We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a much needed escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place for a much needed escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating, providing chairs to folks who wanted to watch 4th of July fireworks over the lake. The room was spacious and had a great view. We had 3 sinks, which turned out to be oddly useful a couple times. Dog friendly! The location is great, being just out of the busiest tourist areas, but close enough to several local restaurants to walk 5 - 10 minutes to breakfast or dinner.

It is about time for some renovations, given the age of the place, but they keep it clean. The little fridge was a bit under-powered in the summer weather.

Room Tip: Try to snag a 3rd floor room for a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we were pleased that you enjoyed the fireworks show over the lake from our new front lawn. As soon as we have a short break in occupancy we will be installing the final 13 of the 100 plus new LED flat screen TVs we recently purchased. With the nice increase in business we are enjoying we will continue our tradition of reinvesting in the property but at a faster pace. Come back and stay with us for the Labor Day fireworks show!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    114
    43
    24
    5
See reviews for
64
120
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Inn by the Lake as part of our Anniversary, I got a King size room with partial view of the lake ( cut down few large trees would have full view :) )..I reserve thru travelocity , I could have get better deal if I walk up and negotiated , the place was near empty because we stayed during the week before the 4th of July.. The room was quite clean and featured ammenities such as a microwave and refrigerator, A/C work great.. Across the street is a public access beach with paddle board and kayak rental that we found clean, and a great picnic lunch spot.. The front desk staff is courteous and they allowed me a later check-out time, give us extra time to take pictures and walked the beach before we head out to the airport....all and all it was great stay, and if we ever come to south Lake Tahoe again , we would stay here ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so very much! You said it all and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a perfect spot for a little weekend getaway! We had drove all night and arrived at 10am and they were gracious enough to get us in a room immediately, upgraded us to a waterfront view and were so full of information and helpful suggestions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to accomodate your early arrival and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, but the room ... disgusting. I didn't want to touch anything. The bathroom floor boards had stuff caked on them, the shower and shower curtain were dirty, the phone was grimey ... even the iron holster was grimey. We definitely will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We log all guests comments and requests and found your multiple requests to leave your pet unattended in your room. While we are pet friendly, we must also consider our two legged guests who prefer not to be disturbed by unattended barking dogs. Incidentqally, we have no record of your experessing concern with the level of clenliness in your room.
Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights they have free bikes to ride, room with fridge and microwave, small clean, staff is very nice. K cup coffee in lobby. Was able to see a little of lake from my room. Close to Safeway for supplies. Across street to lake, a few miles down the rode to Nevada .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. you were kind to comment upon some of our amenities. I am pleased to report that we will have soon installed new flat screen LED TVs in all of our units. We were a bit slow to address this area but it is another sign that we constantly reinvest in our facilities.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family, in-laws and another family stayed the weekend. We got a one room deluxe suite, one bedroom suite, and a junior suite. It worked out perfectly. The deluxe suite was the gathering room in which we the families made our cooked our meals and hung out. The rooms were big enough that it never felt small for 6 adults and two babies. The kitchen was well equipped with all the cooking pots, pans, and utensils we needed. The staff at the hotel are very nice. The hotel is located close to the Safeway, a bowling alley, a pub and family restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your kind comments were timely as we are in our busy family reunion season. It is great to see families utilizing our varied facilities such as pool, bi-level spa, BBQs, lawn games, bowling center etc. It is quite an honor for us to host so many repeat reunions.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recommand this Hotel to anybody passing thur The area.The service is excellent, The rooms are big and clean. They have a small bowling alley on the property, a restaurant right around the corner of hotel with excellent food , & big serving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Like every other lodging property, we love scores of 5. However, your comments paint a clear picture as to what other guests may expect of the INN.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.