We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Save Saved
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly place! Good accommodations. Not at the beach, as the title implies. Great location to visit Emerald Bay attractions. Good value. Room was basic but comfortable. There was no noise from the street. Has a great place for breakfast wihtin walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our location.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    111
    40
    22
    5
See reviews for
62
117
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don't usually do these, but felt compelled to in this case. I booked this room via the web-site from the link from the "American Century" golf tournament. The way that I read the promotion(as well as my son and wife did), we were to receive 2 tickets to the tournament per day that we stayed at this hotel. Upon arriving 3:10pm(3:00pm check-in), we were told that there was no rooms ready. As my wife was checking us in, she asked when we needed to pick up our tickets for tomorrow and was told that they have none, and we were not elgible for them as we had received a discount already. After telling the clerk that I booked this room directly from the link, and did not look for any discount, and that I felt this was misleading. He told us that for the misunderstanding, he would UPGRADE us, and he sure did!?! Our room was handicap accesible(why?) with a beautiful view of the parking lot and garbage dumpster!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am terribily sorry that you were frustrated during your recent stay at the Inn. You booked a discounted room rather than the golf package. Our fault. We will work to improve the clarity of our website next year. At 570 sq. ft. the room you stayed in is our largest with a private patio and adjacent garden that has grown like crazy this summer. And yes, beyound that is a parking lot and a necessary but not very attractive dumpster can be seen over the shrubs.

Speaking of frustration, let me expose a tad to our readers in general. Inn by the Lake works hard to keep up with the ever changing requirements of the Americans with Disibility Act (ADA). We have the required number of accessable rooms. The main elements in these units is space to manuever a wheel chair, grab bars at the toilet and bath/shower and a few other aids for those who may have special needs. There is absolutely nothing that would interfear with a fully able guest's enjoyment of the unit. Unfortunately, a misconception exists as it is not uncommon for a guest to express resentment when their room is so equipped. Three years ago we spent $7,000 for an electric ADA pool lift. This week it was used for the second time which works out to $3,500 per use. The smile on the young womans face who was using the lift made it clear that this was money very well spent.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend here celebrating our first wedding anniversary. We had a ground floor room, but were a bit removed from the entrance and never found noise to be an issue. The room was relatively basic, but comfortable and met all of our needs.

If you're in to pools, this area was especially nice, with a regular-sized pool, a hot tub, and a 'happy medium' heated pool with the spillover water from the hot tub. Great way to relax in the evening! Adjacent to the pool area was also a pretty decent fitness center, along with a game room that had a few basic games, where we had some epic canasta battles well into the night (I promise we've only been married for a year).

The main perk of this place is clearly the location. It's directly across the street from the south shores of lake Tahoe, with some prime view rooms available. There's also beach access via a flight of stairs directly by the crosswalk once you're across the road. Turn right at the bottom of the stairs for a relatively large beach area, turn left for some great sitting rocks that are right in the shade. My wife and I spent a good amount of time down here.

Also a few minutes' drive away is Heavenly village, which has some shopping opportunities, games, and a gondola ride that leads to some hiking trails and pretty sweet views. Another minute or two up the road is the casinos, in case you're looking to get your gamboooooooool on. Something to love for everybody!

We didn't have much interaction with staff during our stay, but found those we encountered to be helpful and pleasant. In fact, the lady at checkout was nice enough to warn us of some fires in the path of our intended route, which saved us time and caused us to take a more scenic direction. Many thanks for that! We love Tahoe and would definitely stay here again if we some back to the southern area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Glad you and your new bride love Tahoe. Must admit, I loved your review. You pointed out some often overlooked areas which our readers will benefit from. It would be great if you were to make a visit to the inn an annual tradition. Let me know as I would love to give your reservation my personal attention.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. Right across the street from Lake Tahoe. Great views. The major draw back for us was animals were allowed at the hotel and it seemed everyone had one. Not just dogs, but a lady even had a cat. If we had known animals were allowed we would have stayed somewhere else because you never know what is left on the carpets in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing and we appreciate your perspective on the Inn being pet friendly. Out of our 100 units we did have four legged friends in 5 of our guest units on 7/3 and 3 on 7/4. We rarely have any problems with pets but on occassion their handlers question our $20 per night pet fee. However, this is necessary to cover the cost of the extra time our housekeepers spend to insure that pet check-out rooms are dropless and spotless.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating, providing chairs to folks who wanted to watch 4th of July fireworks over the lake. The room was spacious and had a great view. We had 3 sinks, which turned out to be oddly useful a couple times. Dog friendly! The location is great, being just out of the busiest tourist areas, but close enough to several local restaurants to walk 5 - 10 minutes to breakfast or dinner.

It is about time for some renovations, given the age of the place, but they keep it clean. The little fridge was a bit under-powered in the summer weather.

Room Tip: Try to snag a 3rd floor room for a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we were pleased that you enjoyed the fireworks show over the lake from our new front lawn. As soon as we have a short break in occupancy we will be installing the final 13 of the 100 plus new LED flat screen TVs we recently purchased. With the nice increase in business we are enjoying we will continue our tradition of reinvesting in the property but at a faster pace. Come back and stay with us for the Labor Day fireworks show!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Inn by the Lake as part of our Anniversary, I got a King size room with partial view of the lake ( cut down few large trees would have full view :) )..I reserve thru travelocity , I could have get better deal if I walk up and negotiated , the place was near empty because we stayed during the week before the 4th of July.. The room was quite clean and featured ammenities such as a microwave and refrigerator, A/C work great.. Across the street is a public access beach with paddle board and kayak rental that we found clean, and a great picnic lunch spot.. The front desk staff is courteous and they allowed me a later check-out time, give us extra time to take pictures and walked the beach before we head out to the airport....all and all it was great stay, and if we ever come to south Lake Tahoe again , we would stay here ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so very much! You said it all and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a perfect spot for a little weekend getaway! We had drove all night and arrived at 10am and they were gracious enough to get us in a room immediately, upgraded us to a waterfront view and were so full of information and helpful suggestions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to accomodate your early arrival and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;