We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Tampa FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights of our two week trip. Landing in Reno made this location an easy and scenic drive. Our room was great. It was in the building with the pool and hot tub outside. It was very clean and cheerful. We would stop by the office and get a coffee and then cross the street for a morning walk at the beach and then eat at the Bear Cafe next door where the food is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Loved your comments stright to the important points and yet inviting. Please come again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    113
    41
    24
    5
See reviews for
62
119
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff was delightful and very helpful. We had 1-1/2 days for our first visit to Tahoe, and they directed us to a perfect hiking spot, an amazing breakfast institution, gave us bikes, helmets and locks to take a beautiful bike ride and signed us up for a great dinner boat cruise. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked nice. Good location. While not luxurious, it was perfect for us and great value for the money. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Because it was a holiday weekend. no rooms with views were available. As we were not in our room lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for posting. We have nearly completed a very busy and rewarding summer. If you thought we were a great value then, please try us in value (most of October & November) season. Typically the weather remains very nice.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, nv
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel located on Lake Tahoe blvd with a great view of the lake. The rooms have a balcony where you can sit out and look out to the lake with a relaxing glass of wine. There's quite a bit of road noise from all the traffic on Lake Tahoe blvd ... but that can be easily ignored by the nice view of the lake. The location is great within walking distance to the beach (right across the street), restaurants, and other activities near by. Very nice and friendly staff greeted us. The rooms come equipped with a microwave and fridge, which is very nice. The carpet has a stain in the middle, otherwise the room was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake is nice with a great view. There's traffic noise since the hotel is situa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your very informative and constructive review. We should of taken care of that spot you mentioned prior to arrival and apologize for the oversight. We never stop cleaning but are about to go into our fall heavy cleaning programs in preparation for winter. We repeat this process in the spring.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Inn By The Lake offers unparalleled views of the lake which is across the street. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Rosie told us about the best places to hike. The Inn offers complimentary cruiser bicycles which was fun- we rode one direction toward the casinos one day, we took a bike trail to Pope Beach/Emerald Bay going the other direction another day. After driving (our rental car) around the entire lake we do not feel that any place compares to Inn By The Lake (or to South Lake Tahoe - the cleanest city around the lake). Pricing is fair and competitive for the area. The entire property is immaculately maintained and passes any white glove test. Beds and linens are super comfortable. Several dining and entertainment options are within walking distance. There is an on-site bowling alley and pizza restaurant, As well as Bear Beach Café (great breakfast). The beachfront park located directly across the street from the hotel offers family friendly entertainment options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and comprehensive review. We happen to agree with your title but should point out that we cannot be all things to all people. We cater to couples and families of all ages. There are some nice casino hotels at Stateline if that is what draws you to Lake Tahoe. Access to the kinds of Tahoe experiences you described are more convenient to our Inn. Thank you also for singling out Rosie, our Front Office Manager. She and her team of Guest Service Represenatives are what really make Inn by the Lake special.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just spent two nights, Saturday and Sunday, at this hotel. The cost averaged almost $200 per night. Our room overlooked the lake and noisy highway. I usually only comment on hotels I feel real good about, but this one does not fall into that category. The overall maintanence is poor, carpets stained and worn, lights out in the bedroom, stained molding in the bathroom. Nice pool and spa, however both have worn plaster, with sharp missing spots on the edge of the seats. The common areas seemed tired and worn. In my opinion this hotel needs updating. I would think this hotel would be OK if priced at about $100, but it appears there are much better choices above that. My message to travelers, shop around, to the management, consider remodeling.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lake side have a good view of the lake over the highway, however the highway is noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive comments. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. The Inn is in a constant state of renewal. We realize that we cannot rest on merely haveing one of the best locations at the lake and definitely the best team. Whether you stay in a $100 economy property or a full service Inn at $200 the produce should be right.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was taken aback by the friendliness and the courtesy the staff afforded my family and I. This after interacting with 3-4 service representatives. Other places I have stayed are often very rigid, very by policy, and strict in their offerings. Everytime I asked for something, I thought I would get a difficult non-accomodating response...but to my delight what I received was the exact opposite. I highly recommend this place, and will certainly be coming back! Thanks Elizabeth, Jeremy, and others!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Glad that both Elizabeth and Jeremy followed our Standard Opertting Procedures. Make the guest happy wether they like it our not and insure that we get paid. Seriously, thank you for singling them out for offering thoughtful service based upon common sense and a genunine concern for guest satisfaction.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA., United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visit in mid July 2013 was very pleasant. Large room, Very Large Bath. Nice park like setting directly accross the street from the lake. Clean pool and spa area. Smoking permitted on our second floor balcony. Convienent to activities yet serene.

Room Tip: Corner room had a window and the balcony on the adjacent wall. Cool and comfortable, no need for air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are more than glad you choose to stay with us. Thank you for your very nice and helpful comments.
Best Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.