We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived to find a depressing parking lot behind a CVS with some shady charachters on the lot. We checked in and from the resort map it looked like our room faced a bbq pit. Well, all of that was cleared up when we saw the room.
Pros; The condo units are individually owned, ours (#124) was beautiful. Plenty of room, a nice kitchen, walk right out to the water, sunny all day. The bed was very comfortable. The location at South Tahoe is perfect for exploring the whole lake. Every area is different, don't miss trip around the lake to see the views, paddle the waters and hike the trails. Walk down the beach to dining and water craft rentals. Staff is very nice.
Cons; Cabinets are old and need updating. Lake water here is not as crystal clear as other areas of the lake.

Room Tip: We loved 124. It is called Lakeview, but right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    112
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
161
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband & I stayed here from 6/25/14 - 6/29/14; our room was on the first floor directly facing the beach & lake. When we walked through the door our mouths dropped - the view was stunning. The glass patio doors were huge & provided an expansive, perfect view of the lake & beach, which were within a few steps from our room. The pool was very nice & cleaned each morning. Just down the beach were the adventure rentals (kayaks, paddle boards, etc.), which were only $20 per hour.

The room's decor was very "woodsy," as the walls were covered with cedar siding; it was quite beautiful. The quality of the mattress was acceptable, though not like the ones we sleep on at the Hyatt. The reason, however, I rated this place a 4 instead of 5 is because of the pillows - they were AWFUL x 10! They were massive, loose lumps of fluff, which provided an uncomfortable night sleep each night. Next time, I will bring my own.

The room was very clean & plenty of room for 2 adults; housekeeping came each day to make the bed, empty garbage, etc. Sure, the exterior of the door doesn't use a card for a lock, instead it uses a key, but who cares.

The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Unless we move to Tahoe, this will be the place we will always stay at in the summer, although I don't think this place has air conditioning, which could be a huge bummer in the hotter months of the year.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows. All of the rooms have an exceptional view. If staying during the summer, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First of all, I didn't realize S. Lake Tahoe was so touristy and busy. It reminds me of cocoa beach florida, very busy and loud. It's really a ski town but this was summer. The lake was a bit crowded with boats where we were. I was specifically looking for a suite with 2 bedrooms on the lake with a pool so that's what I searched. This place came up with good reviews and nice pictures . I will admit that we have gotten used to spoiling ourselves with the nicest hotels we can find when we travel, so when I searched, I chose the highest priced place. Plus, it said there was a spa so I figured it had to be nice. We pulled up to the place and it looked pretty shabby like a motel. Again, the area was crowded with busy traffic. The suite was a bit run down but clean. It had two floors. Window screens were broken in places and you could tell the mattresses were old. I almost wanted to leave and find a better place but we stuck it out. Lesson learned, I think we would have been better off getting a nicer place that had adjoining rooms. However, there isn't much to choose from here as far as accommodations on the lake with a pool. I was underwhelmed with Lake Tahoe over all at first until we took the Gondola ride up the mountain and saw the beautiful view of the lake. Heavenly Village was fun too. I don't think we'd come back, lots of other places to visit.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a suite or multiple bedroom place, maybe best to find a realtor to rent a hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and could not have wishes for better. The location is right on the beach. Cozy, comfortable and clean accommodations. Husband used the spa for a mass sag and enjoyed that. Kids enjoyed pool and hot tub. We had a condo unit with balcony and thought it was terrific. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Views from 4th floor are simply amazing. Room was very clean in spite of being an older place. The outside is not so impressive. Front desk staff are very helpful and kind. Only complaint was the size of the bathroom. Large closets and a fireplace were very nice.

Room Tip: Higher floor for best views unless you want to walk outside straight to the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a great place to stay, we went with our baby and they even offered us the pack n play for her. The beds were good, the water pressure was great and hot! the room has the best views, i couldnt stop looking out the patio at the lake! The customer service was so good, everyone was so nice and always asked how our stay was going. we only stayed two days in may, but i wish it would of been longer! the water was cold of course but thats okay we had a great time wondering the town and being around the lake. very relaxing and would defiantly go back ! i think i booked on cheap tickets after looking for the best deal, and i got a good deal because they were having 20% off two night stay. I dont know why this place would get a negative review. It has the best view, its affordable, the staff is great, and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is lakefront - if you are on the first floor - which we were - you walk out your back slider and you're on the sand. Location is topnotch, the pool and spa are very nice. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The down side - the bathroom is very small and we could hear our neighbors above us moving around and at times it sounded like they would come through the ceiling.

Would I come here again - you bet! I loved it. It was clean and the small bathroom and upstairs noise did not detract from the fact that we were right on Lake Tahoe. Every morning I could walk out my door and down the beach. This hotel is right off Highway 50 but behind a CVS pharmacy and a restaurant so you got none of the highway noise like many of the other hotels along the highway!

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A higher room might keep neighbor noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.