome value, and we had everything we needed. The staff was always professional and knowledgable. My only complaint is that it is an older building (building 6) and we got a lot of noise from the stairwell and the hot tub, which was right outside our room. We'll ask for a different room next time. Otherwise, it was very easy to have so many amenities at our disposal and the location at the base of Heavenly couldn't be beat. Something for everyone!

Room Tip: Specify "away from the pool."
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#11 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#18 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.