We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so -- Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $89
Ranked #21 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So so -- Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really wanted to like this place. And there are some nice attributes. But, overall, it just wasn't that great for us. My wife and 4 year old son and I stayed for two nights in the first week of June in a 1-bedroom lodge room.

My biggest complaint was the hide-a-bed. We put our son to bed in the bedroom and then figured we'd pull out the couch and sleep out in the living room since we stayed up later. There is no way anyone could possibly sleep on this thing, so don't even consider trying. I can't believe they market it as a bed. It's like laying on bare coils of metal.

So, after night 1 we asked for a roll away bed for our son, figuring we could put it in the bedroom and then we could sleep on the bed. No luck. We got an air mattress. At 10 o'clock that night, we blew up the air mattress in the living room and it promptly deflated due to the quarter-size hole in the side. We call again. They bring a new air mattress, this one seems to fill up, except we wake up at 2 a.m. fully deflated on the floor. And again at 5 a.m.

My next biggest complaint is the traffic noise. I'm not one to usually complain about noise issues, but this was bad. Our deck was completely unusable. We sat out there one night to play cards, and we brought an ipad out to listen to music. On the highest volume setting, we could not hear the music, nor could we speak to one another without raising our voices. So, we sat inside with the doors and windows shut tight.

The good thing about this place is a really nice beach area. The pools are fine enough, but the beach really is wonderful, and there was lots of space and plenty of chairs and lounges to use. We had a great time on that beach.

My advice-- Stay in a townhome for sure. The lodge just isn't that great, and the hallway leading to our room had a really funky odor. I guess the low price should've been a clue.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    132
    47
    28
    19
See reviews for
129
96
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice condo units. Excellent location. Free shuttle to casinos and restaurants. Reasonable walking distance to restaurants and bars. Gorgeous lakeside location. Beautiful view, gorgeous beach, two pools, hot tub, kiddie pool. Daily housekeeping. Only improvement could be updated bed linens and bed comfort. Would plan to stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in unit 500; 2 bedrooms, 2 bath plus loft. The basic interior decor is somewhat dark and dated (walnut finish on the high-ceiling's wood beams, dark fireplace stone, etc.). We had a wood fireplace that we did not use (June travel); we'd personally prefer the gas fireplace which some units have. A nearly-new (microfiber?) couch and matching love seat with four throw cushions were of very good quality and quite comfortable. There was a large coffee table and one large end table. There was a large dining table with six upholstered chairs, and several stools at the kitchen counter. There were four (?) resin chairs on the balcony.

The carpets appeared to be newer and were clean and in very good repair. The large (48"?) modern Sony TV and DVD player were also very nice. The small kitchen is satisfactory-plus; the (quartz?) counter tops were updated and a very nice light modern color. There were lots of nice matching glasses and dinnerware, etc. Though we did not cook, that equipment appeared somewhat more dated. The beds were OK and the linens and pillows were particularly nice.

The downstairs bath and toilet were in a separate room from the single sink with a broad mirror and counter top. The upstairs was a 3/4 bath all in one room. So, considering the twin beds in the loft additional to the two other bedrooms, the bathroom facilities are the main limiting factor as to how many friends or family might be comfortable here.

The grounds and facilities were all very well kept and staff members were all very pleasant. A defective toaster was promptly replaced. There are DVD’s for rent at the office. The beach and associated facilities are quite nice, though we didn't really take advantage of it beyond a sunset tour. We booked with pricing that made this an exceptionally good value and we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Every year for our family reunion we stay at Lakeland Village. We usually rent a Townhouse and it is just great. You basically get your own little house to stay at. The first floor you get your bed room(s), the second floor you have your kitchen and living room, and then you get a loft which usually has 2 beds. The hotel "room" you get is close to the lake, and the area it is in is like a forest. They also recently (2 years) redid the hot tub area by the lake where you get a lake view. It is a great place to stay, and close to a marina where you can parasail, rent Jet Skis, Boats, Kayaks which Lakeland Village gives you discounts on in the office. I would recommend it to anyone. I plan on staying there every time I go to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Aston Lakeland Village for 2 nights over Memorial Day Weekend and it was great! The condo we stayed in was nice, the kitchen had been redone in the past few years and had granite countertops. The extra loft upstairs would have been very convenient if it was more than just the 2 of us. The living room area was spacious and comfortable with a nice flat screen TV.

The beach is a big reason to stay at Lakeland Village. It has a great view for sunsets and is a fun place to spend the day. The location is convenient to South Lake, which is nice for bars/restaurants. You can take a free shuttle around South Lake which makes drinking at dinner a lot easier.

I would definitely return to Aston Lakeland Village next time I am in South Lake!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very happy with our lovely loft room (room 320) on 3rd floor.Comfy bed,big very well equpped kitchen,so self catering,great lounge area and cosy electric log fire,Very clean ,quiet position ,short walk to lakeside small golden sand beach and comfy lounge chairs to sit back at sunset and listen to the lake.Not too many guests in May and very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4voyageuse
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (end of April 2013), in the cheapest room with a kitchenette.
With that kind of deal (Expedia), you get a room in the hotel where the lobby is located, near the road, not in the bungalows closer to the lake, the view is not fantastic but you still get to see the summits.
This hotel is in a nice location, 5 min. away from "downtown" South Lake Tahoe, and there are 3 supermarkets in the city. Safeway is 2 min. away by car. We dined out twice and were very disappointed by the quality of the food and the price, we were glad we could cook simple meals in the hotel room. Stay away from the Harrah's buffet, overpriced and not very good.
The room was big, the sparkling clean kitchenette had all the necessary equipment (which varies from room to room). The maid changes the kitchen towel every day (as well as the sponge, I think).
Nice flat screen TV, HBO, comfortable bed, quiet room (facing south).
There is coffee and tea in the rooms, coffee and decaf in the lobby.
Large jacuzzi, nice pool, but the road is right behind it. There is another pool by the lake, but it was closed for the season.
The beach is very pleasant, the water so clear, and you can see squirrels everywhere on the premisses.
Helpful and excellent service at the reception desk.
The wifi internet connection worked well in the room, just a little slower than what we are used to, but that is common with hotel wifi.

Cons : I was not crazy about the bed spread, these spreads are supposed to be filthy, but the sheets and cover were clean.
There is also a thick carpet, even in the bathroom, which is not very sanitary (although spotless).
We had a broken faucet in the shower, but it was fixed in a timely manner.
The bath tub had a crack, but was very clean.
The price: Although Expedia swears there is no resort fee at that hotel, the hotel taxes were higher than regular taxes (more than 20%). There was no bad surprise, I knew that from the beginning, when I paid for the 5 nights ($105/night), but I think there was a resort fee included in the hotel taxes.

Room Tip: I saw there were tiled rooms in our building, I don't know if these are more expensive, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.