We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot! Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village

Save Saved
You added The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
1 review
“Great Spot! Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed in various pet friendly places in the South Lake Tahoe area. The Blue Lake Inn did not disappoint! Extremely friendly and helpful staff ! Comfortable and clean!! Will go back and back and back!!! So close to skiing and shops and restaurants! Thank you to a great manager Don!!! See you on our next trip to Tahoe!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    55
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights with my honey. Arrived late and although office was closed, they had left us an envelope with room keys and instructions in the mailbox.

Room was clean and bigger than normal. King bed was perfectly comfortable. Stayed in room 109. No odors and room was totally spotless. We were in a non-smoking room and it did not smell at all like cigarettes, which was great.

Didn't hear any guests or see/hear/smell any pets as this is the non-pet side of the building (the pet side is confined to the other building I think). So, don't worry about the pet issue if you're staying here, you probably won't notice them.

Walked both days and nights into town, and to gondola to ski. Literally this is the closest to town and to the gondola I have ever stayed. It was very nice to be able to just walk a block to the lifts/shops.

TV worked great, we watched a show one night. Room had a microwave and refrigerator. Ammenities included soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, a free sample of Tom's of Maine deodorant, plenty of towels of many sizes, hair dryer, coffee maker and coffee items (we made coffee and it worked fine), etc. We did not have maid service but they were prompt to clean in the mornings if you wanted it.

Bed was comfortable - I have had better and worse. It seemed clean enough though and overall the place was cleaner than many many other hotels in the area - it somehow didn't feel as old either. Slept well and didn't hear any neighbors or noise, since this is off the main strip.

Hot tub and pool: we went in the hot tub which was plenty hot but we couldn't get the jets to work. They clearly could improve this area a bit, but since we had a nice soak outside in the late afternoon, I can't really complain.

The lady at the front desk was kind. We didn't go to the breakfast but she said they had donuts and coffee. They also had free granola bars at the front desk at all hours...kind of a nice treat.

Overall highly recommended for budget travelers. Much much better than many of the other properties in the region.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109 - faces the parking lot on the ground floor for easy loading/unloading of gear. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you're a high maintenance and super luxurious traveler, you might disagree with all the other ratings on this place.

Simply put, the Blue Lake Inn is in an incredible location and offers an economical rate without sacrificing cleanliness.

The best part about this inn is most definitely the location- you're in walking distance to the Gondola and casinos without being on the main road.

The rooms on either side of us were occupied, but noise was not an issue. We were on the first floor close to the office, and probably the only slightly off-thing was either closing the curtains and limiting our light, or noticing all the other guests walking by our window/giving them a peak into our room. But still, not a huge deal.

Yes, the breakfast is minimal. I only went to check it out one day and enjoyed a donut, instant oatmeal, an apple and a cup of hot water.

It's a perfect spot for if you need a place to crash that's in walking distance of the gondola! Don't expect much else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this property in April 2012 and stayed for 2 nights.
On arrival, we were checked in quickly by a very friendly lady. The room had been left with the heating on and this was such a great touch as the weather was freezing at the time!
The room was well equipped and the beds were extremely comfortable, and very welcoming after a long day driving from Las Vegas on our way to San Francisco!!
The whole room was clean and tidy and met our expectations.
The breakfast room is a little on the small side for the amount of people it had in it when we used it, but there was a decent selection of food, hot drinks, pastries, cereal, fruit, all replenished regularly.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it and would use it again ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I think other reviewers are right - you get what you paid for. If you have the right expectations you'll be satisfied with your experience. Get your expectations a little to high and you'll be disappointed. It's a cheap place with clean sheets very close to everything - the shopping, the lake, the casinos, and the restaurants. The rooms are meh, there was a little fridge there though and like I said the sheets were clean and the bathroom was palatable. If you stay on the first floor though you'll have to keep your curtains closed the entire time. But when we travel we never spend much time in our room anyway so we didn't mind that that much. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

I would even give this place 4 stars because of the price for the location if it wasn't for "breakfast". Now they say they offer continental breakfast. Well, my husband and I went in the kitchen the first morning we were there and "breakfast" consisted of bad coffee, apples, some instant oatmeal (I think) and donuts. Now, what's wrong with donuts, you might ask? Well, first of all, I would like something a little more nutritious and healthy (yogurts would work) and second, the average age of a donut must be younger than 7 days old. Those donuts were waaaay past the acceptable age of maturity. And when I went into the kitchen to wash my apple I saw another crop of donuts sitting on the counter under a towel waiting to be served to unsuspected travelers in a week or so. Needless to say we got our breakfast somewhere else after that. My question is why bother? It would be better not to offer any breakfast at all then a week old donuts. No one expected made to order omlettes but at least make it palatable.

Will probably stay there again but will steer clear from breakfast.:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Location for skiing, a short 2 block walk to the Heavenly Gondola and close to casinos, bars, and restaurants. Inexpensive basic hotel ($50 a night or so) good beds, so-so pillows, heavy curtains, and decent walls. The sheets, bathroom, sink, microwave and fridge were clean and maid service was good. The breakfast was so-so, juice, coffee, milk, oatmeal, and fresh doughnuts. Wi-Fi was about 2meg up and down so good enough for most except for streaming HD. The staff is nice, I have stayed here three times and while not exciting it has been consistent. The hot tub while small was plenty hot and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcola
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is decent for the price. We paid about 50 dollars a night through booking with Heavenly Village. I would not pay any more than that. The rooms are very outdated and not welcoming. The continental breakfast has old donuts and coffee. One good thing about the hotel is that the staff are very friendly and are willing to help you with anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village

Address: 944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.