We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bluelake Inn at Tahoe to your Saves list
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I Spent only one night with friends. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is not much to say. Very basic, reasonable price and good location ( close to Casino, ski lift, commerce, restaurants and beach). Rooms offer microwave and minifridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
49
50
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Timber Cove Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed at this place a half dozen times, with the exception of last week, all stays have been during peak ski season. We drove in unreserved midday Mon, place was empty save for 3-4 rooms rented. Manager priced the room cheap, $39 for a double queen, room didn't smell, bathroom was clean, all ammenities worked, beds were a little hard but both my wife and I slept well, breakfast was simple as others stated but on time, donuts were fresh, when I went in for seconds on the coffee I noticed they had replaced the donut I'd taken earlier, the decanter ran out mid cup and was replaced immediately. In this day and age of overpriced everything it was the best hotel value I've had in years. As mentioned by other reviews, location is superb.to casinos, restaurants, and Heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Paid 53$ for a night and it was worth the money. There is no breakfast included or if they say so it is just a coffee and oatmeal.
Rooms are a bit worn and torn but you get what you pay for. Checked in and was told where to find nice restaurants and what to do. You get free access to the beach.
Slept well, took a good shower (old bath room) and enjoyed the free coffee.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place was dirt cheap the week we were visiting Lake Tahoe so we couldn't resist booking a couple of nights. I think the location was the best part... this is about 2 blocks off the main drag so you don't have to listen to truck traffic the entire time.

The kids had a great time in the pool and in general everything was fine. Don't stay here for an entire week, but I would definitely recommend it for a 1-2 night stop through at Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location was great. Able to walk to the lake easily and quick access to the casinos/nightlife. The room itself was clean. The beds, as many of the other reviews say, are terrible. They are super hard. At least we planned ahead and brought our own pillows. The bathtub was peeling paint and the shower head is super low, but the place was otherwise clean and quiet, so if you can get over the firm beds I would recommend this place. The room had a fridge and a microwave, which were handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel provides access to a private beach section on the lake, but it's a walk to get to it. When they advertise that breakfast is served each morning they fail to provide details - coffee and donuts only, and if you get there in the late morning hours, all the food is gone or has been picked through. So if you want to sleep in and have a healthy breakfast, this is not the dining place for you & your family.
Traffic is horrible in this area because the hotel is located in the most densely populated area with all the hotels and casinos. For example, Google maps states that it take about 15 minutes to get to Emerald Bay (highlight of Tahoe) from the hotel and it actually took over 1 hour!
Rooms are clean but small.

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room so you do not have to hike up the stairs all the time. Do NOT drive to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Lake Tahoe and it was a pretty average place. Nothing special but clean and spacious. Towels were a little small and the included breakfast started too late for us and was supposed to be coffee and doughnuts - not my ideal start.
Free access cards to the beach and a small pool ok for a night or two

Room Tip: pick one that doesn't get too much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.