We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Save Saved
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Forest Suites. It is centrally located to the beach and casinos. Guest Services were great.They were very friendly and accomidating. i originally reserved 1 night but decided to stay another night and the were able to get me the same rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Kward,

It sounds like our property was perfect for you with the great service and location? We are very happy we were able to accommodate everything you needed and you were able to stay 1 more day. Service is something we focus so much on as it can break or make a guests stay and we're delighted you as well as many of our guests experience this. We hope you become a return guest and enjoy this warm summer.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    135
    67
    41
    27
See reviews for
201
102
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

To begin with, this is an older resort and it has a weathered appearance. Despite its age, the grounds are well maintained by the attentive staff. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, but the second bedroom also had an additional twin size bed for an additional guest. The sofa in the living room was comfortable enough for me to fall asleep on, while watching television ! The Resort offers a free breakfast from 6:30 am to 10: 00 am, so this a big plus for larger families. The breakfast lounge was stocked with fruit juices, bagels, scrambled eggs, coffee, sausage and bacon, cereals and milk. The location is ideal for shopping at Heavenly Mall, or gambling on the Nevada side in Harrahs or Harveys casinos. Located behind the resort are hiking trails, which offer breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe, and the surrounding mountains. The Resort also has complimentary activities, such as wine and cheese tasting, scheduled on different days .

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have easier access to the pool and jacuzzi, via the sliding glass door. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Saccyl,

Thanks for taking the time to outline the property. We cannot be more happy that the room was comfortable, clean and spacious for you and your family. You also commented that the breakfast was great and perfect for your family with an array of different options and the location was perfect to walk to casinos, shops, bars, restaurants, etc..... We hope you become a return guest while in South Lake as we always welcome you back.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms we had (3) for our families were overpriced and not very clean. One of the rooms didn't smell very good. I understand there has been some remodel since then but it's doubtful I would stay there again.
That said I did appreciate the fact that there was a kitchen that was stocked with dishes, pots and pans but wouldn't have paid what I did if I had done research before going and the fact that there was a family member getting married and everyone had already booked rooms there

Room Tip: Do research
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sally4ME,

It sounds like you appreciated some aspects of our resort but might not be back? You are absolutely correct on our rooms receiving new decor. In fact, within the last 12 months we installed every bathroom and kitchen floor with new tile on the floor, 1 new leather couch and 2 sofa chairs in the living rooms. Additionally, we installed 1 new glass coffee table & 2 couch side glass tables. We also installed new ovens, art throughout, hanging mirrors, headboards, dining table and dining chairs, lamps throughout, chandelier, night stands, & dressers amongst many other items. We apologize that you did not love the guest rooms in a way that would want you to return. Our motif is heavily focused on the "rustic mountain" as many of the pictures online you can see. All in all, we certainly want you to return and stay again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well this was my first visit to south lake during the summer, and since I had such a great experience here at Forest Suites, that I came back. A lot of changes came to the hotel since my last stay, new tile, an upstairs entertainment center with games, movies, and room to play cards as well as a wine and cheese pairing! who doesn't love free wine and cheese? My friends and I always enjoy free alcohol! I will continue to visit Forest Suites in my trips to south lake, Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear John K,

We thank you for your continued patronage. Winter and summer is so very different and I'm delighted you have now experienced them both. You noticed our new XBOX game/movie night room and we thank you for checking that out. Wine and cheese during our wine and cheese hour is very popular and a great way to start the evening as you mentioned. Don't be a stranger this summer. It will be hot and a good break from that hot air in the Bay Area.

Thanks again for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only tried this place because of a Travelzoo deal. It was $99 for a two bdrm 2 bath.......not worth the $99.
The room appeared to have never been remodeled. Broken tile on counter top, broken screen door, window screen missing, sliding glass door that would not lock (but we were on second floor) , dirty carpet, dirty carpets in hallway.
It did have a comfortable bed. The FREE hot breakfast wasn't worth much more than we paid for it.
The front desk people were very friendly. Had a nice lobby but that is where the "niceness" stopped.
Also it was plain to see that the place wasn't even 25% full but they still made us wait until 4PM (check-in) to give us our room....(tacky)
In short, the "eek! Methinks not" pretty much describes our stay. Like the raven said....."nevermore"

Room Tip: Best tip is to stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I just got back from another great trip at the Forest Suites Resort. I was pleased to see new poolside furniture as this was needed. My kids really appreciated the ice cream as this was a great treat on Friday night. One thing I also appreciated was the extra seating for breakfast this time around in their adjacent room to the breakfast room. It allowed for more people to eat all at once. One thing that was new that I didn't do was check out the pony's. Apparently there are pony's on the weekends for kids to ride. I saw people around that area and thought what a great idea? We'll always be back because of the service, activities and major efforts to improve every time we come back and stay which is fairly frequent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Jerome,

We so appreciate the candid feedback. I think all of us are delighted you have noticed some of the new features at the property. It sounds like our first launch of the "Ice Cream Social" you attended? That has been a tremendous hit for families and anyone who loves ice cream sundaes. As for the Pony's, this has been such a BIG hit with kids. They're begging for more rides and we're delighted this new amenity is working so well. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying here again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this resort and will come back again. The bathroom/kitchen appeared original to the date the place was built; however, they were both clean and operational. The furnishings were ecclectic, but comfortable - except the sofa-sleeper. It was very uncomfortable for one football-player sized adult, feeling the frame through the mattress, etc. The king bed, however, was very comfortable but firm. The crown molding in this suite, which seemed more like a small one-bedroom apartment, was noteworthy. There were ample closets. The window coverings were nice. The location was convenient. The jacuzzi was great, as was the gym, but couldn't get the treadmill to work. While we didn't try the sauna, the availability was a bonus. The hot cocoa bar was less than expected when mentioning "bar" but it was very good and provided several toppings to add to the cocoa making it very tasty, especially since it was a slightly chilly day. The morning breakfast buffet was also an added bonus of which we happily availed ourselves. The variety of selections was excellent as was the Starbucks coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds appeared well maintained. This one-bedroom suite was so very much worth the cost, at least 40-50% less than more renovated hotel suites nearby. While somewhat dated, the building smelled clean - not musty/perfumy/old. I would highly recommend this lodging for those who don't mind a little age.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a one-bedroom suite directly over the carport facing Tahoe Bl. It had all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Inge K,

I want to say thank you for taking a chance as a 1st time customer and I'm delighted you would definitely return. This always says a lot. We are thrilled you took advantage of the many activities and amenities we offer. I hope to see you again soon for another Tahoe adventure.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.