We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few steps to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Warrington, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“A few steps to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As other reviews have said, the approach to the lodge and the corridors are not very attractive, but the rooms are fine and the location, a few steps out of the patio doors to the beach, excellent. Although not really 'beach people', we enjoyed sitting on the patio overlooking the lake, but it is important to realise that it is situated out of the centre of South Lake Tahoe and that parking in the centre is expensive (parking at the lodge is free).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    112
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
161
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the lodge in May and it was everything we expected and more! The rooms were very well kept and I can't imagine a better view on the lake! The staff was very helpful and had great reccomendations. It looks like they're in the process of building a firepit by the pool, hoping it will be ready for our return trip this winter!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we first checked in we were in a room behind the pool area. We were there in May (before the season) and there were not many people there so the very nice man at the front desk moved us to a one bedroom condo right on the end and right on the beach. The bath had been undated as well as the kitchen. Overall....who cares about the indoor decor when the sunsets are so stunning! Thank you Mr. Manager at the front desk for taking care of us!!! We will come back and bring family!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in this lodge in mid June and found the stay very pleasant and comfortable. The lakefront room was definitely worth the money, with a great view of the sunset over the lake. The room itself was nothing extra-ordinary but adequate. It would be great if breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed one night at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa. The room we were first offered was at the back facing the road and smelled of cigarette smoke, the second room offered which was next door was no better. We refused both rooms and insisted on a room facing the water as that was what we had booked - we eventually got our way! Having said that the room, whilst clean, was dated and in desperate need of an upgrade especially the bathroom. This was one of the more expensive accommodations on our two week holiday in California and was the worst. Cannot recommend it and would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The property is average - on the older side, not updated, and very very basic. The rooms are also very basic - no refrigerators in case you're thinking of bringing some food. The rooms are spacious though, and we got a room on the 1st floor, right in front of the beach. They do have direct beach access which is a big plus. The hot tub near the pool is also a big plus!

The beach is very quite and private. No restaurants on the beach near this hotel. There is a water sports company a few meters away, so you're not completely stranded. If you're looking for a busier beach, go to Camp Richardson (Beacon Bar).

This hotel is about 1.6 miles from the stateline/city center. So location wise, its decent and you can get around anywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the 1st floor with beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family stayed here for the first time and we loved it! We usually stay in the casinos but our grandkids were with us so we decided to find a place on the lake.

Every room has a beautiful ocean view, the staff were all friendly and helpful.

You can walk to the pier to rent watercraft, walk a block to a Safeway, and there is a CVS in the same parking lot.

We chose a room with a full kitchen. We only used a few of the dishes, the microwave and the refrigerator, but is was great to have!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.