We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Save Saved
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sister and I stayed here the night of the fireworks on Labor Day weekend. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is right across the street from a beach on Lake Tahoe. They not only provided chairs for us to watch the fireworks, but also gave us blankets to cover our legs as the temperature cooled down. What a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed the view of the fireworks over the Lake on Labor Day. Like the 4th of July this is an annual tradition here at Inn by the Lake.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    40
    24
    5
See reviews for
62
118
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Lake Tahoe with my husband. We found so many hotels, motels or lodges to choose finally a friend helped us to book this hotel. We were happy to know that the hotel is nice, clean and convenient. The location is not far from restaurants and convenient store it could be reached in 5 minutes drive and you can see directly to the lake. The room is spacious as well as the bath room. They have a fridge, microwave, iron, coffee maker. The price is reasonable even though you can find cheaper accommodation around with the same condition. They have a decent pool too. no regret after all. If you choose a room across the lake the price is higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
You said it all! Thanks for sharing your experience.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding I attended. The location is very central and it's easy to get to Stateline, NV or Emerald Bay on the west side of the lake. An unfortunate consequence of this is that the hotel is located on a very busy stretch of road. If you have a room facing the road and you want to leave your balcony door open, it can get loud. The lake is beautiful. I had a partial view in the pool building, but it's not worth the extra money in my opinion. It's true that the other side of the hotel overlooks a trailer park, so pick your poison. Parking is ample and convenient in the back. Overall, the property is nicely maintained and the rooms are comfortable and clean, if a bit dated.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are very proud of our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Thank you for recognizing them.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca, usa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

the hotel is pretty old but remodeled a bit that it looks cabiny but if you look closer its really dark and slightly musty but cleaned very well. So as to cleanliness, i rate it 4 stars. As to service, you don't really see anyone so other than checking in/out, nothing to rate. TV is those big box types. The bed is the good part. Its pretty comfortable and high. Water pressure good but water doesn't go down so fast/well. The hot tub great. The location is great, cross the street and you're at the beach. Go sideways and you can have breakfast at the Bear Beach Cafe. They have great burgers.

Room Tip: no need to choose room with a view... there is not much of a view anyways since you are across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feed-back. Sorry we failed to impress you.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Been here multiple times over the years. Whether it's summer or winter, this has been a great go-to hotel for us. Close enough to the casinos that you can check them out with ease but still have a nice peaceful smoke-free haven to return to. With Heavenly just minutes away, this hotel clearly has an overall excellent location. The 1 BR Suite and 2 BR Suite with the full kitchen really comes in handy for those traveling with family or friends. The pool/hot tub and exercise room are all well-maintained. Parking is plentiful. Free use of cruiser bikes is a nice way to explore the area. Love the onsite Bear Beach restaurant and the adjacent Tahoe Bowl. We definitely will continue to be back soon again.

Room Tip: Suites are large and have a full kitchen and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Fall is in the air and we are n the mist of enjoying a change of seasons. Come up to see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the beach in South Lake, and we thought the views weren't that great. You see a lot of cars and some trees blocking the view of the lake. The room was good for an older building but for the same price, you can get some nicer places in North Shore where it's quieter. South Lake Tahoe is just too congested and from this hotel you would have to drive in traffic to restaurants (and casinos).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your constructive comments. Sorry that we apparently did not provide you with more information on our neighborhood. We have multiple restaurants within a few minute walk of the Inn. This would include Bear Beach Cafe, MacDuff's Pub and the top local favorite in town Freshies. Across the street and 100 yards west of us is Tahoe's newest public beach and ampatheatre - Lakeview Commons. the north shore is great but there is more to do here in Tahoe South as we are closer to Emerald Bay, Valhalla and Sand Harbor. Better yet stay in Tahoe for two or more days and drive around the lake to sample the amazing sights and varied communities.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is great and very well kept with a nice view from your lake facing balcony. We were barked at by dogs occupying the third floor the first evening and by another in an adjacent room while we were enjoying coffee on the balcony the next morning. I have never seen so many dogs at one hotel. We inquired at the front desk asking if we were in the pet section of the hotel and were informed that they recently opened up all floors to pets. So if you are traveling with your pet you will most likely be pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments on the Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for being bothered by sevral of our 4 legged guests. We have always maintained a practiice that one guests activities should not interfere with the enjoyment of another guests. Moving forward we will take steps to insure that this also applies to pets. We appreciate your constructive and helpful feed-back.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.