We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location In south lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best location In south lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I came here with my friends last year and it was awesome! I just recently stayed here a few weekends ago and it was even better! The whole place was re done with new furniture and new tile. Forest Suites stepped it up over the past year, and they were already great. The location is really where its at though. I literally walk 50 ft outside of my room and there is the heavenly Gondola is right there, Can't ask for much better then that. Ill be heading up in a few weeks for round 2 with more friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    150
    84
    50
    34
See reviews for
242
116
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

There is a lot to like about this resort, but there is much that leaves a lot to be desired. We had a group of 5 guys staying in Suites 227 and 228 - both 2-bedroom units. I would describe these units as very basic. They are advertised as updated but, in my opinion, they put in some newer furniture and did not upgrade the things that needed to be upgraded. SIngle-pane, aluminum-clad windows that let in the cold faster than the heating system can push it out. Bathrooms that have not been updated in over 20 years. Kitchens that are filthy. Lights that do not work properly. Limited bedding - pillows that are like rocks.

As many others have said in their reviews, the service is very good. We only had one blip in the service level and the staff member figured out a quick solution. The breakfast is good, but the spaces to eat are very limited, and the food is the same every day.

The location is great, close to the gondola and other amenities but the facilities on the property leave you with the impression that this place is run on a tight budget. Ripped carpet, peeling paint, stairs that are out of alignment and have not been fixed, a heated swimming pool too cold to get into....and so on.

One last comment. Many rooms have ashtrays in the walkways outside them. If you don't like cigarette smoke, ask for a room away from these ashtrays.

This property is great if you are on a budget. However, if nicer amenities are important to you, you might want to look at the competition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort has a great location in the Heavenly village, but that is the extent of the positive. There are two types of rooms, the newly renovated and the old ones. We had one of the old suites. The heater never shut off the entire week and it sounds lie a jet plane. The kitchen is so poorly equipped that we really did not feel like we could cook canned soup. The breakfast buffet was exactly the same for the entire week - the potatoes where gross, the sausage under cooked, they did have cereal and some fresh strawberries, but it got old when it did change for the entire week. Don't believe the picture of the buffet on the website. I am not a picky person, so it takes a lot for me to write a negative review, but it needed to be said. Not sure who wrote all the glowing reviews, but hat was not my experience. On the positive side The staff was quite pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the new section of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jeff,

I hope your flight back from the west coast was safe as I know you might have been dealing with east coast traveling challenges from the epic snowstorm last weekend. I would have loved to meet you and gotten a chance to personally address the challenges. We certainly have enough cooking equipment to open a can of soup but I can appreciate the humor. Since our hot food items are prepared buffet style it can be difficult to tailor made certain items such as potatoes, eggs, etc... We know some people like crispy bacon or sausage and some like it soft. We always intend to cook to ensure it is good for all while understanding it may not be perfect due to specific likes/dislikes. Our staff has modified food items for guests to try and accommodate as much as possible and hopefully you inquired about this and hopefully we executed that? I'm delighted you enjoyed the fresh strawberries & cereal. We always look to improve and we will certainly look to possibly switch up the menu not only seasonally but maybe weekly as well? These issues could have been addressed and resolved in a matter of seconds and I truly wished you had brought this to our attention while you were on your ski vacation?

Thanks and we always wish you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family of 6 stayed in a two-bedroom suite between Christmas Eve and New Years Day 2012. Our 4 children had never seen snow before, so the huge storm two days before we arrived left the resort looking beautiful with thick, powdery snow. THe complex has an excellent fenced yard which we used for snow play and building a snow man.We had a ground floor unit overlooking the pool which was quite large and had 2 queen beds a single bed and a reasonably comfortable double sofa bed. We never felt crowded. THe furniture was quite nice and the kitchen and bathrooms clean. THe kitchen could have used more crockery, but had a huge new oven which I used to cook a glazed ham for christmas lunch.
THe beds were comfortable, but needed some larger blankets and preferably some spare ones in the closets.
THe resort is close to everything. A short walk through the carpark across the road to the village.A Supermarket, Cinemas and ice-skating rink are easy walking distance. THe Gondola, ski schools and choice of shops/restaurants in Heavenly Village are excellent. We watched the News Years Eve fireworks from our loungeroom.
Breakfast was quite good and we enjoyed the complimentary Hot chocolate near reception. We came across some very friendly staff. THe X-box upstairs was popular with the kids.
I would recommend Forest Suites as good value for money in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I just got back from another ski vacation. I stayed in one of their huge 2 bedroom suites. Its perfect for my large group. I took advantage of their breakfast 7 saved a ton of money and we hit the wine/cheese reception almost every night. One thing I can say that's improved even more than the furniture upgrades is their service. They have stepped this up from years past. I'm looking forward to coming back and staying in Summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jerome,

We thank you for your feedback & spending another vacation with us. We appreciate the review and we certainly thank you for recognizing the improvements. Were assuming you'll be back for another summer vacation to the Lake.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean, friendly, quiet hotel, nestled in the perfect location. Skiing, biking, restaurants, theater, beach, shopping center, and casinos all within walking distance.. Staff is courteous, friendly, accommodating!!

Well recommended hotel and would recommend to family and friends!! Looking forward to booking our summer vacation at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 1 bedroom suite. It wa well accommodating for our stay! Quiet, cozy, staff extremely frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Rob,

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience and opinions about our resort. We certainly love our 1 bed suites as they offer kitchens, dining rooms and living rooms at 650 square feet. We pride ourselves on being a perfect location for almost everything in South Lake and I appreciate you pointing this out.

Thanks again Rob,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Behind all the high-rise casinos and Heavenly Village, Forest Suites is tucked away at
the foot of Heavenly Mountain. Close to everything, but secluded and exclusive. We parked our car outside our room, making it super convenient to move our luggage. We found a spacious suite with a huge bathroom appointed like a spa, an inviting fire was burning in the hearth. The king-sized bed was so comforable, I wanted to take it home with me! Great continental breakfast served in the morning and a wine and cheese bar in the afternoon. The hotel staff, from the housekeepers to the front desk host, were friendly, helpful and focused on customer service. It is by far the best hotel and best value in
Lake Tahoe. Treat yourself to the Forest Suites the next time you visit Tahoe.

Room Tip: Get a suite with parking outside your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Leslie,

I wanted to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience with all of us. We appreciate the kind words about exceptional service & being the best property in South Lake Tahoe. It sounds like you enjoyed the wine and cheese reception and our full-american buffet breakfast. Your depection of the room sounds perfect! Thanks again for sharing and spending time with us as we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#11 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#13 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.