We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great views from your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

4 night stay here and enjoyed returning to our room every night. There is a little gas flame fire for the evenings which can be quite cold and each room has a balcony. No fridge in the room but the view from the sliding doors makes everything else seem ok. It is decorated in a kind of rustic style and is quite comfortable. The bathroom is small and not terribly nice and the sink is separate in the room. It was good not to be woken early by the housekeeping staff as happens in many other hotels! The pool is warm and there is a hot tub by the pool overlooking the beach. It can be cool by the lake and quite a few people were sitting by the pool fully clothed. The pool can be quite busy at certain times of the day and most rooms overlook the pool. The lake itself is freezing and not many people ventured in. There is a good selection of places to eat nearby and the location is very central and convenient for most things in south Lake Tahoe, including the gondola. Staff were very helpful with check in and suggestions for good places to eat etc. it is not cheap, but if you want a great view of the lake, this is the place to stay. If you aren't too bothered, there are lots of hotels and motels along the lake but they won't necessarily give you a view of the lake from your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    110
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
94
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pollock Pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What an awesome stay I had at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge!!! I live only 1 hour from Tahoe and lived there from 2007-2011 and in all my experiences in the past, I never new of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge until just this last weekend?? WOW what a great Birthday treat, sits right on the beach with views of the lake from every window!! The Sunset was the best I had ever expirenced without ever having to go anywhere. And what a lot of people would not know is how perfect the location in town is if you haven't lived there. On Bikes you can run down to Stateline for breakfast or out to Camp Richardson on the bike trail for afternoon Rum Runners and music. I can't wait to share my experience with everyone I know and know it will always be where I will want to stay, Oh and the best part I almost forgot, was how wonderful the staff was and how happy and grateful they were at all times....

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great. I needed a fridge so I was put in a beautiful 1 bedroom condo with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

They get poor because the great views and clean rooms bring it up a notch, but:
The good reviews must have been written by women or eunuchs. The toilet is so ridiculously tiny and that a man cannot easily use it. You have to hold your package up. Even my small, thin wife thought it was a bit awkward. I can't believe they even make toilets this small. I hadn't even seen one like this until last year at the casino in Susanville--I'm pretty sure it is the same model. It is worse than the typical small round toilet because the front actually is straight across, coming in a couple inches more than it would on a round bowl. The health code shouldn't allow these to be installed--body parts shouldn't be dangling in toilet water or touching inside the front rim. The desk clerk said they had a lot of other complaints, but the owner didn't see fit to put a normal toilet in there. Sorry to go on so long on this issue, but it is really hard to understand why they would use these toilets. I'm sure they lose repeat business and they could replace the toilet for the cost of one night's room rental.
They also allow smoking on the balconies so you might have to close your glass door and stay inside in the stifling heat if your neighbors light up. They said they are soon going to stop allowing smoking on the balconies so that will be an improvement.
We liked the décor but the log furniture may not appeal to some. The floor lamp falls over on you if you move the table that was apparently placed to hold it up. The mattress was way past it's prime, but not bad, just poor. Most of the room was in good shape but the kitchen window and blind were broken and very difficult to use, and the window was very loud to open or close. Cushions on the balcony chairs were worn out and the chairs were uncomfortable. It is surprisingly close to the highway so you will get some noise, but it wasn't real bad. Had idiots honking their horns in the parking lot but can't blame that on the hotel. The elevator, hallways, and other areas outside the room are mostly in bad shape. Yellow caution tape blocked the stairway door nearest us--I guess we had no fire exit. Took a long time to check in even though two people were helping the only person in front of us when we walked in. Took a long time to find a desk clerk the next day to ask questions.
Since it was among the cleanest places we've ever stayed, and the view was awesome, we might consider staying there again if we get a very discounted rate. We would have felt ripped-off at the regular rate. They have a lot of renovations yet to do to make it an average or good hotel. Adding "Spa" to the name implies something much better than what you get. Because of the ridiculous tiny toilet, we are still going to be staying other places at Tahoe to look for someplace better.

Room Tip: Most rooms will have great views, but a couple face off to the side so avoid those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We did not quite know what to expect when we booked this hotel. As we drove up to the hotel we were a bit disappointed but then when we entered the lobby and then later our room, we were glad we booked this hotel. We had a room (2 queen beds) on the top floor and the view of Lake Tahoe is just fantastic. The toilet/shower was very small but that was ok. The room decor is nice and the beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and the free WiFi worked great. It did not have a microwave but we could use the one in the breakfast area. The balcony had two chairs and as mentioned before, the view was great. A shame we could only stay one night. If in this region, we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great. We had room no. 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Signed up for a Groupon Deal that ended June 6. We decided to book toward that end to get as much summer weather as possible. It worked out so well for us as the weather in Sacto hit the triple digits. Because Lakeshore Lodge and Spa is on the beach, it is hidden from the main strip. It is behind the popular Heidi's Restaurant and the CVS which is the big, Gray building that used to be the Bijou Center. Safeway is across the street. When you pull into the parking lot, you might be thinking, "hmmm... I'm not sure"... We were greeted kindly and warmly by the desk assistant. Because it was a weekday check-in, it was quiet. Although our deal was for a queen (when they say queen - they mean ONE queen bed), we were kindly upgraded to a queen-kitchen. This was due to complaints the night before about guests in the room adjacent to our original queen room which was on the ground floor with automatic access to the beach. We were booked into room 207, and the minute we unlocked the door, it was an automatic "oh, wow!". Because it was one queen bed, and a kitchen - it was so ROOMY. It was large. It was nice, and OH THAT VIEW! When I say the view, I mean the entire length of the wall facing the lake, is glass with a long, large sliding glass door leading out to a wide balcony, two low-sitting, comfortable, cushioned patio chairs with a table inbetween. Yes. You can smoke out there, although we are not smokers. The patio has a large, CLEAN, plexiglass cover instead of railing so no view is hindered. It just opens that room right up. Our kitchen was the size of a small apartment's kitchen. Full refrigerator, cupboards and cabinets, stove. Included were silverware, plates, coffee cups, glasses and wine glasses. A toaster, microwave, pots/pans. Listen, the maids came in and washed our dishes! We didn't expect that! There was a small kitchen table you could move anywhere in the room for your convenience, and four kitchen chairs. If you are staying longer, the cupboards are available for your own canned goods and other grocery items. Also, upon entrance, was a large, long mirriored closet. Huge! The vanity was a smaller area, but sufficient, with plenty of room underneath to stow make-up cases, etc. Off of the vanity area was a separate toilet and bathtub/shower. There was a large, low lying table to place your luggage on. Very nice. Just a nice, large space between the bed and kitchen. Another small table, lamp and two chairs to set up your computer or play games. A cute armoire made of pine with drawers, and a Vizio flat screen TV with cable. There were plenty of extra pillows. The bed was comfortable. In the corner was a cute gas fireplace which was not used by us because it never got cold. There is no air conditioning. We left the sliding glass door open (has a screen) all night and just dozed off looking out at the lake and stars. Amazing. We got the two nights with Groupon for about $99/night (incl tax) and that free upgrade - what a deal for such luxury! There is complimentary coffee in the lobby and hot chocolate. There is also a coffee maker and coffee in the room. I would have no problem returning and paying the full price for this place. I was surprised how many people used the pool, which was too warm (about 85 degrees - bathwater), when the beautiful lake is right there in front of them. The water was PERFECT, and you can walk out quite a ways before it even gets up to your chest. The hot tub was nice, though.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in one, the queen corner rooms are great because you get double the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Location, location. But add to that, service, service.
The 2-bedroom condo is incredible with a view of the lake on all 3 floors. The 3rd floor bedroom is actually a little loft - with a SKYLIGHT just over the bed. We've never seen stars like this before.
Each room has a great view of the beach and mountains. There's still snow on the mountain tops and nights get terrifically chilly.
We got information on hiking areas from the staff - they must hire locals who really enjoy their surroundings. On their advice we went up to Echo Lake, took the boat across the lake, then hiked up to the ridge.
Another great hike is to go along the Lake Tahoe Ridge trail where at one point, both the lake and then Gardnerville are visible.
Also - the staff gave advice on bike rentals and then provided a map of local bike trails.
We'll be back. And we'll bring more friends next time!!

Room Tip: The condos are wonderful for a family, but the lodge itself looks to have great value in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My daughter and I originally booked in here for one night, but very quickly decided on extending it to two nights. They advertise that all their rooms are lake front and they aren't lying! Our room was on the ground floor and we had a sliding door which led to a lawned area which led straight onto the beach! The view was to die for!
The bathroom was a little small and the room could have used smaller furniture, but it was comfortable. The heating was via a fake wood fire which was a nice touch and very efficient.
Location was good with several restaurants in walking distance and a CVS store practically in the parking lot.
I wouldn't want to stay there in the height of summer or ski season as I think it could be a bit noisy, but for when we were there (mid May) it was perfect. Go for the view and location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.