We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad, mostly bad.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Save Saved
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and bad, mostly bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upon check in the front desk staff was friendly. After a ten dollar tip he gave us extra bath robes for the hot tub which was nice since there were 5 of us. We had a German exchange student staying with my wife and 2 daughters. We wanted to show her Lake Tahoe. The location of the hotel was great. Right across the street from the lake with great views, and close to state line. Now the bad. I asked for an upper floor so we would have better views of the lake. I was told that all suites, which we had were on the ground floor. I was not told this at booking and was disappointed. The room itself was shaped funny, and it had a 1970's type of feel to it with the furniture and layout. The bathroom layout was even worse. The sink is right in front of the bathroom door, so you got hit by the door when it was opened. When we went to use the hot tub at night the water was hot, but the jets were not working. Again disappointed. I saved the worst for last. When i used the room coffee pot in the morning, I found an old used coffee packet in the grounds holder. This grossed out my wife and I. What do you say to that. The pot also had old coffee stains in the bottom. I would never stay at this hotel again. Great views, but overall very disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not choose a suite they are all on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Let me begin by extending our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations and our standards. We have taken the liberty of making an anjustment against your credit card and hope you will accept this gesture in the spirit in which it is intended. We take great pride in our housekeeping team and are embarrased that the coffee maker in your Family Suite was not properly serviced.

Gratuties are rare at our reception desk and certainly not necessary. The Family Suite you stayed in is located on the 1st floor of our Lake Building. Wwith two queen beds and a sleeper sofa in the parlor it is the only one bedroom unit we have that can sleep 5. All of our other one bedroom and two bedroom suites are located on the 2nd and 3rd. floor of our Lake building and feature lake views.

Thank you for writing.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    113
    41
    24
    5
See reviews for
62
119
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colusa, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There were so many reasons why this trip was a nightmare. The front desk was not helpful, they would talk nicely but not offer any help. It was very strange. The place smelt of mildew and kept very dirty. We had a suite so I was surprised it was the way it was. There are also mirrors everywhere that look creepy. The bathroom especially as there is a space between the wall on the other side and the bathroom, and then a mirror. Like something you would see on a creeper show where they video record you. Given the 80's decor, the tootless front desk person, it made the uncomfortable stay even more so.

Room Tip: The rooms walls are very thin so try something on the top floor on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
This was posted to our site in error. The guest did not stay at Inn by the Lake. We are endeavoring to contact Trip Advisor to have it removed.
Regards,
Dan McHale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We Spent two nights had a puppy we felt welcome The Staff was great Karla housekeeper very nice and Lizzie at the Desk all very warm and friendly great view of the Lake. The View in Room 104 was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that Lizzie and Karla were especially friendly & helpful. It is always nice to hear that ones efforts do not go unnoticed. Please come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed here for our anniversary and I was happy to see the cleanliness of the room because she is a clean freak and when she says its clean, it's clean. Front desk and the maids were friendly and helpful. The heating system was ancient but didn't really bother me once the room warmed up it stayed a good temperature the next 2 nights we were there. I know the owners or people that work here can't control this but I've never heard so much racket coming from the room above us in the middle of the night. Sound like kids dropping golf balls on the floor and running around. Finally I had enough at 1 a.m. And banged on the ceiling and whoever it was got the point and let us sleep the rest of the night lol. I would stay there again, I feel like we received a fair price on a nice room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the high level of cleanliness we maintain at the Inn. We understand how important good housekeeping is and are fortunate to have a seasoned team that maintains our high standards. We wish to extend our apologies for the noise which disrupted your sleep. When staying in a first class lodging property never hesitate to bring matters of this attention to the 24/7 reception desk. Typically, all it takes is a call to the offending room from our Guest Service Represenative to quell the disturbance. We also have security available if necessary and we never disclose the reporting party. Thank you again for sharing.
Best regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at a dozen different hotels in both North and South Lake Tahoe, and I would book this one again.
Located across from the lake some rooms have views (not ours but what-ever) and close to the California entrance to Heavenly Ski resort. This hotel is not near the casino, and I like that.
Room had a fridge, microwave, coffee balcony and most importantly to me, robes.
We were skiing so I really wanted a hotel with a hot tub. This has 2 large tubs full of very hot water. They do not have jets, however, while at one time they did but now do now, but again, it was hot and there was space so whatever.
This hotel is next to Mac Duffs Bar, and that has some of the best food and service in Tahoe so we will be coming here again just for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your very constructive and informative review. As I write this response we are receiving a fresh layer of snow. Glad you enjoyed our hot tub. Once the snow melts and the ground thaws in the spring we will fix a broken spa pipe and have the jets back in service. Please come back again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of December, departing on NYE. The staff was friendly and professional, and the room was comfortable - especially for the price, the location, and definitely compared with some of the hotels and condominiums we have rented in Tahoe. We even had a small lake view from our balcony. The property is older and could use some updates - to the slider door insulation, to the sinks, the lighting fixtures and even the artwork. A newer TV with inputs for HDMI or other video cables. The beds were comfortable and the room was a decent size for four of us with all of our holiday and ski stuff. The housekeeping staff did a great job, and the parking lot was plowed early every morning (about 6, 'cause we could hear it through the sliding door). The on-property restaurant had a great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive input . We are in the process of updating our Lake Bldg bathrooms with new granite vanities, sinks faucets, mirrors, comodes, lighting fixtures plus some other touches. We are currently about a third of the way through and await delivery of the granite so we may complete this project. I'll post a photo upon completion. We are gradually upgrading to flat screen LED TVs and hope to speed up this project in the spring. Thanks again for sharing.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the deluxe suite for 3 nights. Checkin was a breeze, room was clean and perfect size for our family. Perfect location - close to restuarants, safeway and Heavenly for skiing. Pool and hot tub were perfect. We were in 3rd floor with amazing views of the lake. Highly recommend, will definitely go back.

Heating system was a bit arcane - had to manually turn on/off, climate control didn't work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your great comments about the Inn and our neighborhood. We are one of the few properties in town with interior corridors, central heating & AC plus great insulation. Typically these factors add up to a high level of comfort. You are right though as the heat will shut down at the temp setting but not the fan. I will renew my efforts to find a new thermostat that can address both issues. Delighted that you enjoyed staying in one of our deluxe suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.