We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Older Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village to your Saves list
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Rancho Cordova, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Older Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 night in May while hiking Mt. Tallac. The rooms are older but clean. We had a Jucuzzi tub for two in our room and it was great for relaxing after hiking. The bed was pretty hard - but we always bring a queen size air mattress just in case we need one. There was plenty of floor space for the air bed in the king room. The breakfast isn't much just packets of oatmeal, small pastries, coffee and orange juice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all we enjoyed our stay and will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 133 is one of the few room with a jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A simple but enjoyable stay. We arrived in the off season so it wasn't tremendously busy around the town as the gondola was closed so the rates were fantastic. The bathroom was a little dated and rather small but the room was everything we needed. The continental breakfast that is included is good just wish it was open 11am not 10am. The girls in the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Overall a nice place to stay in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice Hotel clean, a little older, but great price and very close to Gondola. Owners are there and are responsive to your needs if you have any issues. Hot tub for the end of a long skiing day. Breakfast is comped but is not elaborate. Mostly some rolls, oats, cerals, fruit, etc. Don't expect omelettes and hashbrowns bacon and sausage. Would stay here again. We did not rent a car so about a three or four block walk to the Reno airport bus station / shuttle.

Room Tip: First floor if your have to lug ski equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is a really great stay. I've stayed here 10 times in the last 4 months and everytime it has been great. Stay in room 223 if you want a room with no noise. Ask to stay in the back. Party in the front, quiet in the back. Just a reminder, the breakfast is very simple, it's the nice room you are paying for. When you are in Tahoe give this place a try.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to the Blue Lake Inn for over 10 years without any problems, and have always enjoyed our stay and accomodations.
That was up until Last Saturday March 1st. We were charged an extra $150.00 for smoking in our room. We did not smoke in the room. We had an ashtray outside
the room on the porch. We are being told by Randal that there were ashes inside the room and that the room smelled of smoke. Complete BS.... Ashes in a room do not signify that we were smoking in the room. And the room smelled bad upon our arrival. If we had smoked, or damaged the room in anyway, I would have no problem paying thses charges, but that is not the case here. If this is how your hotel wants to conduct its afairs buy ripping off your customers then it's my new goal in life to make sure that everyone knows how we are being treated. Social Media is a powerful tool, and I will use it to make sure everyone who stays there or future customers will know how we were unfairly treated. Heres to Bad reviews and really bad management....

Room Tip: The management treated us like CRAP. Said they had pictures and proof that we smoked in the room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was quite surprised! My room was nice, clean and quiet. The king room had plenty of space and the internet was great. A fridge and microwave was a nice plus. I was greeted by a super friendly host at the front desk and James the manager was very hospitable and gave suggestions on places to see. On the downside though, the a/c, heater units in the rooms are very noisy and the T.V's need an upgrade. The breakfast is simple with doughnuts and coffee. I have driven past this little gem many times and have never stayed. I would say comparing the 20 plus little motels I have stayed at here in village next to Heavenly, I would rate this one a 9 out of ten. I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall got a great rate and it was very convenient. Stayed here during the summer but I will probably stay here for the ski season as we'll.

My only gripe was the room clearly used to be a smoking room and still smelled like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village

Address: 944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.