We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real value....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
1 review
“A real value....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place is a bit dated but with the recent renovations the rooms are a little more modern. The rooms and furniture are clean. After skiing we always enjoy hitting the hot tub. The best part is the views. Stunning. Overall for the rates are very affordable considering that you are sitting right on the beach with the most amazing sunsets. I have been coming to this place for years. When I come to ski at Heavenly, I'm staying here.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good. Ask for a room on the top floor so you get the best views and no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James10XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were thrilled, we arrived in Lake Tahoe from San Francisco and found this place.
We couldn't believe the room with a porch directly onto the sand.
Absolutely beautiful view of the sunset.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Plus found a funky cafe for breakfast behind.
Interesting decor especially the bed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is an enigma. It has incredible views from every room, but the rooms themselves are in need of some serious renovation -- in Particular old-fashioned popcorn ceilings and sinks that are decrepit. The lodge is actually two different buildings -- one with typical hotel rooms, and the other condos. The lodge room decor is typical Tahoe mountain kitsch with bear lamp fixtures, quasi Indian artwork, knotty pine furniture and mock fireplace heaters. Some of the condos are much nicer and have unique art because they are privately owned by the condo owners. Although, some of the condos are not as nice as others. Condo bedding can be much more comfortable, depending on how the owner has maintained their unit. In the lodge rooms the beds are springy (at least, mine was) and not all that comfortable. In addition the lodge rooms have very thin walls; I was up half the night hearing the neighbor next-door snoring and he set his alarm of course for 6 AM. No such thing as a private conversation here. Pool needs new decking but nicely heated. If it weren't for the incredible location being literally on the shore, I don't know that I'd stay here again, except maybe in a condo. However, the fall rates are really good and I can think of no other place on South Shore that is on the water. One other thing: the lodge is a tad hard to find -- poor signage, located behind CVS and Heidi's restaurant, not easily visible from the highway. Also, if you haven't been to Tahoe in a while, there's been ongoing construction on the highway making access to properties difficult; so expect delays. Overall, it's an old lodge with some really nice features. Just ignore its faults and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blahblahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have recently updated the hotel rooms with the new mountain lodge decor, new carpet, paint, and bedding. Believe it or not those sinks are only 8 years old. We are currently looking into options for replacements. As far as the condos go they have all been nicely updated recently as well. Though we would love to have a bigger sign, our sign is the biggest the city will allow. Construction is always a challenge but is winding down and we will have nice new sidewalks, gutters, and freshly paved hwy right through town. Good news is we are off the highway on the beach and away from the noise. We do not profess to be a high end fancy property and realize that we are not for everyone. We hope that the location, value, and service can offer a wonderful Tahoe experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this expecting a rather more upmarket property, but found it to be more "motel" than "lodge & spa" - though there is a spa on the property. The approach on the edge of a car-park and the style and condition of the building rather let it down. We also did not particularly enjoy the unusual log-cabin style furniture, especially the bed, which meant you have to climb in and out over a pole!. However, the location is excellent, with fabulous views. A good size pool was what we were looking for for a mid-trip rest and this was just the ticket. Unfortunately our first night was spoiled by the noise from another room who seemed to be partying into the early hours. Earplugs were required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so sorry to hear your expectations were not met. We always tell folks “don’t let the drive up fool you” Once you are in your room and enjoying the fabulous view the parking lot will not matter. Surprised to hear about the log pine furniture as most folks enjoy the rustic lodge look and feel. Sorry to hear about your neighbors, sometimes we just can’t avoid things kinds of things. I never travel without ear plugs! Glad you did enjoy your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights of our 3 week tour of California at the Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa. Don't be fooled by the first impression you get because it feels like your staying in a carpark. Once you get to your room, what a view, it's priceless! The staff were excellent. The room was large, although it had a very small bathroom. Lovely feature of a log burner too. So relaxing and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCool3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent our 39th wedding anniversary here. It was wonderful!! We loved the cabin decor and the view of Lake Tahoe was spectacular. The sunset was so beautiful that an employee came out to take a picture. He said he sees then everyday but this one was really special. The hotel is a little hard to find,behind a CVS, but that is a plus. It is a small , older place, so not crowded. The beach is right outside the back door. Staff friendly and helpful. As I said the property is a liitle older, but clean rooms. We had a kitchen in the room and although we ate out, we brought our own wine to enjoy on the balcony. Wine glasses were in the cabinets. Will definately be going back. Stayed off season and price was great. Did not use the hot tub or pool, but other people seemed to be enjoying it. There is a little souvenir shop in short walking distance from parking lot (next to the CVS) that has some nice things if you are bringing goodies home to friend and family.

Room Tip: corner rooms are priced higher because they have two big windows in the corner, but the view from si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookacheeka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have read so many reviews about needing a facelift, but I found the hotel to be extremely clean and the rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen had a new floor and counter top, plus was stocked with all items you would need. We were on the 3rd floor. If they remodel everything, the cost of the rooms would double. I loved it just as it is.
As stated by most, the view from the large balcony was fantastic. The beach was larger than all the surrounding properties ( all charge higher rates) and was very well kept. A huge plus was the pool and hot tub on the beach. Everyone at the desk was friendly and helpful. They even found my lost sun glasses. I will definitely return and bring my entire family.
The one problem was the entrance behind a strip mall. The mall was also the view from our kitchen. We just closed the blinds. Once you enter the property, however, it is beautiful. Just concentrate on the lake side of the property and you will experience the beauty of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The kitchen was a great addition. We enjoyed the upper floors with balcony. Better view and more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiebird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We couldn’t have said it any better. Thank you for your comments and please do come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#25 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Bal Bijou Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing