We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed here in jan 12 over peak time. Budget motel handy location close to ski lifts. rib, pizza bar next door . safeway up the road you can buy prepared food which is handy. i would stay here again because lake tahoe is such a great place to ski

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
dmlandis, We have homemade cake now for breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    51
    38
    35
See reviews for
73
72
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lake Tahoe is filled with older motels like the Days Inn. In fact many of these older motels have not changed since the 1970's. We understand that South Lake Tahoe is a tourist destination and that most people are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed and a hot shower and that anything more is a bonus. If this is what you are looking for, the Days Inn is not your place. It is not a fair deal for $175.00 and it is not a far deal at $150.00. In fact it is not a good deal at $100.00 or $75.00 or $50.00. Our best guess is that it would be fairly priced at $29.00. The room was not clean, the bed was not comfortable and there was NO hot water - maybe a little warm water but not much more. We are not 100% sure if someone had the wrong room or if they were trying to break into the room but either way we had trouble getting back to sleep. The guy at the Front Desk was quite honest and shared some stories about the property and the owners. We were quite amused. I don't think that we would stay here again, even if they had the last available room in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here about 4 years ago. Seem to remember it was ok and cheap so I booked here again. Basically your average motel. Carpets were kinda dirty and stained. My bed had a big sag in the middle but I was really tired so it didn't matter a whole lot. It was quiet cuz there were barely any other rooms rented that night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We travel ten to twelve weeks per year and we rarely post reviews but the Days Inn Lake Tahoe cried to be reviewed. The Days Inn was not safe for my family and I doubt that you would feel any different. I would strongly recommend that you stay away from this property. We stayed one night and left the next day even though we paid for three nights - it was that bad. For starters the room was infested with bugs - both the bed and the bathroom. The furniture, carpet and drapes were filthy and disgusting and if this was not enough a man broke into our room in the middle of the night. We were told that this happens from time to time but since no harm was done it makes "no sense to get excited". We asked to speak to the owners and we were told that this is impossible - they refused to talk to me in person - refused to take my phone call - and to date have not answered my email. I almost forgot - there was no hot water so I hooe that you like ice-cold showers. There is a terrible plumbing problem and part of the carpet in the room was soaking wet. This property wins the Gold Medal as biggest travel disaster of 2012. Take care - and stay away from the Days Inn Lake Tahoe.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Rooms: The beds and bathroom are clean. Rugs a bit dirty, I wouldn't recommend walking barefoot on them. It looks as if the bathrooms have been cleaned up and remodeled. It is a stand up shower. Not sure if the bathroom layout is any different for the larger rooms. I had a room with 2 double beds. Walls are thin. You can hear your neighbors and if you have a room nearer the street, you'll definitely hear all the cars zinging by.

The Service: Just average, again not the Ritz. The check in and check out was a breeze.

A note: Parking is plentiful, but layout is a bit odd. In most cases, you can end up parking right in front of your room. However, when trying to exit, can be a tight squeeze especially if your rooms are on the left side of the inn (when you're facing the inn from the street). Also, they say they have a continental breakfast. Wouldn't plan on getting full from it. They put out orange juice, coffee and milk with two kinds of cereal. As for the pastries, it's the Svenhard's Danish kinds and they only put out a few in a basket. That's it.

Overall: I've stayed there two times now with my family. It was primarily for a place to sleep. I didn't expect it to be the Ritz and neither should anyone else staying here. When paying sub $70 per night, you need to lower your expectations. Would I stay here again, probably would if we had to.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms further away from the street so you can avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA CRUZ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Came the week before ski season, Had the whole place to myself so I can't say what it's like in peak season full of guests but I was pleased with my stay. Friendly desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#43 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#21 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#38 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#17 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area

Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.