We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic amenities make this place a hit for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic amenities make this place a hit for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in townhouse 426 for several days. From what I know, the townhouses are independently owned, but managed/rented out by the resort. So, each townhouse can be very different with regards to style and renovation. Space wise, the townhouse was great, with 3 bedrooms, sleeping up to 8 people. The kitchen was fully stocked with all equipment you would need and I like that the cleaning people came in daily to freshen up the place, and start the dishwasher. The balcony was also enjoyable. I did not like that there was no A/C..upstairs floors were warm and muggy. The floors and carpets should be updated. The walls were covered in outdated wallpaper. It definitely needs some freshening up. They could use some better lighting in the bedrooms. So I would rate the townhouse itself a 3 out of 5. However, I would rate the resort amenities a 4 out of 5. The kids had a great time swimming in the pools, and we enjoyed the tennis courts. There were also kid's activities..such as making tie-dye shirts. We loved being right on the beach and watching the sun set over Lake Tahoe. Wi-Fi was so-so. Overall, we had a great time and thought there was good value for money. Would recommend this place, as long as you can find a "decent" townhouse...

Room Tip: Check all traveler tips on the best townhouse..or ones to stay away from. Ask if any have A/C units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    140
    50
    32
    19
See reviews for
139
103
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a fave to go with my mate or bring family...very spacious accommodations, love the fully equipped kitchens, large bedrooms, feels like you're at home! Gym and private lake access is a big plus and conveniently located near casinos.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Be warned. "Internet access" is deceptively advertised. Note the word "access" not "service." Access --yes possibly -- if (and I am not making this up!) you are happy to work with typical 0.2 mbs download and 0.1 upload speeds. These speeds are so slow that Internet browsing is totally non-functional. Typically these days a simple retail home connection may run at <50 mbs download and <20 mbs (i.e., some 25,000 times faster!). Apparently --after wasting a great deal a of time by being led to believe this was problem unique to our unit -- we determined that a maximum total of 100 mbs is distributed among 400 properties. Do the math. We were told and this has been the situation for years despite prior complaints. For purposes of full disclosure --although not solicited -- the manager kindly offered a refund of the15% service fees to our party's of four 4-day rentals (i.e., approximately $700), which seemed very fair. But in actuality this translated into a $35 refund for one night for one unit. We were past caring.

We found that A/C to be poor in that our rented three level town house at night was freezing on the bottom level and stiflingly hot at the top level. Windows are locked shut so there is no hope of top level ventilation. The best one can do is to keep the mid-level screen doors open to make the top level habitable.

For the money, this resort lacks attention to detail and comfort, and represents poor value.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We checked into the lodge, but didn't like it at all. The room was fine, but the lodge itself is right next to a busy road, and has thin windows, so you can hear a lot of noise even when they are closed. We switched to a townhouse and were much happier. So this review is for staying in a townhouse only. We were here in June 2014.

Pros: South Lake Tahoe location is near a lot of activities, Heavenly gondola, hiking, West Lake Tahoe nature, Emerald Bay, Vikingsholm, Forest Trail bike path and bike rentals, Magic Carpet mini golf, and tons of restaurants and grocery stores. Right across the street is Sugar Pine Bakery which is awesome. Pool was warm enough to swim even on cool mornings. Right on the lake with a nice beach and shallow water for swimming. Clean, modern room with views of pine trees. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable living room. Good place for a family vacation. Front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Cons: Our townhouse had been recently updated, but not sure if all of them are like that. Location is near a busy street and area of town. Though it has lots of pine trees on the property, doesn't feel woodsy but more like you are in town. Pools are small.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge. Too much road noise. Make sure you get a townhouse that is set back fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We husband and I spent June 11-13th, 2014 in a one bedroom unit that we purchased through Groupon. Open arriving I asked if there were any rooms close to the beach but apparently those are reserved for owners and/or for multi-bedroom units. We were given a choice of 2 one bedroom units to look at which was a nice touch and we were glad we saw both units because the first one offered had no natural light. Both looked out over parking lots. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
The sitting area was large by one-bedroom standards and could have accommodated 4-6 people.
The kitchen was very well appointed with pots, pans, and utensils. The only down-side of the kitchen was a very small refrigerator freezer with a freezer only large enough to hold a couple of ice-cube trays.
There was a balcony with a small table and chairs which was nice to sit at.
The air conditioner was sufficient for the living room.
There was a large flat screen TV with DVD player and a choice of DVDs to rent in the lobby.
The beach is close and very long with equipment to rent and a snack bar. The pier was also nice to walk out on.
The room had an iron and ironing board and hair dryer.
The price was right for a beach front resort.
The unit was very clean.
Free shuttle service to casinos.
You can check out beach towels.

Cons:
Although you don't really spend much time in the bathroom, it was really small and you could easily sit on the toilet and wash your feet in the bathtub at the same time.
King-sized bed which was a little firm for my liking.
TV in bedroom wasn't working but it was late at night when we turned it on so we didn't call engineering.
I asked if we were parking in the best spot for our unit and was told "yes." I found out later from another visitor that there was a parking garage with an elevator and luggage carts up to the second floor which would have been easier than schlepping our cooler and luggage up two flights of stairs from where we were originally parked.
There was construction going on in the lobby but we couldn't hear it. It would seem that it could have been noisy for units close by.
The ceiling creaked from the people above us.

I would recommend the Aston for the proximity to the beach and the functionality of the kitchen but the rooms are not that special.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room to avoid noise from above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my first time staying overnight at South Tahoe and was pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Aston Lakeside Village. Since I was bringing my dad along, I thought staying here in a 2 bedroom 1 1/2 bath townhouse would be a better value giving us much more space and easy access to the lake than to get 2 rooms at a hotel. At the time of reservation, I did request an early check in if possible and a townhouse closer to the lake if available. I did get the early check in which is why it was understandable that I did not get a townhome even remotely close to the lake since we couldn't be further away but I'm not complaining and overall had a great stay with just a little more walking. Since the townhouses are individually owned, this review is for 401.

Pros:

Location is close (walking distance via beach or road) to the Ski Run Marina and Ski Run Blvd for the Tahoe Queen and/or restaurants/shops so you don't have to pay for parking

On demand shuttle that will take you anywhere up to 2 miles. I didn't make use of this but love the idea

Casinos are only about 1 1/2 miles away which the adults can enjoy and get to via shuttle while the kids can enjoy time at the pool and the private beach

Cons:

Pool by the lake was super crowded so it was impossible to swim in that pool

Would be nice to have umbrellas you can use for the beach like the Hyatt at Incline Village offers

Would have liked to have a temperature control for each floor as the temperature between the bottom floor and the other floors is a huge difference so it might be freezing downstairs but hot on the 2nd floor and downright sweltering on the 3rd.

Bathrooms were on the small side

I noticed that there are some complaints on Yelp and many of those were staying via a Living Social or GroupOn offer. I usually think twice with some of these offers as sometimes it is too good to be true. Many times the reason why there is an offer is due to construction going on which there was at the main lodge. Not saying that you cannot get great deals and wonderful stays with one of those but sometimes you do get what you pay for. If you happen to be there during low occupancy, you will have a better chance of getting a room where you want location wise whether that is closer to the lake or on the top floor of the lodge. However, if you are there when it is sold out, you have to understand it does make more business sense for them to accommodate clients who paid full price in the more premium locations than someone who paid half of that. So just something to think about so you are not disappointed if you're expecting a lakefront cabin with a GroupOn deal.

Room Tip: If you want to actually swim, go to the pool by the lodge as it is larger and less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great location. Super friendly front desk staff. Private beach. Very clean room. 5 stars for these.

We stayed in a loft. The whole building, including the elevators and our room had an old-building smell. Got used to it after one day. The wall between next room seemed pretty thin. We shared their activities including the morning cartoon and late evening kids noises. We had a gas fireplace, a remodeled travertine bathroom and the dated original kitchen with old vinyl tiles in some areas. One burner in the stove did not work. I saw another room had wood flooring. Apparently the rooms are independently owned and different. For the old smell and dated interior, minus 1 star.

What really bothered us was the internet speed. A snail can move faster than this. On the first day (a weekend) after we spent 20 minutes on Pandora to play a song and it never came out, we gave up. Couldn't check any google map, nor to make reservation on OpenTable. No webpage could show. The second day (a weekday) a little bit better. Slow still but things showed up. They really need to update their internet. Minus 1 star for the slower-than-snail-speed internet.

One thing about the loft. Great for kids. My daughter had fun shooting paper airplanes from living room up to the loft and from the loft down. May not be so good for older people though if you need to get up in the midnight to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.