We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grimy Carpet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Grimy Carpet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at Lake Tahoe late and made this reservation by cell phone. Check-in was fine. When we walked into the room, even though the room was supposedly a non-smoking room, the smoky/musty smell overwhelmed us. The carpet was filthy. Very dated decor. Judging from the smell, the bed coverings had not been cleaned in a long time. Because the sheets were not fitted, they fell off the beds to reveal filthy, torn mattresses. Fortunately, the bathroom/shower appeared clean. We left as early as possible the following morning; the construction noise made sleeping impossible. Of course, Days Inn could do nothing about the construction. We would not recommend this Days Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as far as possible away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    39
    25
    26
See reviews for
44
56
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are pretty small. Had never stayed at a days inn. Would like to think this isnt the norm for the days inn chain For several reasons my expectations were not met. Man walking back x forth smoking weed at pool during day in direct view from Office x some rooms.Pool has dim to no lighting at night, with people having sex and sneaking around. No microwave No fridge No iron x board No coffeemaker. Possibly my fault for not doing my research. Could have got a discount chain hotel for much less, with about an equal level of Clients x accomodations. They do have the location going for them, so i guess the franchise lets them lower there standards x policys regarding quality, room size x amenities. One plus is that the beach is just a short walk away. Safeway close by.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I must say that this is my second stay here in a year

First off check-in was great

Front desk person show me a few room choices

Room was clean and average for the price I had to pay for the night

Pool was cold but the jacuzzi worked

Breakfast did not start till 7:30 am (average normal time is 6 am)

Very basic continental breakfast

Its an older property that should not charge more than 55.00 per any day of the year

OK stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Read the reviews, thought it's a good clean room for just 1 night. But found that it's not very clean room, bathroom not very clean either. Found an underwear under the sink area, luckily hidden by the cabinet doors. Carpet not very clean, neither is bathroom floor.
Shower was ok though. Towels are worn out and really need to be retired. And one of the towels was brown color while three others where white.
Air condition makes too much noise and doesn't keep the room cold enough. And bed not comfortable. None of us got any good sleep. Regret staying here. Found out there are way better choices in Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I own a Days Inn and trusted the brand. I was going to stay in Lake Tahoe for three days. We arrived late and were assigned a room. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and essentially we woke up with sore backs. We left the next morning. The room was crowded, small, but clean. The tiled stall shower was fine. The breakfast was so lacking that we also walked out. Coffee, cold serial, one fruit juice and I think bread or a bun. The actual physical facility is an outside corridor, old style motel, looking like a 1960's Route 66 motel. I was embarassed to be in the same franchise as this motel.

Room Tip: WE went to the Best Western, more expensive, but an excellent comfortable property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Free night! Clean, comfortable quite single story old motel. Nothing fancy, but very enjoyable. Took chairs outside to read in the shade and enjoy the quiet of the afternoon. Away from the hustle-bustle of the big hotels yet close to everything. Didn't use the pool, but it was very clean. They offered breakfast with the reservation. Pleasant stay.

Room Tip: middle building is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linneleee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a few days before july 4th and then checked out on the 5th. Neil at the front desk was very helpful. Figured it would be easier to use the phone at the front desk to call and figure out why my cell plan hadn't gone through. Can't be without a phone while on vacation.
Bathroom was defintely outdated, shower leaked throuh the bottom. No bathtub which I prefer. Sink counter looked like from the 70s. Carpet was pretty dirty, should be replaced in the room I was in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area

Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.