We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Took a gamble on hotwire and pleasantly surprised with the outcome.

Great location and resort is well laid out (parking convenient, low rise, 2 pools).

Didn't realise breakfast was included which was an extra bonus.

Staff very helpful and they have a good green incentive program (decline daily cleaning for wine!).

It's an older style property so don't expect flat screen tvs etc but for price we paid, I was very happy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Mike,

I am delighted you took a gamble and won a good experience at our beautiful resort in downtown South Lake. Our green clean program is a very popular and unique program that we are very proud of. Next time you are in the area take a look at our website as we run many promotions throughout the week. We are getting ready to receive the last of our new furniture throughout tis fall to complete our 2012 room renovation/remodel.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    139
    70
    45
    30
See reviews for
213
107
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was spacious and clean, the resort common areas were newly renovated, and the service was spectacular! We even got a free bottle of wine from the front desk when we signed up for their new program for water/resource conservation. I would definitely come back for another visit. Loved it...

Room Tip: Get a mountain view, if possible. Quiet room with a beautiful view of Heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear MS 1981,

It was a pleasure to meet you and your finace' last week. I know the concert must have been a blast and hopefully the casinos were in your favor? Let us know when you can sneak away to Tahoe for another getaway to the Lake.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Four good friends stayed for an extended weekend in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath room that was as large as a condo. It was updated and our kitchen allowed us to enjoy meals in the room if we liked. A continental breakfast every morning was nice to wake up to. Just a 5 minute walk to Heavenly Village shopping, restaurants and the casinos, made this a perfect location. The staff greeted us promptly and took care of our needs. The pool and hot tub were relaxing under the pine trees and breeze. I highly recommend this resort for families, couples or just a girls weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Debra K,

I am thrilled and excited your girls getaway was perfect. It sounds like you guys had a great time just relaxing and spending quality time together. I am delighted our staff welcomed you and the pool was a perfect setting to relax. Dont forget about us for that next getaway.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Forest Suites is located at Stateline, a block off Hwy 50. It's within walking distance to the casinos, lake, restaurants and shopping. Because it's a block off the main road, it's very quiet and not crowded. The rooms are large, the kitchen well equipped, everything was very clean. The decor is a bit outdated but comfy. The pool area is well maintained and enjoyable. Having a continental breakfast before we started our day was convenient. It's nothing fancy (cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs), but it's basic and enough to get you going! The buffet room is decent size and it's off the lobby which is lovely. Beach access is one of the benefits to staying here and because it's walking distance, it's easy to get to.
This is our second stay here and we'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear five4theroad,

I am always thrilled when I see a review with so many Trip Advisor contributions. It sounds like you certainly travel and take the time to review your experiences. I appreciate everything you said and probably next time you're here, you will experience a major transformation within all of our guest rooms as beginning in mid-September to late-November, we will be receiving an enormous amount of funiture for all of our guest rooms which include ovens, tables, chairs, lamps, headboards, art, mirrors, to name a few. We are continuing to improve our property and reviews like these help us to do so.

Look forward to you next arrival,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A group of 4 women stayed 3 nights. We all found the 2 bedroom, 2 bath room to be very clean, large and quite comfortable. It is great for a family or friends as you can walk to just about everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. They responded very quickly to any and all inquiries.
I would definitely stay at this resort again.
I had a massage in a nicely appointed massage room within the gym area. Also, nice pool and hot tub very close to the room.
A generous continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The place was very nice for an older resort. It was in a great location. Walking distance to casinos and heavenly village. It is older but rooms had been updated with new furniture, carpet . Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint is that kitchens and bathrooms need better updating. Also need new, fresh towels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Dkhbskf,

Thanks for your response this summer. I appreciate the time it takes to do this and we certainly appreciate it. I've spoken with our team on the towels and every month we do spend money injecting new towels into our stock and cycle out older ones. I do apologize the ones you receved might have been older than should have been. This is certainly on our radar and we will not ignore this. We cannot wait for your next time at our resort.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yes, the resort is old BUT the staff is there to make your visit the best. All you have to do is ask! Dell is the new general manager. He prides himself on customer service. My mom has been coming here for over 50 years, so she has seen this place change over the years. There is new furniture in some of the rooms. It is an ideal place--location is great--shop at Raley's if you don't have a car (I prefer the Safeway). Full kitchen in the units! Looking forward to more changes for next year. Hopefully there will be more tables and chairs around the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Debbi,

I can’t say thank you enough for taking time with me and sharing your family’s experiences that have been generated from years of coming to our beautiful resort. I can assure you one of our future goals will be patio-pool furniture and increasing the items we discussed. I also want you to know we are dedicated to making Forest Suites better and improving in every facet we can control. Our business focuses around our guest’s memories and you certainly shared some fantastic stories with me and I appreciate that. We will make sure your experiences continue and get better every year the family returns.

With warm regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities, “Green” exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.