We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Save Saved
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Great Value, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom suite and it was wonderful! We got a great deal from Living Social and weren't sure how it would be, but it was perfect for us. We were 4 adults, but it would be great for families too. There is a livingroom with a pull-out couch, so you could sleep 6. The kitchen was convenient and well-stocked. Full breakfast is included, very generous with the wine and cheese at 4 pm, and they have activities for kids on the weekends. Craig at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area and sent us on some great hikes that were perfect for us. Taneka helped us find what we needed in town and sent us to a good pizza place for dinner, Base Camp Pizza. It's also a 3 minute walk to shopping and movies.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is a great deal if you are traveling with friends or family. This was a great wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Marian,

We thank you for booking one of our fall specials and getting a chance to see Lake Tahoe. We want to express our gratitude for pointing out 2 of our employees who assisted you during your stay. We can confidently say you probably hiked on one of the last weekends as a few feet of snow has now fallen all over the mountains. We hope you come visit us again and happy holidays!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    118
    63
    41
    27
See reviews for
181
98
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Let's start with the check in..... People at front desk were very nice. Now we walked into our 2 bedroom bottom floor. It smelled musty and the sliding glass window you could not see out of. I'm not exaggerating at all it was that dirty. We checked out immediately not caring if we ever got our money back. We had paid through travelzoo. We went to the Marriott grand residence it was awesome !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Goldengal,

We never like to have anyone have such an experience like this? I can assure you we are not a filthy establishment. You might be referring to water-calcium stains on an outside window. We go through great lengths a few times p/ year to remediate that but by no means does it not get cleaned all the time. There are only a small handful of rooms that are at that location and its unfortunate that we were not able to move or show you another room on another bottom level guest room, or even on the second or third floor in one of our man buildings? We are happy you ultimately had a nice time here in South Lake although we had wished it could have been here.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having a full kitchen and dining area in the room is really nice. The free breakfast is awesome, as are the wine and cheese social, the hot chocolate hour and from the happy faces on the kids, I'm guessing the kids activities are pretty fun too. They also have movie nights and so much more! They are a short walk from the grocery store, shops, movie theater and casinos. Really - maybe 5 minutes walk, so not having to drive anywhere is a huge plus too! Also, the are 2 minutes from the heavenly gondola. The staff is always nice, welcoming and they seem to really enjoy their jobs. Great customer service. The only complaint that I would have is that the rooms are a bit dated, seriously old-school TV and furniture, but everything in the room is comfortable. The prices are so reasonable, I would highly recommend a stay to anyone looking for a great hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the 2 bed / 2 bath and 2 bed / 1 bath suites. The layout of the 2/1 is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ingrid,

We thank you so much for writing a review. We are delighted our resort met and exceeded your expectations on many levels. It sounds like we were a great value for everything that you and your family needed. Our daily activities are incredibly popular & we're excited you were able to experience this. We wish you a safe and great Holiday this season!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom suite with four adults. Comfortable space, but I would not consider this totally remodeled. The rooms are old apartments converted to hotel suites. Old kitchen, old bathrooms, old windows, etc., but it was very clean and the furniture was comfortable. Many activities are offered which included wine and cheese reception, free breakfast, artist in house gave a showing, art for kids, movie nights for kids, excercise classes, etc. There was a lot to choose from, very nice and the staff was friendly. Walking distance to casinos, movie theaters, restaurants and stores.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Pam,

We appreciate the time you spent with us most recently and taking time to review as well. Thanks for commenting on some of the great things we do. We absolutely pride ourselves in being clean, creating more value and giving great service. This is always our focus! We hope next time you are in the area you stay with us?

Happy Holidays Pam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We got a late start driving to Tahoe so we arrived late at night. We were tired of driving and had no idea what to expect when we drove up. A friend recommended this hotel because we have a 5 year old and a toddler. I thought because of how affordable the rate was that the hotel would be just mediocre however we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel was easy to find and very close to everything in South Lake Tahoe. We pulled up late at night to a well lit covered parking and walked into a big open lobby with high vaulted ceilings, a large fire place and couches. The staff was great! They were professional and happy. There was a coffee station with Starbucks Coffee which made me very happy to know I could grab good coffee anytime of day. We reserved a 2 bedroom 2 bath suit which came with a nice kitchen and a round dinning table perfect for our family. The kitchen was great! It had everything we needed to cook all of our family meals. It was like our own little apartment/condo in Tahoe. Everything in our room was clean and in working order. We didn't have time to get groceries before our trip so we opted to grab some free breakfast at the lobby in the morning. Breakfast was a step up from the normal cereal and milk. There was a full lay out of hot food for our family. We tanked up on eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, yogurt, toast, coffee etc and then we went on our way. This hot breakfast was a huge added value to our stay. Going out to breakfast would have cost us money and would have taken up a big chunk of morning time. So we loved that we left the hotel ready to tour beautiful Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear capelliricci13,

What a great description of our property. We are just as pleasantly delighted as you were when you arrived. We most certainly have a hot american style breakfast buffet for all of our guests & that wonderful great Starbucks coffee to go along with. We hope you had a great tour of our beautiful lake when you departed? Please don't be a stranger when you need accommodations again. All of our return guests will receive 10% off when you book direct. Give us a call! Have a great rest of the fall.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my 4th stay at Forest Suites Resort, and it was just a good as my previous visits. My family, friends and I went to the casinos right next door, right in walking distance and had a great time. Forest suites has a great location to walk to many local places. odds are if you are in tahoe you drove a lot to get there, so why not walk around instead of drive? I really digged the new bathroom set up, and the room's are very nicely sized, big and spacious. plenty of room for the whole family

Room Tip: check out the Moscow Mule cocktail with wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John,

Wow- you have come to see us four times in the last year. We cannot thank you enough for choosing our property for your hotel accommodations when in South Lake. Thanks for commenting on one of our seasonal cocktails too. That drink has been very popular this year and what a great deal! John, we hope to see you this winter for a fun ski or snowboarding adventure.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been booking rooms here for my Tahoe trips for years now, and the staff continues to surprise me with their graciousness, helpfulness, and all around pleasant demeanor. The accommodations are great for a home base away from home, it is perfectly situated in the south lake scene, and I have never felt fleeced when I settle the bill. It has been a number of years now and I have yet to consider shopping around

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ivan,

We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your continued patronage over the years. The fact that this is a "Home-Away-from-Home" for you and your family/friends is very special to us as our front curb-side sign says "Welcome Home" so this is right in-line with our culture. We look forward to housing you on your next Lake Tahoe visit Ivan and have a great rest of the year.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe
Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.