We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The view is worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Every year we come up to see the fireworks on the 4th. This is the best place to see the fireworks from your own balcony. The beds are only queen size and they are higher than most beds but they are comfy once you get in. It is an older property but everything works. Pool was a good temperature as well as the spa. Walls are thin and floors squeak. No tub for me but the showers are better than your average hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    122
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
103
172
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Laskeshore Lodge and Spa is fantastic! We came to Tahoe for a wedding and the bride and groom arranged for a 2 night stay for us. Since it was the 4th of July, we were unable to extend our time over the 4th - HOWEVER ... after the weekend we were able to come back to Lakeshore Inn to complete our vacation. It's set back from the noisy road. Each room has fabulous lake front views. Rooms are spacious. Super comfortable. "Rustic" decor that fits the mountain surroundings beautifully. Pool. Spa. Grassy area with a fire pit and a large expanse of sandy beach. The staff were friendly, caring and helpful. It's close to restaurants, shopping, the mountains but once in your room you'll feel that you're tucked away in some quiet location. Would we come back? ABSOLUTELY!!!! We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear people in the pool ... ask for an end room away from the pool/spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It's on the lake. Other than that it doesn't stand out in any way. Our room was small and dark, and the view was of just part of the lake, as part of the building blocks the rest of it. The bed was comfortable and the plumbing worked, but nothing about the place made me want to spend any time there except to sleep. For that there are much less expensive places right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Amazing location, the views are outstanding - whether on the balcony of our condo or walking the few feet it took to get to the water, absolutely breathtaking. Clean, pleasant staff, maintenance repaired a torn screen within minutes of our call (and very politely and professionally), when we asked for an additional fan it was delivered to our room again within minutes. Such a responsive team! The condo was adorable, well maintained, decorated super cute and was really clean. But the number one thing was the quiet. From the pool to the beach to the room it was sooooooo quiet and relaxing. The private beach is tops. Jacuzzi so relaxing. And we were there right during the 4th of July prime time period (checked in July 6th, out July 8th) but it wasn't crowded and the kids were well behaved (and so were the adults haha). The resort was "sold out" but seriously we felt like we were in our own little oasis. Absolutely will be back here SOON!!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there would be a room that wouldn't be good here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great view and private access to beach - even for July 4th fireworks. Great location - next to CVS, Heidi's (breakfast place) and watersports area. You can experience Lake Tahoe by just staying here. Worth the price - loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are lakeview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived to find a depressing parking lot behind a CVS with some shady charachters on the lot. We checked in and from the resort map it looked like our room faced a bbq pit. Well, all of that was cleared up when we saw the room.
Pros; The condo units are individually owned, ours (#124) was beautiful. Plenty of room, a nice kitchen, walk right out to the water, sunny all day. The bed was very comfortable. The location at South Tahoe is perfect for exploring the whole lake. Every area is different, don't miss trip around the lake to see the views, paddle the waters and hike the trails. Walk down the beach to dining and water craft rentals. Staff is very nice.
Cons; Cabinets are old and need updating. Lake water here is not as crystal clear as other areas of the lake.

Room Tip: We loved 124. It is called Lakeview, but right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband & I stayed here from 6/25/14 - 6/29/14; our room was on the first floor directly facing the beach & lake. When we walked through the door our mouths dropped - the view was stunning. The glass patio doors were huge & provided an expansive, perfect view of the lake & beach, which were within a few steps from our room. The pool was very nice & cleaned each morning. Just down the beach were the adventure rentals (kayaks, paddle boards, etc.), which were only $20 per hour.

The room's decor was very "woodsy," as the walls were covered with cedar siding; it was quite beautiful. The quality of the mattress was acceptable, though not like the ones we sleep on at the Hyatt. The reason, however, I rated this place a 4 instead of 5 is because of the pillows - they were AWFUL x 10! They were massive, loose lumps of fluff, which provided an uncomfortable night sleep each night. Next time, I will bring my own.

The room was very clean & plenty of room for 2 adults; housekeeping came each day to make the bed, empty garbage, etc. Sure, the exterior of the door doesn't use a card for a lock, instead it uses a key, but who cares.

The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Unless we move to Tahoe, this will be the place we will always stay at in the summer, although I don't think this place has air conditioning, which could be a huge bummer in the hotter months of the year.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows. All of the rooms have an exceptional view. If staying during the summer, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.