We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at 1 bed room suite, spacious, comfortable and clean. Very friendly and accommodating stuff, helped us with early check in and change of reservations. Great location, at the heart of Heavenly village and 2 minutes walk to Gondola. Breakfast buffet, happy hour on Saturday, kids craft, great value for family stay.

Room Tip: Their suites are great for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ski Family,

Thanks for the kind review. Some of the activities you are talking about have been very successful. The kid’s arts and crafts in the weekend mornings are very popular and the hot chocolate bar on Saturday nights have been a hit. We certainly pride ourselves on being a tremendous family oriented property. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    139
    70
    44
    30
See reviews for
213
107
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is close to everything. A very good location without a huge price tag. The elevator is real small and old. It was difficult to load and unload all of our luggage and supplies. Parking was close and convenient to the room. The breakfast variety was good and ranged from cereals, eggs,meat,bagels,fruit and juices. Beds were comfortable. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Rebecca,

We wanted to say thank you for staying with us over the holiday and winter period. As you know, the skiing conditions here is tremendous and I can only assume you and the family had a great time sledding, skiing, and snowboarding amongst other snow fun? As you mentioned, we definitely have the unbeatable location and we are very much setup for families who value spacious rooms, great activities and great breakfast for all. Come back to stay with us soon. The ski conditions are just perfect!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is almost under the Heavenly Gondola. It is a short walk, literally across the street from the center of the Heavenly scene. All the shopping, cinema, restaurants, bars within minutes of your room. There is a free snow play area across the street at the front of the property. Large grocery store and more food places across a different street, all an easy walk. The king sized suite could have appeared a bit dated by the tile work and bathtub, but the decor and new carpet made up for it. It was very clean and we enjoyed the big spacious living room, table and chairs, bar stools and the amenities in the kitchen. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker. It sure helps keep the expenses down when you can buy your own beverages and food just across the street and eat in!!! Another great thing you may not think about when making a reservation in South Lake Tahoe, is the covered parking garage each room has, without an extra charge. It can be very cold and snowy and being able to carry our luggage and coolers under a covered roof was valuable. Check in/out was pleasant and uneventful. The breakfast buffet was included as well and it was good.

Room Tip: Ask for the weekly events sheet for the resort when you arrive. I was also able to get a print out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Crazy Canadian,

Thanks for spending your ski vacation with us. Thanks for also mentioning our weekly activities sheet. It’s great that you mentioned carports as this is one of our features that we have the luxury of having. Most of the motels/hotels/resorts do not have this and during snow storms- priceless... I’m delighted you enjoyed our new furniture including new bar stools, decor, etc... I am very hopeful you guys come back next ski season.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

PERFECT location in the heart of Heavenly Village. The hotel itself, average. There is a small ski rental place in the hotel which was very convenient, they are flexible and easy to deal with. Afternoon wine/cheese was a nice perk. Unfortunately: bed sheets fit poorly and come off every night (very frustrating)!!! Breakfast is adequate, however you must be patient as the breakfast room can be crowded and there is just ONE toaster that actually works when I told staff about this they brought out another toaster that also didn't work (really, how much would it cost them to buy a few toasters)??? Again, be patient. $12 daily fee for the hotel, outside of the Expedia fees, not a big deal... Parking is free. I would absolutely stay here again, just don't expect it to be the Marriott, not even close.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear CBINLaghills,

Thanks for spending time with us over the cold holidays. We appreciate you making great comments and it sounds like next time you are in South Lake Tahoe, you will be coming back to stay with us. In response to your toaster comment, we have purchased a higher end commercial rotating toaster as we had the same sediment as you did. We appreciate the Location, Location, Location comment as we certainly do have the best. Next time you need to get out of SoCal, please come up and see us. Maybe you can come for another ski vacation or summer getaway?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location is great, but this is only good thing about this place. The service here was hit and miss. Front desk were often unhelpful or downright rude.
Front of house could rarely be bothered helping us - our first time here - for example they were not even sure when the gondola opened. We went down at 8:30 as told and found it wasn't open until 9. Pretty basic good guest services!
We paid $209+tax per night for one bedroom and they charge us $12 more per night some kind not specific hotel fees. Just because we reserve though Expedia. The heater runs very loud, you can barely sleep with this noise.
Breakfast was free if you could a) find somewhere to sit (the accommodation has 6 double story buildings but dining room seats 50???) and b) get anything to eat as often everything was out (no coffee, no milk, no fruit, no bread...) and you would wait.
We put this down to a lack of staff - two ladies trying as best they could but unable to cope with demand. This seems to signify that the hotel is cheap. Happy to take your money but not so fussed about customer service and good value.
The free wifi didn't work - after speaking with three separate staff who told us it basically was our fault for having an IPad - someone must have called the provider and we had wifi two days of our 5...right before we left.
The suites were old and when set temperature above 66 the room stink with old carpet. They were generally clean - however the kitchenettes were not appropriately stocked with crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils to actually make much more than a basic meal. Very poor for the price. Don't trust your travel agent. We won't be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of this property is perfect. Close to the gondola, stores, restaurants and casinos. Really no need to drive anywhere.
We had a 2 bedroom suite, quiet and comfortable. Kitchen was adequate, bathrooms clean. The heating in our suite worked great.
The rooms are not "dated", like some of the reviews say, they have been remodeled.The rest of the property was cold with single pane windows and entrance doors that don't shut all the way, but i think that its a work in progress.
Thank you for offering a hot breakfast, rather than continental, my teens loved that before walking to the gondola.
My disappointment was the "warm" hot-tub.
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is what really sells the property, it is really close to the gondola and in the centre of Heavenly village which has everything you would need.

I stayed in a one bedroom suite and the whole space was generously proportioned. The decor is a little dated (I couldn't figure out whether I was in a recently renovated room or not). For some reason we didn't have a bath in our room and were put in a disabled room so I wasn't that impressed with the bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable, however, the sheets are too small for the bed (you cannot even tuck them in under the mattress) so as soon as you get into bed they are wrapped around you which makes for a very frustrating night's sleep. Another reviewer also commented on the lack of warm bedding and I have to agree. There was a sheet and two thin blankets provided which meant we had to keep the heating pumping throughout the night. The heating sounds like its from the 1940's and is extremely noisy.

The breakfast was pretty good for a 3* and the staff were friendly and helpful.

I like the suites for their location and size but I wasn't blown away by the decor or some of the smaller details.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.