We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be dogged...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Lake

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Inn by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I'll be dogged...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is great and very well kept with a nice view from your lake facing balcony. We were barked at by dogs occupying the third floor the first evening and by another in an adjacent room while we were enjoying coffee on the balcony the next morning. I have never seen so many dogs at one hotel. We inquired at the front desk asking if we were in the pet section of the hotel and were informed that they recently opened up all floors to pets. So if you are traveling with your pet you will most likely be pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments on the Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for being bothered by sevral of our 4 legged guests. We have always maintained a practiice that one guests activities should not interfere with the enjoyment of another guests. Moving forward we will take steps to insure that this also applies to pets. We appreciate your constructive and helpful feed-back.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    37
    21
    5
See reviews for
55
113
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Inn by the Lake the weekend prior to July 4th. My husband and I were scouting out a new hotel location. In previous years we spent our nearly all of our Tahoe vacations at a particular hotel that is closer to the Casinos.
The Pros: spacious room. The standard King room had two sinks: one in the bathroom and the other in the sitting/changing area outside the bathroom. Terry robes were provided. No charge for parking. Large chain grocery store was two blocks away. And, of course, the Lake was immediately across the street. The hot tub/spa was also wonderfully relaxing.
The Cons: The rooms facing the Lake are dark (no sun all day). We had a room on the top floor in the area where the pool is located. Additionally I found the continual traffic noise from Lake Tahoe Blvd bothersome. Granted the room’s sliding glass doors mute the sound extremely well. During the day, with the doors open, it’s fairly noisy.
Probably due to the traffic noise alone we’ll continue our search for different lodging in Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and constructive review. Unfortunately, the lake is located north of us, thus the positioning of our guest room buildings. We were delighted to learn recently that a USA Today readers survey named Lake Tahoe the "Most Beauitiful Lake in Ameerica."
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Superb location, there can't be a better view from a hotel anywhere! Loads of amenities right on site but peaceful and quiet at the same time. Lovely friendly helpful staff. Have no criticisms at all of this hotel.

Room Tip: In lake-view rooms there's noise from the boulevard. The view is so worth putting up with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Most importantly, thank you for your very kind comments which will no doubt be helpful for others. Note to readers: while we encourage guests to post their candid comments on Tripadvisor, we leave the rating number to them. It is always nice to receive a 5 which moves you up in the very important rating system. You may have seen that many of the top rated properties in Lake Tahoe are exceptionally well run small limited service motels and Inns. This simply underscores the challenge for full service properties of making sure that all their respective offerings are well done and received.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really liked being right across from Lake Tahoe and being able to walk around the lake. However, there weren't many restaurants that were within walking distance. The restaurant next door (Black Bear Inn) was fine (we had burgers delivered to our room) but nothing special. I agree with other reviewers that this place needs updating but our room was clean and spacious. We really liked the pool and hot tub. There was also a coin operated washer and dryer which I thought was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your very kind and comprehensive comments. We really have to do a better job of highlighting our neighborhood at the time of check in. On the back of our property may we have a map of our neighborhood featuring restaurants and other points of interest. In a more recent posting I mentioned 3 restaurants that are literally2 to 3 minutes walk away. Going west about a 10 minute walk we hav Harrison Avenue featuring Sprouts and several other local favorites. We will strive to be more informative.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We checked in around 9:30pm Saturday night. The front desk agent we checked in with asked, "Do you still have your pet with you?". There were two agents at the front desk; we checked in with the one that had no personality. The other was on the phone booking a reservation and had so much personality, we could not hear anything our agent was trying to tell us about the property. When we arrived in the room, there was a cute little pet bed and food bowl with some doggie treats. If we had a dog, it certainly would have been appreciated. We do have a cat, but he never travels with us, so I'm still not certain how they got the idea we were traveling with our pet...
We were in a 3rd floor room (top floor) near the elevator and next to the highway. Being close to the elevator did not create any noise issues, and we had to sleep with the balcony door open so the highway was very noisy, we were able to sleep through it - although I doubt most people would. The room was very small with a Queen-size bed that filled the room. The bed was comfortable, the room was well-lighted, and extremely clean and well-maintained - great job to the housekeeping staff and the maintenace department. The shower - although not politically correct these days - was wonderful. A nice hard stream and high volume of water, that actually rinsed all the soap off your body and must feel even more heavenly in the wintertime after a long day on the slopes. We used the hot tub the last morning of our stay and it was nice and hot. They have specific hours posted, but it was nice to see they let us in early, and we kept it quiet, so as not to disturb guests that were sleeping in the rooms near the pool.
Although we did not take advantage of them this trip, they have complimentary bikes for the guests to use. All the rooms on the property are pet-friendly so expect a bit of the funky cover-up carpet deodorant smell.
Overall, a good value for the Tahoe area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Let me begin by expressing my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were greeted upon your arrival and the pet room mix-up. We have reviewed your constructive comments with those concerned and changed our policy to avoid a reoccuance of this nature. Your review was very detailed and I am sure will be appreciated by readers.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This visit unfortunately changed our good opinion of this hotel. We were given a pricy room with a view of the trailer park behind us. The air conditioner made a terrible racket and was unusable the night we were there. We would not return or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We sincerely regret that we did not live up to your expectations after your two previous positive visits to Inn by the Lake. Rates are higher during Lake Tahoe's prime summer season. Please try us again during regular or value season as we would like nothing better than to reurn to your good graces.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked a room relatively last minute in order to catch some fresh pow @ Heavenly & Kirkwood (yay, Epic Pass). Inn by the Lake was a great value and great location for a very nice room with all the necessary amenities. The absolute best part of the hotel is the hot tub. It is two-tiered, big, super-relaxing, and great for hanging out with friends after a long day on the slopes. We spent hours out there! There weren't a lot of good restaurants within walking distance, but if you have a car or are willing to take the bus, its only a short trip (5 - 10 mins) to the best shopping & restaurants. The staff was OK, nothing extraordinary and we didn't really get a chance to take advantage of any special benefits or amenities, but I'd be willing to definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments which I know others will find helpful . We look forward to your next visit. While it is always great to receive positive feed-back, we also learn through constructive input which we solicit at our front desk. The tone of your posting serves to remind me that we have the nicest clientele.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#20 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn by the Lake to your Saves list