We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days, wanted more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two days, wanted more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Friendly, clean, and lakeside view!
Staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating.
Hot tub and dry sauna a great plus!
Did not take advantage of the in hotel spa facility, but looked and sounds good.

No in hotel restaurant or food, but plenty very nearby.
Great location for stay winter, summer, or any season.

Room Tip: All rooms have lakeside view with balcony and access to private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    108
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
90
154
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived at 2 o'clock in the morning after driving for 7 hours in very bad snow conditions (and being jet lagged) and was very grateful to collect our key at reception as promised. We had called the hotel earlier stating we may be late. Even in our state of complete over tiredness we were impressed with the decor, size, layout and general feel of the apartment. Little did we know there was another surprise in store. This was only discovered the next morning as we opened the curtains: right on the beach with spectacular views over Lake Tahoe and the mountains. As we were there for Xmas one of our main requirements were to have an indoor fireplace and we were not disappointed. We also found the kitchen to be well kitted out and even cooked our Xmas dinner there. The location was great, just down the road from Safeway, a pharmacy and diner within walking distance and less than 10mins drive to Heavenly Valley. Had an amazing time, thank you!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor condo with direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpe
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutely magnificent location and view v. crappy exterior and lousy soundproof
To begin, this hotel (more like a "motel ") occupies probably one of the best spots at south lake Tahoe coast, which offers very room with lake view. We really appreciate this, given the price in this season is reasonable. Secondly, the the hotel is within walking distance to Safeway, a chain super market, where you can buy whatever you want with reasonable price. Heavenly is only 5 mins away by car.
However, this hotel is actually very crappy in a number of ways. Firstly, the exterior is catastrophic. As readers can tell from the pictures I posted, by appearance it is almost a motel. The corridor ( at least the second floor corridor)of the main building is really crappy, where you can see dirty carpet and rusty fire extinguisher.
Most importantly, although the room where partner and I stayed is relatively clean, I cannot tolerate the poor sound-proof quality it had. You can not only hear people staying above you walking around very often but also listen to people staying next to your room talking, laughing snoring, not to even mention something intimate between them....We could not have decent sleep for the second night( It depends on whether or how your neighbors snore or speak ...).
I really wish I could give this place more than three stars. I would have rated it with two stars if it had the best location and view to the lake. To sum up, although this hotel is not relatively expensive and has an excellent view, it still has a lot to improve. As previous tourists suggested, the condos look nice but we didn't get a chance to look inside of them.

Room Tip: Book the condo or the rooms at third floor unless you don't care about the noise I mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We do understand that the outside of the building is not our best feature. Being an older building there is not a lot we can do about it. We do try to keep your indoor experience and Lake View as the most important part of your stay. The hallways are already scheduled to be replaced this spring as soon as business and weather allows. We also had the fire extinguishers on our list to fix up and those have since been completed. I’m not sure if there is anything we can do about sound proofing the rooms but will keep looking into it. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This review is specifically for the condos that are available per night through the hotel of other booking sites. I booked through Orbitz and originally wanted a room with 2 queen beds. They ran out so I figured I could bring the air bed and gave the kids sleep in the living room of the condo. So glad we did. The condo had a back patio that opened up to a private beach and the shore of Lake Tahoe. At the time of our visit the sand was snow covered and a perfect place for the boys to have a snow ball fight. The room has a wood burning stove. Flat screen TV, huge couch and a decent kitchen. The condo is not ultra fancy but it was clean and comfortable. There was a plush Queen bed in a small bedroom and the bathroom was older but clean. We were able to purchase logs for $5 each but later realized that Safeway is just across the street and they might have been cheaper. The kitchen has basic utensils - my husband was able to buy crab at Safeway and make quite a feast. To anyone that has unpleasant tap water at home - the water in Tahoe is delicious. Don't bring bottled water just drink it out of the sink. A last note on the location - we were less than 10 minutes from the stateline casinos and 20 minutes from Sierra snow park and skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights as part of a two week trip to Tahoe and San Francisco. this was booked through Ski Safari and Lake Tahoe was our snowboarding time.

We checked in on a Friday night at about 9.30pm after a four hour drive from SF airport. We were very glad to get to our room (115) which was a corner suite with views straight onto the lake from both sides.

Room had a kitchen, bedroom area with sofa, table and chairs, bathroom etc. There was a lovely big bed but the best thing was that the room had its own fire..gas..which could be turned on and off easily. this meant that when coming back from a days snowboarding and we needed to warm up..we could turn it on and warm up instantly.

Staff were very helpful with every enquiry we made including recommendations for excursions, travel advice and more.

Points to note
1) safety deposit boxes are free and stored behind reception. you can access these any time you like with a member of staff as they hold a second key
2) about a two mile walk to the Heavenly gondola so use the free bus which stops outside the hotel at 8 past the hour and 38 past the hour.
3) hotel staff can book snowmobile tour tickets and also cruises on the two lake boats that operate. We went on a dinner cruise on the MS Dixie which goes from Zephyr Cove. this was a good trip and we got a discount by booking through Lake View.
4) this was a good base for our tour around the ski resorts of Lake Tahoe
5) we were advised of Walley's Hot Springs which was about 35 mins drive away. We visited here one evening, $30's each and it was worth every penny. spent about three hours in the hot water, watching the stars chatting to other visitors and locals.

Downside - Breakfast.
Having stayed in lots of hotels we opted for the "continental breakfast" hoping that we would either be full enough to last until lunchtime, or be able to make something at breakfast and take it with us up the mountain. Continental for us means cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, pastries etc.

Continental at this hotel is coffee or hot chocolate and stale, small pastries or muffins. We tried the breakfast on the first day..and then didn't bother again..which is a shame as we paid for it!

Also, the breakfast room was small, with only a couple of seats and wasn't very inviting.

Luckily, having kitchen facilities we were able to go to the local Safeway (big supermarket across the street) and buy some cereal, milk etc. Also, Heidi's restaurant is next door to Lakeshore Lodge and these guys do breakfast of champions...pancakes, waffles, etc etc.

For lunches we bought some meat, cheese and rolls and made these ourselves for mountain food!

So, we had a nice stay at Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, there were some really good points about this place, some of which we didn't explore such as the pool, hot tub, treatments etc and I would recommend it...but...the thing that was lacking was a restaurant for breakfast. The breakfast was poor and there was nowhere for residents to socialise, talk and mix.

Room Tip: try and get a corner room, or one on the ground floor. ground floor rooms still have the views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was searching for a place for my wife and I to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. I researched lots of places and happened upon this little gem. They have standard rooms, condos, and one romantic condo. I read about the amenities, saw that they were offering a mid-week special, and went for the romantic condo.

The romantic condo was nice. It was dated, but hey, it had mirrors everywhere, a hot tub in the living room, a fireplace next to the hot tub, a fully equipped kitchen, and an outside patio that was right on the beach! My wife got up each morning and sat in the living room, looking out at the view of the lake and surrounding mountains.

The only drawbacks to the condo are that you could hear people walking in the condo above and wood for the fireplace was not provided. Wood was available for sale at the front desk but we just went to a store to get some. You also have to go to the front desk to request matches.

As for the service itself, I spoke with two different staff members by phone before arriving. I asked where I could get gift baskets, asked for romantic restaurant recommendations, and asked if they could deliver flowers to the room provided I had the flowers delivered to the lobby. They were very personable, and extremely helpful in planning the finer details of this trip! They were also kind enough to allow us to check out a little later than usual.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the place is not easy to find. It's tucked behind a busy street and there are lots of potholes on the way in. In addition, breakfast is included but it's not much. There's coffee and hot chocolate, apple juice, some standard muffins, and fruit. After the first day, we decided to eat breakfast elsewhere.

I definitely plan to come back to this location; a very enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Get the romantic condo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miaoli Tw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location+++ Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Fireplace in the room was special.

Some reviews said that it's a little bit of out of date, but overall, I felt it's quite good. Besides, waking up in the morning and seeing Lake Tahoe just outside was really wonderful. Couldn't wait to run to the beach although it's winter and there were snow and ice on the shore :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;