We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pets Stay Free!
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Older but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed on the 3rd floor with a view of the lake. Great view but traffic goes by all day long so it isn't peaceful like I would've liked. We had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room. Desk help is very nice. They have bikes for your use and we enjoyed that. They also have a nice game room stocked with books, puzzles and a few games along with air hockey and foosball. My daughter worked a puzzle one evening after riding bikes. There is a pool and hot tub. There is a bowling alley close by and I saw some people using the grill and picnic table. My favorite thing was close proximity to the beach. Just walk across the street! The shower is good too-an older shower head with lots of water and good pressure.
Lots of pretty flowers and nicely maintained yard. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Loved the title of your review. My wife said something similar to me on my last birthday. Seriously, your detailed comments will no doubt be very helpful to our readers. Thank you!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    124
    47
    25
    5
See reviews for
73
138
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Lake view from our room was wonderful. For a more direct experience, just walk across the street at the light, go down some stairs and you are on one of the lakes sandy beach edges.The busy street did not bother us at all. The motel pool and hot tub are fantastic after a day of riding bikes through the forest (motel bikes are provided for free). We used the bikes often, but It is only a short walk to delicious diners or Safeway for supplies. A bowling alley is directly behind the motel and so is a picnic area that is set up for BBQs, horseshoes or volleyball. The beds are comfortable. Good location and nice people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Your kind and complete comments clearly show that Inn by the Lake offers more than a room and a parking space. Thank you for sharing.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The facility is dated, but it was very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in the lake view rooms and had a great view. Beds were comfortable and it was quiet even though the road is between the hotel and lake. There is a Nice Restaurant next door, A wonderful Irish pub behind them and a bowling ally next door with outdoor TV and fire pit. We were just passing through this trip, but plan to return and will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the Lake View, it was really nice to set on the balcony drink coffee and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Enjoyed your comments. You touched on some amenities that often do not get the attention they deserve. Not sure if you were able to sit down and enjoy Tahoe Bowl's garden patio. This has been a great place to watch the World Cup and get a tan at the same time. We hope you will come back soon to spend some more time at the Inn.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed with our two children (10 and 8) and could not have been more pleased. Property is directly across from the lake with gorgeous views. There is a great pool and hot tub in the center courtyard, and the hotel even has their own bowling alley next door. Our kids loved it. Rooms were reasonably spacious and clean. Very polite and responsive staff. Our best stay in Tahoe. I would give it our strongest recommendation.

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We were of course delighted to learn that your family experienced an enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. It is especially gratifying to hear from a young family such as yours that our staff and facilities contributed to such a memorable Tahoe visit. We look forward to your return to the INN.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our basketball tournament was in Tahoe so we booked a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen. It was a very large unit with a king bed in one room and a full bed in the second room. The sofa turns into a full sleeper and we had enough room for a full air mattress for more kids. Two very large bathrooms, dining area, living area, and large kitchen. Kitchen had everything we needed and there are several grocery stores nearby. We spent $150 at Grocery Outlet and had enough food for three days and guests. Bedrooms are separated from the front area so you can leave the group and rest if you are tired. There is a game room and laundry facilities too. Our unit overlooked the pool which was very convenient as we could let the boys (14 yrs) go down alone but still see what they were up to. Across the street from the beach which is so darn beautiful. They have a volleyball/badminton net on a nice grassy area and two barbecue grills with seating. We had a kids vs parents volleyball tournament which was a blast. This unit was so large we ended up hosting two events while in town. One a small group to watch the World Cup and the second a bbq with about 25 people showing up. The kids were in the pool until 11pm on the second night. Also, there is a cafe as well as a bowling alley/game arcade right next door. Kids had a blast there too! We did so much in two days without barely leaving our property - except to take an exceptionally beautiful walk on the beach and play basketball. This property was centrally located to all our locations which were at the middle school, high school, and community college. We will be back here again and again. Ask for a room overlooking the pool and go and have fun.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool. This is the same building with the game room and the laundry facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed post. Could not of summarized some of our facilities and location any better. Glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to the INN.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here based on price on Hotels.com, but booked through hotel directly for an even better rate. Not a good start when we were told reservation had been cancelled by us, but no issues since other availability and same rate. Inn is very dated but clean. Rooms are comfortable and spacey. Front office staff friendly and location is central to most Tahoe activities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. Sorry for any confusion concerning your reservation. Glad you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our central location.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed only one but wish it had been more. Nice location - able to walk on the beach in the morning. The balcony was a perfect place for a glass of wine while watching the sun go down. The room was great - bed was very comfy. If it is "dated" as some other reviewers have said - it wasn't a big deal. Very clean and well-appointed. Wifi was strong and consistent.

There is a bus stop not far from the hotel where we were able to get into Stateline without worrying about parking (daughter was participating in the 100 mile biking trip around the Lake and we wanted to be at the finish line).

All in all - a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Lake View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Your very constructive comments will no doubt be helpful to readers. You captured the essence of Inn by the Lake. Incidentally, the Inn does date back to 1982 which accounts for our prime location directly across the street from the lake. The barriers to entry are quite high in the Tahoe Basin. Thus, there are but a few lodging properties in South Lake Tahoe newer that our INN.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.