We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Save Saved
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having a full kitchen and dining area in the room is really nice. The free breakfast is awesome, as are the wine and cheese social, the hot chocolate hour and from the happy faces on the kids, I'm guessing the kids activities are pretty fun too. They also have movie nights and so much more! They are a short walk from the grocery store, shops, movie theater and casinos. Really - maybe 5 minutes walk, so not having to drive anywhere is a huge plus too! Also, the are 2 minutes from the heavenly gondola. The staff is always nice, welcoming and they seem to really enjoy their jobs. Great customer service. The only complaint that I would have is that the rooms are a bit dated, seriously old-school TV and furniture, but everything in the room is comfortable. The prices are so reasonable, I would highly recommend a stay to anyone looking for a great hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the 2 bed / 2 bath and 2 bed / 1 bath suites. The layout of the 2/1 is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ingrid,

We thank you so much for writing a review. We are delighted our resort met and exceeded your expectations on many levels. It sounds like we were a great value for everything that you and your family needed. Our daily activities are incredibly popular & we're excited you were able to experience this. We wish you a safe and great Holiday this season!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    133
    67
    41
    27
See reviews for
199
102
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom suite with four adults. Comfortable space, but I would not consider this totally remodeled. The rooms are old apartments converted to hotel suites. Old kitchen, old bathrooms, old windows, etc., but it was very clean and the furniture was comfortable. Many activities are offered which included wine and cheese reception, free breakfast, artist in house gave a showing, art for kids, movie nights for kids, excercise classes, etc. There was a lot to choose from, very nice and the staff was friendly. Walking distance to casinos, movie theaters, restaurants and stores.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Pam,

We appreciate the time you spent with us most recently and taking time to review as well. Thanks for commenting on some of the great things we do. We absolutely pride ourselves in being clean, creating more value and giving great service. This is always our focus! We hope next time you are in the area you stay with us?

Happy Holidays Pam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We got a late start driving to Tahoe so we arrived late at night. We were tired of driving and had no idea what to expect when we drove up. A friend recommended this hotel because we have a 5 year old and a toddler. I thought because of how affordable the rate was that the hotel would be just mediocre however we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel was easy to find and very close to everything in South Lake Tahoe. We pulled up late at night to a well lit covered parking and walked into a big open lobby with high vaulted ceilings, a large fire place and couches. The staff was great! They were professional and happy. There was a coffee station with Starbucks Coffee which made me very happy to know I could grab good coffee anytime of day. We reserved a 2 bedroom 2 bath suit which came with a nice kitchen and a round dinning table perfect for our family. The kitchen was great! It had everything we needed to cook all of our family meals. It was like our own little apartment/condo in Tahoe. Everything in our room was clean and in working order. We didn't have time to get groceries before our trip so we opted to grab some free breakfast at the lobby in the morning. Breakfast was a step up from the normal cereal and milk. There was a full lay out of hot food for our family. We tanked up on eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, yogurt, toast, coffee etc and then we went on our way. This hot breakfast was a huge added value to our stay. Going out to breakfast would have cost us money and would have taken up a big chunk of morning time. So we loved that we left the hotel ready to tour beautiful Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear capelliricci13,

What a great description of our property. We are just as pleasantly delighted as you were when you arrived. We most certainly have a hot american style breakfast buffet for all of our guests & that wonderful great Starbucks coffee to go along with. We hope you had a great tour of our beautiful lake when you departed? Please don't be a stranger when you need accommodations again. All of our return guests will receive 10% off when you book direct. Give us a call! Have a great rest of the fall.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my 4th stay at Forest Suites Resort, and it was just a good as my previous visits. My family, friends and I went to the casinos right next door, right in walking distance and had a great time. Forest suites has a great location to walk to many local places. odds are if you are in tahoe you drove a lot to get there, so why not walk around instead of drive? I really digged the new bathroom set up, and the room's are very nicely sized, big and spacious. plenty of room for the whole family

Room Tip: check out the Moscow Mule cocktail with wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John,

Wow- you have come to see us four times in the last year. We cannot thank you enough for choosing our property for your hotel accommodations when in South Lake. Thanks for commenting on one of our seasonal cocktails too. That drink has been very popular this year and what a great deal! John, we hope to see you this winter for a fun ski or snowboarding adventure.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been booking rooms here for my Tahoe trips for years now, and the staff continues to surprise me with their graciousness, helpfulness, and all around pleasant demeanor. The accommodations are great for a home base away from home, it is perfectly situated in the south lake scene, and I have never felt fleeced when I settle the bill. It has been a number of years now and I have yet to consider shopping around

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ivan,

We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your continued patronage over the years. The fact that this is a "Home-Away-from-Home" for you and your family/friends is very special to us as our front curb-side sign says "Welcome Home" so this is right in-line with our culture. We look forward to housing you on your next Lake Tahoe visit Ivan and have a great rest of the year.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay with a friendly helpful staff. Buildings and rooms are a little dated, but clean. In room amenities could be updated, but overall experience was great. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone wanting to stay near the action of the South Lake Tahoe and Statelines area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Marty,

Thanks for taking time to respond on Trip Advisor. We love that you had a great overall experience and this is what we strive for each guest stay. We certainly wish you a great fall season!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked this room from hell through Expedia a couple of hours before our arrival. The advertisement clearly reported king size suite for $149. Upon arrival the front desk the clerk, Nav reported not having any rooms except for a room with double beds. He said there was nothing he could do, and that we would need to negotiate any concerns or reservation issues with Expedia. Really, I am surprised that the front desk at the hotel we reserved is deferring support issues to their booking agent. Still game, we went over and looked at the room. Filthy, in the alley, and the toilet didn't work. I returned the keys to Nav and he assured me that he checked us out, but refunds would need to be negotiated with Expedia. We did not stay at the hotel, but were billed for the room anyway. The hotel was full, and they still billed us for a room we didn't sleep in. I spoke on three separate occasions with Expedia. They said that after two calls to the manager, Susan Garcia at this hotel, our refund request was refused. We will certainly not use Expedia again for booking rooms. Expedia told me that Susan told them we stayed at the hotel and she would not refund the money. Someone is not telling the truth. With a name like "Suites Resort," we expected much better service, consistent with what we received from the Marriott, next door (for only $50) extra per night. The Marriott understood what Susan Garcia does not, about what constitutes a resort stay and a king suite. There was a beautiful wedding in process at the Forest Suites Resort when we checked in, and I could see that there is potential for rooms consistent with their advertising. There was a couple of busses parked out front, so I am sure they are providing deals to make money. My advice to future travelers is don't trust the advertisement. This so called resort has horrible rooms and a few good rooms to offer. If you want to stay there, get the room number and assure you know where you are staying on the property. Avoid crowded weekends. Don't book them through Expedia, and Let Susan Garcia know that we never did get the refund we requested on three occasions after NOT staying at her hotel with the dumpy, dirty room with two double beds on the alley that her staff thought we would enjoy staying in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Wooded,

We never like to have a guest who is not happy with their stay. Just some background to the Expedia booking. In fact, your room was the last room reserved that night and we happened to be 100% sold out that night. The room that you booked was a basic (standard room) and at the time of your reservation you have the option to request a room type which is either (2 doubles or 1 king) in which you requested a king bed. We absolutely see that. In 99% of most situations we are able to accommodate all room type requests for our standard rooms. However, when its the last room available, it can be tough since there is only 1 room left at our hotel. Unfortunately, your request for a King was impossible but a standard room with 2 doubles was possible and the only one available. Expedia did contact us one time and no other times than that but that's neither here nor there. We did however make the decision to not refund because there was nothing deceiving about the booking. We don't sell specific rooms through 3rd party sites such as Expedia but attempt to accommodate specific room type requests when they are made. We wish this was a situation that had a different outcome and if we had a king room we would have given it to you with ease. We apologize and wish you the best Mr. Wood.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.