We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent improvements take Forest Suites from an A- to A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Lodi, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recent improvements take Forest Suites from an A- to A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at Forest Suites and I was so impressed this time that i felt compelled to jump online and write a review as soon as I got home. I just got back from a 4-day weekend Snowboarding/Ski trip with a large group of friends and it was probably the best trip we've had so far in South Shore.

First off just, just walking into the lobby you can tell they are investing time and money into this place. Its more and more beautiful and modern each time i see it, very elegant with a rustic touch which is the perfect feel for Lake Tahoe in the winter. I noticed on day 2 that they had upgraded the upstairs Loft with a big flatscreen TV and and XBOX game center which was extremely convenient for us since 2 of the couples in our party had kids and after a long day on the hill we could have a drink at the bar right below it for as long as we wanted while not having to worry about the kids who were well entertained upstairs. Also, a pleasant surprise our first morning there when I noticed they upgraded their continental breakfast buffet to a full hot breakfast, which really hits the spot in the middle of winter. Also all of the rooms seemed to be refurnished with new furniture, that had more of that elegant rustic style that fits so well.

All these are just things that were noticable improvements and upgrades since my last visit, but i already held this resort in high regard, and here's what brought me to it in the first place:

The location is right in the heart of South Lake, right at the Heavenly Village with a 2 minute walk to the gondola so if your Skiing Heavenly than it's a no-brainer. Extremely affordable room-rates especially for what you get. One of my favorite things though is the full kitchen. It really feels more like you are in a spacious apartment than a hotel. There is a grocery store 100 yards away so you can stock up on groceries for your trip and have all the tools to prepare them at your disposal. This really saved us a lot of money when you have 4 days and 3 meals to eat each day. Also can't tell you how nice it was to come back after Skiing and throw a party size Stouffers Lasagna in the oven and feed every single person for minimal costs. The staff is extremely accommodating and you are greeted with smiles everywhere. Oh and there is an on site Ski/Snowboard shop which really helped us out. One of our group forgot his Ski pants and they rented him a pair for like $5.00.

All in all this is my favorite Tahoe Resort, and probably the only one I will stay in ever again. All things considered it's the best value for what you get back, and has the best customer service I've yet to encounter in South Shore. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    137
    69
    44
    30
See reviews for
210
106
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are definitely things to recommend this place, including its fabulous location and very pleasant staff. But ... the word "resort" is a bit of a misnomer. The whole place is a little long in the tooth, complete with chipped plates at breakfast, carpet coming up in the hallways, thin towels, foam pillows, and a heating system that sounds like jets landing. If you want a good amount of space and walking distance to Heavenly, this is a good value. If you want upscale, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been joining my two brothers and their wives here for 10 years, and we've always been satisfied. We park our cars in the covered area and walk everywhere. We ski, gamble, go to the movies and shop without ever getting in the car. Some years there has been shuttle service to other ski areas. Forest Suites Resort is not high end, but it's clean and comfortable (we have a two-bedroom, two-bath suite) and we do most of our own cooking. If we need something not provided, we simply call and it's delivered to our room. The hotel has made many improvements during the last year, including new furniture, tile in the kitchen and bathroom, more kitchen items (pots, pans, utensils) and an upgraded breakfast. Yes, the breakfast does get a bit repetitive, and it would be wise of them to change it up a bit. They also added a 4-5 p.m. wine reception with cheese/crackers on the weekdays. Nice! The staff is endlessly friendly and helpful. We wouldn't consider going anywhere else, and the rates are very fair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I came here with my friends last year and it was awesome! I just recently stayed here a few weekends ago and it was even better! The whole place was re done with new furniture and new tile. Forest Suites stepped it up over the past year, and they were already great. The location is really where its at though. I literally walk 50 ft outside of my room and there is the heavenly Gondola is right there, Can't ask for much better then that. Ill be heading up in a few weeks for round 2 with more friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

There is a lot to like about this resort, but there is much that leaves a lot to be desired. We had a group of 5 guys staying in Suites 227 and 228 - both 2-bedroom units. I would describe these units as very basic. They are advertised as updated but, in my opinion, they put in some newer furniture and did not upgrade the things that needed to be upgraded. SIngle-pane, aluminum-clad windows that let in the cold faster than the heating system can push it out. Bathrooms that have not been updated in over 20 years. Kitchens that are filthy. Lights that do not work properly. Limited bedding - pillows that are like rocks.

As many others have said in their reviews, the service is very good. We only had one blip in the service level and the staff member figured out a quick solution. The breakfast is good, but the spaces to eat are very limited, and the food is the same every day.

The location is great, close to the gondola and other amenities but the facilities on the property leave you with the impression that this place is run on a tight budget. Ripped carpet, peeling paint, stairs that are out of alignment and have not been fixed, a heated swimming pool too cold to get into....and so on.

One last comment. Many rooms have ashtrays in the walkways outside them. If you don't like cigarette smoke, ask for a room away from these ashtrays.

This property is great if you are on a budget. However, if nicer amenities are important to you, you might want to look at the competition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort has a great location in the Heavenly village, but that is the extent of the positive. There are two types of rooms, the newly renovated and the old ones. We had one of the old suites. The heater never shut off the entire week and it sounds lie a jet plane. The kitchen is so poorly equipped that we really did not feel like we could cook canned soup. The breakfast buffet was exactly the same for the entire week - the potatoes where gross, the sausage under cooked, they did have cereal and some fresh strawberries, but it got old when it did change for the entire week. Don't believe the picture of the buffet on the website. I am not a picky person, so it takes a lot for me to write a negative review, but it needed to be said. Not sure who wrote all the glowing reviews, but hat was not my experience. On the positive side The staff was quite pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the new section of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jeff,

I hope your flight back from the west coast was safe as I know you might have been dealing with east coast traveling challenges from the epic snowstorm last weekend. I would have loved to meet you and gotten a chance to personally address the challenges. We certainly have enough cooking equipment to open a can of soup but I can appreciate the humor. Since our hot food items are prepared buffet style it can be difficult to tailor made certain items such as potatoes, eggs, etc... We know some people like crispy bacon or sausage and some like it soft. We always intend to cook to ensure it is good for all while understanding it may not be perfect due to specific likes/dislikes. Our staff has modified food items for guests to try and accommodate as much as possible and hopefully you inquired about this and hopefully we executed that? I'm delighted you enjoyed the fresh strawberries & cereal. We always look to improve and we will certainly look to possibly switch up the menu not only seasonally but maybe weekly as well? These issues could have been addressed and resolved in a matter of seconds and I truly wished you had brought this to our attention while you were on your ski vacation?

Thanks and we always wish you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family of 6 stayed in a two-bedroom suite between Christmas Eve and New Years Day 2012. Our 4 children had never seen snow before, so the huge storm two days before we arrived left the resort looking beautiful with thick, powdery snow. THe complex has an excellent fenced yard which we used for snow play and building a snow man.We had a ground floor unit overlooking the pool which was quite large and had 2 queen beds a single bed and a reasonably comfortable double sofa bed. We never felt crowded. THe furniture was quite nice and the kitchen and bathrooms clean. THe kitchen could have used more crockery, but had a huge new oven which I used to cook a glazed ham for christmas lunch.
THe beds were comfortable, but needed some larger blankets and preferably some spare ones in the closets.
THe resort is close to everything. A short walk through the carpark across the road to the village.A Supermarket, Cinemas and ice-skating rink are easy walking distance. THe Gondola, ski schools and choice of shops/restaurants in Heavenly Village are excellent. We watched the News Years Eve fireworks from our loungeroom.
Breakfast was quite good and we enjoyed the complimentary Hot chocolate near reception. We came across some very friendly staff. THe X-box upstairs was popular with the kids.
I would recommend Forest Suites as good value for money in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.