We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Choose this hotel if you want great views of the lake and proximity to amenities. The rooms are spacious though there is no fridge - however the balcony is cool enough to chill beer and wine! There is construction work in the car park and the view of the hotel from the entrance is really not great. But inside it is absolutely fine. The regular rooms are not luxurious by any means - but quirky, comfortable, with beautiful views and perfect for a stay in Tahoe. There are larger condominiums nearby that are part of the complex which looked lovely and depending on choice may be more luxurious if you want more upscale. Looking around the area - there are no other places of this standard right on the lakeshore. Overall - great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to announce that all construction by our parking lot has ended! Our hotel rooms are cozy and comfy and yes, our condominiums are wonderful too! Hope to see you again next time you are in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    112
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
161
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

What made me pick this hotel was the reviews i read about the location, and yes you wont regret. On the outside the hotel is very simple there is some construction going on around the area, i got here earlier than check in time and just asked if i could check in earlier and they said yes, it was 1pm so this is great three hours before time. As soon you get in the room all your thoughts about the first view of the hotel will go away, the room is pretty, comfortable and has all you need since you wont spend much time in the room anyway, you might want to spend some time in the balcony though because the view is breathtaking, could not ask for a better view for my first time in Tahoe. make sure you get a room with lake view. Location is quiet, private beach, walking distance to the pier, across the street there is a Safeway And Starbucks which is great.
Make sure you visit emerald bay 20 minutes away you don't want to miss this amazing view of the lake, lots of places to hike and take pictures.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

one of the most beautiful views my lady couldnt be any happier, great service, room was clean, good water pressure in shower, great getaway, perfect location. We also did the couples massage good price and very relaxing, loved every minute of it, will repeat!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

When driving up we were surprised at how the hotel looked but we were eager to see the room. Great service and let us check in early on a single bed bottom floor and we loved the room. It was large and opened to grass and then lake, great view. Slowly realized the location was perfect. We were able to walk to a brewery for dinner, had a good breakfast at Heidi's, buy gifts and snacks at the CVS and gift shop, and enjoyed a burger. Two miles or less from stateline. All in all a fantastic trip!! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Though this lodge is conveniently located right off of the main drag, pulling up to this place is less than spectacular. The place just doesn't look all that inviting from the outside - there is certainly no curb appeal. The person at the front desk was really nice though, and for some reason gave me an upgraded room and a discounted rate - a suite with a full kitchen on the ground floor. The room was huge with lodgey Southwestern decoration, but the bathroom was surprisingly tiny and dingy. The kitchen was full, but old and dated. It's not luxurious by any means - but if you want some peace and quiet and a great view of the lake, this place was perfect. Be sure to take a moment to enjoy the sunset. The bed was pretty comfy, the couch was not at all comfy for just sitting and reading or something. The TV was kind of small. The patio was just steps on the beach to the lake, but the patio chairs were uncomfortable and dirty. The pool looked nice and clean and quiet, and there was a hot tub. The worst part about this place for me was that there was no A/C - you had to open the doors and windows to get cool air, and I personally am not comfortable on the ground floor with open windows. I would probably stay here again though - the price was right, and location was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great room with a view. The rooms patio is a plus, just sitting there and enjoying the view and proximity to the water, which is about 100 feet, and the breeze. The place is quiet and off the main drag and clean. The rooms have tons of room and nice HD TVs. Staff provided good service and knowledge of where the good food is. This is the only place that I know of so close to the water and with a nice patio to enjoy the views. This is my only place to stay in Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well, on this vacation we stayed at an Omni hotel, and at a Hyatt hotel. This was neither. Yes, the views were spectacular! Yes, it's very conveniently located! But, the rooms are really warn, the carpet looks dirty, you can hear all of your neighbors through the walls, and there is no AC, so you need to open up your room door to get a cross breeze through the sliding doors. On the other hand, the kitchenette was helpful, the beds were fairly comfortable. Now, would I stay here again? Yes. The view was more important!

Room Tip: Top floor is probably best so no one is on top of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.