We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good facilities and amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, good facilities and amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an unexpected extended stay here the staff ensured we kept the same good rate we have from Expedia. The tea and coffee facilities in the common room were lovely, the fire blazing was wonderful. The room was charming, basic but clean with a great shower and decent towels. The only complaints was that the floorboards are creeky so the noise from the people above was evident. The glass balcony front enhanced the lakeside view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    90
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
75
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The place is a bit dated but with the recent renovations the rooms are a little more modern. The rooms and furniture are clean. After skiing we always enjoy hitting the hot tub. The best part is the views. Stunning. Overall for the rates are very affordable considering that you are sitting right on the beach with the most amazing sunsets. I have been coming to this place for years. When I come to ski at Heavenly, I'm staying here.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good. Ask for a room on the top floor so you get the best views and no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were thrilled, we arrived in Lake Tahoe from San Francisco and found this place.
We couldn't believe the room with a porch directly onto the sand.
Absolutely beautiful view of the sunset.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Plus found a funky cafe for breakfast behind.
Interesting decor especially the bed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is an enigma. It has incredible views from every room, but the rooms themselves are in need of some serious renovation -- in Particular old-fashioned popcorn ceilings and sinks that are decrepit. The lodge is actually two different buildings -- one with typical hotel rooms, and the other condos. The lodge room decor is typical Tahoe mountain kitsch with bear lamp fixtures, quasi Indian artwork, knotty pine furniture and mock fireplace heaters. Some of the condos are much nicer and have unique art because they are privately owned by the condo owners. Although, some of the condos are not as nice as others. Condo bedding can be much more comfortable, depending on how the owner has maintained their unit. In the lodge rooms the beds are springy (at least, mine was) and not all that comfortable. In addition the lodge rooms have very thin walls; I was up half the night hearing the neighbor next-door snoring and he set his alarm of course for 6 AM. No such thing as a private conversation here. Pool needs new decking but nicely heated. If it weren't for the incredible location being literally on the shore, I don't know that I'd stay here again, except maybe in a condo. However, the fall rates are really good and I can think of no other place on South Shore that is on the water. One other thing: the lodge is a tad hard to find -- poor signage, located behind CVS and Heidi's restaurant, not easily visible from the highway. Also, if you haven't been to Tahoe in a while, there's been ongoing construction on the highway making access to properties difficult; so expect delays. Overall, it's an old lodge with some really nice features. Just ignore its faults and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have recently updated the hotel rooms with the new mountain lodge decor, new carpet, paint, and bedding. Believe it or not those sinks are only 8 years old. We are currently looking into options for replacements. As far as the condos go they have all been nicely updated recently as well. Though we would love to have a bigger sign, our sign is the biggest the city will allow. Construction is always a challenge but is winding down and we will have nice new sidewalks, gutters, and freshly paved hwy right through town. Good news is we are off the highway on the beach and away from the noise. We do not profess to be a high end fancy property and realize that we are not for everyone. We hope that the location, value, and service can offer a wonderful Tahoe experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this expecting a rather more upmarket property, but found it to be more "motel" than "lodge & spa" - though there is a spa on the property. The approach on the edge of a car-park and the style and condition of the building rather let it down. We also did not particularly enjoy the unusual log-cabin style furniture, especially the bed, which meant you have to climb in and out over a pole!. However, the location is excellent, with fabulous views. A good size pool was what we were looking for for a mid-trip rest and this was just the ticket. Unfortunately our first night was spoiled by the noise from another room who seemed to be partying into the early hours. Earplugs were required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so sorry to hear your expectations were not met. We always tell folks “don’t let the drive up fool you” Once you are in your room and enjoying the fabulous view the parking lot will not matter. Surprised to hear about the log pine furniture as most folks enjoy the rustic lodge look and feel. Sorry to hear about your neighbors, sometimes we just can’t avoid things kinds of things. I never travel without ear plugs! Glad you did enjoy your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights of our 3 week tour of California at the Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa. Don't be fooled by the first impression you get because it feels like your staying in a carpark. Once you get to your room, what a view, it's priceless! The staff were excellent. The room was large, although it had a very small bathroom. Lovely feature of a log burner too. So relaxing and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent our 39th wedding anniversary here. It was wonderful!! We loved the cabin decor and the view of Lake Tahoe was spectacular. The sunset was so beautiful that an employee came out to take a picture. He said he sees then everyday but this one was really special. The hotel is a little hard to find,behind a CVS, but that is a plus. It is a small , older place, so not crowded. The beach is right outside the back door. Staff friendly and helpful. As I said the property is a liitle older, but clean rooms. We had a kitchen in the room and although we ate out, we brought our own wine to enjoy on the balcony. Wine glasses were in the cabinets. Will definately be going back. Stayed off season and price was great. Did not use the hot tub or pool, but other people seemed to be enjoying it. There is a little souvenir shop in short walking distance from parking lot (next to the CVS) that has some nice things if you are bringing goodies home to friend and family.

Room Tip: corner rooms are priced higher because they have two big windows in the corner, but the view from si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe
Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.