We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Excellent Location to Heavenly Village, Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Save Saved
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Minden, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Excellent Location to Heavenly Village, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent stay, excellent location to Heavenly Village and Casinos, great price value for location and full kitchen amenities. Rooms are clean and nice. CD players in rooms. Excellent staff and customer service. Location is great to Heavenly Village Cinema, Restaurants including Base Camp Pizza Company, Gunbarrel Tavern, Driftwood Cafe, Burger King, and Kalanis in very short walking distance. Also, adjacent to the Heavenly Village 8 Plex Cinema and Heavenly Village Ice Rink and Miniature Golf course. Heavenly Gondola is within very short walking distance. Great location and dining/enterainment options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    133
    66
    41
    27
See reviews for
198
102
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A major disappointment in quality of the facility. We happened to get there when a storm was passing through and had to wait to check into our room (May 2013).

Cheeky 70's "tree wood like" dining furniture; 70's kitchen and bathroom fixtures; the place looks like it has not been updated, nor consistently maintained.

Benign neglect would be a nice thing to say. It is a discount tourist venue. I got the coupon for discounted room rates (Sun-Thurs), bring low expectations --so you won't get disappointed.

Room Tip: See your room first before signing off on it. You could find yourself next to a busy intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was very accommodating to my needs. Nice place to stay. Very reasonably priced. Bring your own pillow though. They are as flat as a pancake. Very close proximity to the Heavenly village. Close enough to walk to the lake, next to the casinos. They have lots of activities like a marshmallow roast and wine and cheese parties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kelplady,

I want to thank you for staying with us over this last holiday weekend. We certainly appreciate the business. We are in the process of purchasing all new pillows this fall & we are targeting a firmer style. Thanks also for commenting on some of the great activities we have for all of our guests as well as our perfect location. We certainly hope for you to stay with us next time you are in South Lake and we wish you the best this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon. Originally we were supposed to go to Ireland but due to work related reasons we decided to stay closer to home (Reno). Upon arrival I didn't quite know what to think. The property looked a bit worn on the outside but I quickly changed my mind when my husband showed me to our room, a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and rustic cabin decor. The room was spotless. It was so clean and comfortable I could totally see a family spending a week here on there ski vacation. A nice perk was a free bottle of wine for not needing to have our room cleaned one day. It is the perfect property for families because the hotel has arranged fun activities for every age. We enjoyed the wine and cheese social in the evening and the breakfast in the morning. We also enjoyed the pool and spa. I would like to come back and bring our son so he could take part in the arts and crafts activities the hotel offers, pony rides, ice cream socials, and evening story time and marshmallow roast around the campfire. There is also a fitness center on site, massage therapy available, family movie nights and fitness classes during certain times of the week. We had a great stay and urge customers to get back the initial facade because this place has everything! Loved it. Will be back! Thank you Forest Suites for a perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: We like the suites best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Crissy J,

What a great review! It sounds like a trip to Ireland was re-routed to our property for more of a stay-cation. I am delighted you felt the room was clean and spotless and perfect for a honeymoon. We appreciate the cute picture that was posted and delighted you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. We wish you a successful marriage and look forward to you spending more trips from Reno in South Lake Tahoe.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just the two of us we never book a suite but the wedding we were attending arranged for one bedroom suites - loved the spaciousness! So worth it. Turned into a relaxating mini-vacation, best nights' sleep. Husband woke up early and watched tv in living room. No time for the wine tasting or 's'mores but used the kitchen. A cookie sheet in the oven was great for reheating pizza from Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza across the street to crispy perfection. Entire staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Suggessted breakfast buffet before 8 to avoid big crowds. Very few people, mounds of piping hot items and good selection of cold as well. Really liked the option of just clean towels and trash emptied in exchange for a gift - chose the movie package: 2 sodas, microwave popcorn, chocolate bar and bag of candy. Some reviewers say its old and needs updating - the important thing is it is CLEAN! Told our son who sometimes works in Tahoe and learned he always stays here. We will go back.

Room Tip: On first floor close to car, so didn't have to use elevator that reviewers said was creepy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for recently staying at our resort. We certainly appreciate the business. We very much appreciate that you felt our property was very clean and focused on service. That is highly important to us & I'm glad it shows. I think we're all delighted this became a relaxing trip for you and your husband and that's exactly what we hope for. We wish you the best this fall and come back to see us again soon.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything was just great for our family. We've stayed in one bedroom suite and are going to return here next time in our visit lake Tahoe. I have no idea how it is in other kind of rooms. This one perfectly match our wishes. Guys, I'd recommend you just ignore negative reviews of these suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Vladimir,

Thank you for trying us out and giving our property a shot. We understand how difficult it is to receive new business and I'm delighted you will be a return guest for hopefully many years to come? The suites are fantastic and perfect for many who want space, a full kitchen & a living room. We wish you the best this fall and we look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Over the last 15 days my family and I have had the chance to stay at the Forest Suites Resort in two separate stays. We were traveling through while going to a family wedding and then traveling through to come home. We set up 2 separate reservations. Both we executed flawlessly. This trip we did not take advantage of the area or the other amenities other than the buffet breakfast. The breakfast was piping hot and fresh. When checking in the first night the front desk recommended a time for breakfast when it would be less crowded. He determined this by the events going on in town and the time they started. We walked right up got plates of steaming delicious breakfast. He was correct. The lobby was pack upon check out about 30 minutes later. This was a nice thoughtful gesture.
The first night we were on the road and had checked in late. The room was not the temperature we would have liked for sleeping, though the AC cooled it down before too long. On the way back through to come home we were going to be checking in late again. I called ahead and asked that the temperature for the room was set to accommodate our preferences. We were delighted to walk into our room at the perfect temperature. It is these types of thoughtful gestures that will keep us coming back to the Forest Suites time and time again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kylandra,

We cant't thank you enough for picking our resort every time you are in South Lake. That is very invaluable to us. This last trip of yours resulted in 2 different nights in which you selected our property and we love that. We know you were traveling with a large party which sets up perfect for our property. It sound like the hot breakfast and the additional service you received on adjusting the temperature in the room beforehand exceeded your expectations & were delighted we were able to do execute that for you. Come back to see us again before next summer!

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.