We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Seasons Resort

Save Saved
You added Tahoe Seasons Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tahoe Seasons Resort
3901 Saddle Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96151   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average at best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in a main floor one bedroom. For two people, the space was adequate but nothing more. The unit could easily be supplied with two table settings, but they didn't even do that. Location is very, very convenient to a main lift at Heavenly, but otherwise the location is average.

Front desk staff was professional, but nothing else. The restaurant staff was above average, courteous, and made for pleasant meals. Great job, ladies!

This is a timeshare resort and like most low-end facilities, the management and sales staff treats guests like captive potential customers. I traded into the facility, so that means for all practical purposes I am an owner and I expect to be treated like it. Based on their behavior, the sales staff was more suited for a used car lot. They are focusing on older retired couples. You feel like you are in a older seniors center when you walk in. Nothing wrong with that, just that you don't have to go overboard to make a younger clientele feel out of place. They did, and I recommend that families with children and younger couples reconsider someplace else.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    32
    19
    20
See reviews for
55
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you are a skier during ski season, want to get drunk and dive into bed, maybe okay.
Room 433, single unit, double bed, hot tub in middle of room (jets did not work); have to shower in hot tub, jets with shower do not reach the body. Water pressure low, temperature low.
Room heater has thermostat but not synced with wall unit; did not know this, so froze the first few evenings.
No daily room service (no mentioned at check-in). People at front desk pleasant, but not professional as I have experienced in the past.
Supper was lucky on first night (Sunday), got 2 burgers, fries, 2 desserts, 1 soda and wine cheap white wine = $70.00 and found some foreign object (rubbery tooth like thing) in my burger. Ugh.
This was a substitute for a military auction that I went for. Sorry, but I do not recommend. We left two days early just to get somewhere to get a good nights rest and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

To start, there are bellboys, valet parking and a bar in the lobby. For not being inside a casino, this place offers quite a bit. It is clearly for people who ski at Heavenly, it's proximity to it is unbelievable close. However I recently went for a summer wedding and while the bridal party and guests had a block of rooms at MontBleu right on Stateline, I was about 2 miles from them in a secluded, romantic, quiet hotel that honestly, I looked forward to going back to every night. Even though you have the calming energy of the woods all around you, it's right off Pioneer Trail and access to downtown was moments away, as was access to getting out of Tahoe. Everyone who works there is nice. I did not interact with anyone less than helpful and pleasant. The suites come off the hallway by two doors. You don't hear or deal with people coming and going from their rooms in the night. You hear absolutely nothing. There are tubs AND fireplaces in the rooms! This place, for the price I paid was just such a treat. Far more than I expected and it will be my first choice when I return.

Room Tip: bring small bills for tipping valet and bellboys
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely not a "resort" & very lacking in amenities that you expect from a condo time share (no kitchen or utensils). The rooms have own private jacuzzi, but they are claustrophobic and structurally challenging. You can't use pool and outdoor jacuzzi until 10am. The staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First of all, I own a small hotel in Costa Rica, Cabinas Coco Azul in Playas del Coco. My place has only 7 rooms, but consistently receives 4 stars. This "Resort", is not a true resort and I would classify it as a nice hotel. I says it sleeps 4, but you would constantly be running into one another as it is a very small.room. It has no cooking facilities, only a microwave oven and a coffeemaker. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and the bar is only open on weekends. The pool area is nice, with a Jacuzzi. We are here right now, but prefer to be out on the lake as the amenities here are scarce. The staff is pleasant, but really don't offer anything special. Since there are no real eating facilities here, please prepare to bring your own silverware, plates and dishes and anything else that you might need to feel at home. Please don't exchange a nice condo for this, as you will be very disappointed. I also would recommend to management that they place a carafe of coffee in the lobby for guests who would like to sit outside and smoke. If you want coffee, except for in your room, There is a general store that will sell you a cup. All and all, if you like a mountain view close to Heavenly, it is close. I personally would not come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sixth floor, if you smoke, as there is a patio outside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There have been some mixed reviews of this place and rightly so. It's just odd!
Let's start with the positives, it's in a fantastic location at the top of the hill, it looks great from outside and even in the lobby area there is a feeling of grandeur and the prospect of a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
OK, now to the rest. Our room was on the 4th floor. The lounge was small and dark but the bedroom was a good size with a decent view.......sadly it was over next door's swimming pool. The unit was dominated by the hot tub in the middle of it, which was interesting to say the least. Navigating around the hot tub one find the kitchen area, kitted out with microwave, fridge and sink. And no cutlery, dishes, cups or any kitchen utensils. Why have a kitchen with no utensils? What could you wash up in the sink? Certainly not any knives, forks or spoons. There weren't any.
So to the General Store. They stock kits of bowls, plates and utensils, yours for 2 Dollars 16, including tax. A prepacked bag surfaced from beneath the counter, prepared in a way that made you think every paying guest dropped by to get one. The poor shop attendant confessed that it was slightly mad not to stock any cutlery etc in the room. Apparently they've brought it to the attention of the management - not often or loudly enough I'd say.
Valet parking seemed entirely pointless, nice attendants though.
Swimming pool was delightfully small for a place of its size, being marginally bigger than the room hot tub!
The pub is another peculiarity, only open from Friday to Monday. Why? Do tourists not drink or eat mid week?
My abiding memory of what appears to be a top class resort is entering a potentially 5* resort with Bell Hops, Security Guards, Concierges, Valet Parking and then having to eat my breakfast in our room from a plastic bowl with a plastic spoon. It's all just a bit weird.
But if you like a different experience, try the Tahoe Seasons. It's wacky.

Room Tip: Don't miss the roof. Loads of space up there, good tennis court and some grills. Useful on a Tue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

First of all the parking situation is very inconvenient. You have to park your car a block away from the hotel. Or feel obligated to pay a Valet service man a $2.00 tip every time he parks your car. Awkward!

Second there is not adequate cooking or refrigerator appliances in the room. Your refrigerator will not keep your food fresh, and you wont be able to cook your own meals.

Third the outside pool and hot tub are filthy, there are not clean.

The hotel staff isn't friendly.

Avoid The Tahoe Seasons Resort!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Tahoe Seasons Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Seasons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Seasons Resort

Address: 3901 Saddle Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96151
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tahoe Seasons, you really will feel 'right at home.' This 160 all-suite resort is nestled in the pine trees 150 yards from Heavenly Ski Resort, across from the California Base Lodge, one of the nation's largest ski areas, and is a mile from beautiful Lake Tahoe. The Resort offers the amenities of a full-service hotel: a 24-hour front desk, bell service and free valet parking (height restriction 6 ft, 2 in), adding convenience to your stay. Here at Tahoe Seasons Resort, we have 160 suites jam-packed with the fun atmosphere of an all-season resort and the ambiance of a romantic honeymoon hideaway. Each spacious suite features a private spa. There are two color TVs, a video player, and most have a gas fireplace. Stash some munchies in the refrigerator for later on. You've also got a microwave, wet bar sink and coffee maker for morning java. Our one-bedroom suite sleeps up to four adults, with queen bed and queen sofa sleeper. Sorry, no pets except for service animals necessary to assist individual's with a disability. Tahoe Seasons also has an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, shuffle board courts, gift and sundry shop, in addition to a seasonal ski shop. If visiting the nearby casinos is on your agenda, it's within minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Tahoe Seasons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Seasons Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Seasons Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Seasons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.