We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a great room with a view. The rooms patio is a plus, just sitting there and enjoying the view and proximity to the water, which is about 100 feet, and the breeze. The place is quiet and off the main drag and clean. The rooms have tons of room and nice HD TVs. Staff provided good service and knowledge of where the good food is. This is the only place that I know of so close to the water and with a nice patio to enjoy the views. This is my only place to stay in Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uc4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well, on this vacation we stayed at an Omni hotel, and at a Hyatt hotel. This was neither. Yes, the views were spectacular! Yes, it's very conveniently located! But, the rooms are really warn, the carpet looks dirty, you can hear all of your neighbors through the walls, and there is no AC, so you need to open up your room door to get a cross breeze through the sliding doors. On the other hand, the kitchenette was helpful, the beds were fairly comfortable. Now, would I stay here again? Yes. The view was more important!

Room Tip: Top floor is probably best so no one is on top of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronhindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a second time in August. Having expressed a preference for the same room we stayed in 2 years previously, we were pleased to be given the keys to the room. A corner view room gave us great views of the pool and the lake, together with a nice little balcony where we could sit and have breakfast or an evening drink!! This is a lovely place and the on site spa adds a special touch. Listening to the lake hitting the beach as the sun sets is relaxing, and music on the beach adds a different touch! The staff were great and really helpful when I needed to fax internationally to my insurance company a when my daughter was taken ill. We will definitely visit again the next time we are in the area - the best place we've found to stay in the area. Thank you for a great stay!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KirstySims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This location is perfect, as it is right on the lake. The rooms where very nice and homey. It was also fun to play croquet on the grassy yard near our room, as the hotel provides that. Will diffidently return.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, as the noise from the parking lot is pretty loud on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this location for 1. My kids could open the sliding glass door and play on the beach. 2. Kids could play on the beach for awhile and then play in the pool. 3. I did not have to haul sand toys and chairs to and from my car. 4. Rooms were clean and had the Disney channel for my kids. 5. They have a Jacuzzi for me. 6. At night they had an outdoor fire pit where I enjoyed a glass of wine and watched the sunset. . 7. You could walk to docks and rent kayaks, boats, jet skis etc. 8. Oh they even have a spa which my sister said was great (nothing fancy but a very good massage). Do you get my drift this is a great place to take your kids if you just want to hang out. This place has great views. Nothing fancy but you are coming to Tahoe for the lake right? AND if you want to gamble it is a very short drive down the road to the casinos. Loved being on the lower floor because of the easy access. Will definitely come back and perhaps rent one of their condos with a kitchen.

Room Tip: Liked the lower room because we could just walk out from our back door onto the sand but some may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisagranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

You get what you ask and pay for. I was happy with how clean the rooms are. The fact that room 108 is right on the beach a stones throw away. I enjoyed sitting on the beach at nite sipping hot cocoa. Being close to everything was a new experience. I WILL book this place again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaligirlinTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was very happy with our proximity to the lake. We had condo 231 and the beach was right down the steps from us, and the lake about 15 feet from our balcony. Very quiet at night, and the beach is private, so if you want to lounge by the lake in summer (which we did) this is the place for you. On the opposite side of the beach, was a boat/kayak/jet ski rental place which we found very handy. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and you are very close to a bunch of places to eat, such as an Indian place (very good) and other restaurants.

The condo was fine, and comfortable, but you are going for the Lake, not the luxury of the condo. Felt a bit cramped, and almost zero counter space in the bathrooms, kitchen and night stands. Lighting kind of dark, and the upstairs bathroom floor had mud on it when we checked in. Anyway, would stay here again for the proximity to Tahoe, but the accomodations (at least the condos) are a bit rustic.

Room Tip: Condos are especially close to the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing